We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fagnieres
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our way South and what a find!
We noted it was highly recommended on TA and it certainly lived up to its reviews!
From the minute we arrived we knew it would be fine!
Fantastic welcome from the lady owner, who had super English, who then took us to our room and showed us where everything was and gave us free wifi access - which we haven't always experienced at more expensive hotels!
The room was a great size, spotlessly clean - as was the whole hotel! - with a really comfortable bed and a super bathroom!
Breakfast was one of the best buffets we'd ever been presented with in France, and the male owner was on hand to ensure we had everything we needed!! Excellent!
It was clear the several French business people used the hotel often, another good sign, and one couldn't fault them on any count!
Excellent hotel, great value for money, very comfortable, super breakfast and great friendly service - all one could ask for and would certainly stay again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    87
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
126
23
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel starts with three big pluses - one, it's in the right place, about two hours drive from Calais - two, it's easy to find of the A26 heading South - three, it's comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money. We've used it twice now on our way to the Alps in February and it was unchanged from one year to the next. Parking is on the pavement right outside, or in the basement garage for a charge if you wish. The en-suite room was smart and adequate, quiet at night. For an evening meal we drove into the town where there is a choice of restaurants or there's a LeClerc Supermarche up the road (cheap petrol too). Typical tasty French petit-dejeuner, self service with loads of choice. I like mustard with cold ham - they went out and bought some and were so apologetic they allowed me to keep the jar. Magnifique!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A little family owned hotel which had I not seen on trip advisor would not have gone to. We were greeted by a very nice woman on reception who I presume was the owner and did everything possible to make us feel welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean although a little small. The breakfast was the best continental breakfast we had on holiday the was nothing you could not have. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is far better than we imagined from the pictures, but all the positive comments and reviews here on tripadvisor are correct. Daniel is an amazing host - friendly, warm and generous plus he has a wonderful sense of humour.

Location was fine (there was a small supermarket fairly close where we got the ingredients for a 'picnic' supper having seen the comments about lack of local restaurants) and parking was easy. The room was a great size, very clean and lovely comfortable bed - a huge shower with a double shower head for the most refreshing shower. The tea/coffee tray was such a nice touch and much needed after our long journey.

We will certainly stay here again and that is the best recommendation anyone can give.

And on a personal note - many congratulations to Daniel and Brigitte on your new arrival, hope mum and baby are doing great!

Room Tip: Room number 25 was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyIsabellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you want no frills accommodation that is easy to find and no distance at all from the motorway, you will not do better than Hotel Bristol. The owner is charming and good humoured and the rooms are comfortable, incredibly well equipped - TV, wifi, hairdryer, safe, tea, coffee - and with an excellent shower and separate loo.
The buffet breakfast is one of the best I've seen anywhere with an enormous range and choice. It seems every surface is covered with food and it is of very good quality.
There is virtually nothing to fault here. It would be great if it had a restaurant or was closer to town but it served our needs beautifully and if you want a stopover to be easy rather than a grand occasion I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked this hotel due to it's proximity to the motorway en-route from Southern France to Calais. Previous Tripadvisor reviews provide a good and accurate overview of the hotel but in a nutshell, it is better than the majority of French chains of budget accommodation and the added bonus is the helpfulness of the owners - eager to assist with restaurant recommendations and advice on the area in general. True - it is a little bit outside Chalons en Champagne but it is only about a 10 minute taxi ride - 9 euros on the way out and 11 euros for the return journey, probably due to increased evening fares. The rooms are comfortable - decent size and ours had an excellent walk-in shower with massage attachments. Coffee tray was a nice addition as we were leaving early with no time for breakfast. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Happy to read you ! It is important for us to know that you chose our hotel after reading Tripadvisor reviews. It is for us the best advertising we could have and...it is public and in no way secret ! W try to proposea coffer tray, because, after a long journey, it is important to have a comforting cup of tea or coffee, like at home, quiet in his room, before a short nap and a nice meal in a restaurant in the center of Châlons en Champagne.
Book DIRECT WITH US (not through online travel agency) and say "we choose you after reading Tripadvisor reviews", we will offer you a 10 % discount on the rates of your room ! (cannot be cumulated with other offers or loyalty card).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val d'Oise
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The only black dot of this place is that it is not in the center... but at night it takes five minutes by car to hit the restaurants and the (relatively inexistant) nightlife.
Whenever you have to stay in Chalons, this place is very good value for money. The overal style is -no style- but the place is very relaxing. The room is pretty big for this level of hotels in FRance. Bathroom is separated from the toilets... very comfortable bed... high quality shower with water temperature regulation. No noise at all!
The reception is very friendly. Breakfast is reasonably good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard35valdoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank your very much to write that our hotel is a very good value for money ! We are currently renovating the hotel, and try to apply moderate prices for the quality....especially because we are at 8 minutes from the main square and from the restaurants's area.

We know how it is unpleasant to have to get back behind the wheel, after a long drive, but we can't change our location ; it is a bit far from the center (30 minutes walking or a 8 minutes drive) but it is quieter, cheaper than in the center, we have also a large parking equipped with a surveillance system, garages, just 10 minutes drive from the junctions 18 (Saint Gibrien) or 22 (Mont Choisy/Châlons centre) of the A26.
Book always direct with us to benefit from increased choice, more services and more attractive rates...you have just to say "we prefer DIRECT" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagnieres
1.3 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champ...
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#7 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#5 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 77 avenue Pierre Semard | Châlons en Champagne, 51510 Fagnieres, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne > Fagnieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fagnieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigitte and Daniel,owners of the HOTEL BRISTOL welcome you in a friendly, renovated and warm hotel in the heart of the Champagne-Ardenne, from 7:00 till 22.30, 50 weeks per year !LCD TV/DVD Combo (video and audio) european channels- Direct telephone line with automatic wake-up system- Free Internet connection - WIFI - CPL- Courtesy trail with kettle and safeFrench, English and German are spoken.- free parking secured by video surveillance or private garages with charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Fagnieres, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing