We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and pretentious”

Hotel Le Vinois restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Caillac
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
east sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and pretentious”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

After arriving at our gite in Caillac after a long journey down, we looked forwards to a nice meal and a glass if wine in the only restaurant in the village. On arrival I picked up what I thought was the wine list only to be told it was the water menu - water imported from all over the world at an excessive carbon footprint when local water is tasty and is all that is required. The food menu was so expensive we opted for just a main course and a bottle of wine. The food was beautifully presented but was just a very cheap cut of meat not warranting the price we paid. The chef deep fried the vegetables and all you could taste was the bland batter. The meal for three with just one bottle of wine was 95 euros!!
This contrasted with the fabulous little restaurant we ate at on the way down fabulous food with wine - four courses all for 12 euros each.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesbattleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tremendous meal”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I am writing this review after a 6 week trip to SW France. Our meal (lunch) in mid-July was superb, the quality of the ingredients fresh, the presentation stunning and the wine recommended by the waiter was the perfect match. We are just sorry we weren't able to eat there more often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, great value”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Positioned wonderfully between the somewhat too traditional local restaurants and the formal Michelin star restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Bad service. Overpriced. Meat that you needed a chain saw to cut. No view. Tiny servings. Different servers for every course that kept giving us the wrong dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaLike2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us and we had no idea what to expect. What a surprise ! Small but very cosy. The food from was exceptional from A to Z. The service was just as good as the food, polite, efficient and friendly. If you travel to Caillac do not miss it !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Le Vinois restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hotel Le Vinois restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing