We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will return”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fagnieres
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“we will return”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband made me a surprise by booking 2 nights in champagne in this hotel. As we never been to champagne it is quite difficult to choose from all the offers. When we arrived at the hotel we were a little surprised by the building as it looks more than a apartment building than a hotel with a lot of concrete. But the moment you enter the hotel you are welcomed very friendly and the owner took more than her time to explain all we had to see in the neighborhood. Room was big, very clean, big bathroom, separate toilet, hair dryer etc. Breakfast was very good and they offered everything we wanted to have.we received maps of the area and whatever question we had they tried to help us as much as possible. Will certainly return to this hotel. Only small remark I have is that the pillows/beds are rather hard.

Room Tip: Do not judge the outside of the hotel but just winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja-Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Marja-Alain from Belgien,

I'm happy to read you enjoed your 3 days/2 nights in our hotel....and even more if the stay was a surprise for you ! I know that the building is not very welcoming and modern but next year, it should look warmer with new lights, new illuminated advertising and completely refurbished.. The more important was, for us, 12 years ago, to renovate first the rooms in emergency, to create a family cosy atmosphere in the hotel and second, the outside for the "look' of course.
Sorry, however for the pillows and the bed ! We bought special overlays for the comfort of the beds, have two types of pillows - american and classic - and an unanimity is often difficult to achieve about the bedding.
We will also be our pleasure to welcome you for another stay (the surroundings offer countless sights still waiting to be discovered) and don't forget it is easier to book per mail at hotelbristol@live.fr.....always advantages for our clients !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    94
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
140
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, it was obviously built to a very high standard some while ago because while it may be a bit dated everything was immaculate, spacious rooms great bathroom, while no evening meals breakfast was superb ( for France) they even have a secure garage underneath should you require it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tightfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear "Tightfart",

Your are right ! The hotel was built in 1968/1969 and since 11 years now, we try to renovate it ; of course, we cannot change the building on its own but at the end of august, the front of the hotel wa renovate and the end will be refurbished in april 2014.
My husband prefers to renovate the rooms/bathrooms himself and he always appreciates the compliments of our clients ! And because he is also greedy, you understand better why he prepares a large and copious breakfast nearly every morning of the year !
Thank you very much indeed for your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is an ideal stopover in this area. We were warmly greeted, and given so much helpful advice. The room was perfect, clean, well equipped, and a fan was available to help with the heat. Good advice as to the excellent restaurant we ate in, in Chalons, and after a restful, peaceful night, the breakfast was superb. No complaints at all, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyprowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our small town and in the Hotel Bristol ! We always try to welcome our clients like members of our family, showing them the rooms and giving them as many informations as necessary, to help them to appreciate their stay...and the delicious foof af the restaurants of the city.

We would be of course very pleased to welcome you again and encourage you to book directly per mail at hotelbristol@live.fr. Always advantages for our clients who deecide to book in direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Jenny B's review "Excellent family hotel" sums it up very well.
It's a 3 star hotel in an unprepossessing suburb of Chalon with no restaurants nearby.
The room was clean, well equipped and updated with a solid exterior roller blind to keep out noise as well as double glazing. Free WiFi worked well.
Breakfast was, as others have said, fresh, extensive and excellent, though Brits should note there is no hot food (bacon, fried eggs etc).
Parking is either free outside or EUR 7 in the underground locked garage.
We found it was more like 30 - 35 minutes to walk into Chalon town centre - welcome after a long drive and it's easy to get a taxi back (around EUR 10.00).
The only odd note was that we were initially treated like guests at Fawlty Towers, being rudely abused by the receptionist (and I speak very good French) for no clear reason. However this later changed and he was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Room 327 is on the 2nd, not the third, floor at the end of the corridor and perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Madam,

I'm really sorry to read that your check-in went wrong and that my husband was unpleasant with you as you came ! I could not explain what could have happened but I'm very embittered because it is absolutly unusual by us. I can just apologise for both of us and promise you, that for your next stay in this area, you will have just to send me an email directly on hotelbristol@live.fr to book and we will offer you your breakfasts.
Your room was the 27, in direction of the garden of my neighbours.
Thank you for your very accurate description of your stay and for your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had booked after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor. This is a brilliant place for a stopover. Room was great with free WiFi, though no AirCon which would have been nice as it was very hot when we were there. Breakfast was quite superb. Fruit, cheese, meat, cereal, etc with a remarkable selection of breads. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Sir,

What a wonderful compliment : a gem ....we blush with emotion..it is too much : we try to offer to each client an individual welcome in a small, clean, confortable and safe hotel. All the Photos on the webside of our hotel Bristol in Fagnières, correspond exactly with what the guests can discover or see in the hotel and they try to translate the warm and pleasant atmosphere we would like to keep here. Thank you very much indeed for your reviews and we will be happy to welcome you again, if you would have the opportunity of a stop over or of a longer stay to discover our region. And by booking in direct in our hotel, you will always have a more friendly contact and get exactly what you expect. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed overnight here on our way home from Switzerland - a first but most certainly not the last. The location was perfect for us - a quiet residential area with a 20 minute walk to the centre of town - so no noise at night and enough distance to digest an excellent meal in town. The hotel is clearly immaculately cared for by both cleaning and decorating staff and the welcome at reception was just as good.
Overnight was totally peaceful and breakfast was a revelation! Don't believe that a British hotel's "continental breakfast" is what you get here - the choice and the quality were exceptional. Everyone else in the breakfast room was French and many of them were obviously regulars - we don't blame them!
We will most certainly be back - the Bristol is now our preferred stop-over point every time.
Thank you Famille Masson!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkTabTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Sir,

We are happy to read you spend a friendly overnight stay by us, particularly after your travel through France. I always tell my guests, they need to walk about 30 minutes from the hotel to the restaurant's area but I read you walked faster ! Just 20 minutes ! You are both very good walkers and with the beautiful weather we have had this year, walking in the evening, after a nice dinner would have been especially pleasant.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you go to Englang and stay to your disposal on contact@hotelbristol-marne.com for a booking in direct. Congratulations again for your comments and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We based our decision to book for a one night stopover this week (heading north to tunnel) on previous tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. I would agree with the previous comments about the fairly plain exterior - it is in an urban but quiet setting - but we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and comfortable with updated and spacious shower facilities. The owners are so welcoming, helpful and obviously genuine - spending time and trouble to advise us about directions, parking and restaurants in Chalons centre on the evening of our arrival (as they do not have a restaurant on site). The breakfast room was clean and well laid out, with a good range of continental breakfast options - the food was also fresh and well presented. Highly recommended - and only about 5 minutes' drive from the autoroute, traffic lights permitting. We will definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much vor your friendly comments about our hotel after your stay by us ; ithe fact is that the hotel does not feel especially warm and welcoming from outside, in the suburbs of the town, at a 30 minutes walk from the restaurant's area. So we try to welcome our guests like in a family, to help them to forget the sad façade ...and we are lucky, like you wrote it, to be located just between two exits on the motorway A26/A4 (numbers 17 and 18) on he way to Calais or to the South and to the Alps. We will be happy to welcome you again and to answer in direct on contact@hotelbristol-marne.com, to any question you could have or any booking you would like to do..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagnieres
1.3 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
224 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Logis Auberge des Moissons
22.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,175 reviews
24.3 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 77 avenue Pierre Semard | Châlons en Champagne, 51510 Fagnieres, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne > Fagnieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fagnieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigitte and Daniel,owners of the HOTEL BRISTOL welcome you in a friendly, renovated and warm hotel in the heart of the Champagne-Ardenne, from 7:00 till 22.30, 50 weeks per year !LCD TV/DVD Combo (video and audio) european channels- Direct telephone line with automatic wake-up system- Free Internet connection - WIFI - CPL- Courtesy trail with kettle and safeFrench, English and German are spoken.- free parking secured by video surveillance or private garages with charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Fagnieres, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing