We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tapas cookery course!”
Review of Mallorca Cuisine

Mallorca Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Galilea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to our home! Our interactive cooking classes will enchant you and let you discover to the very essence of the Mediterranean culture and heritage.Our unique finca provides an exquisite environment, where you will feel relegated to a unique haven of tranquillity, whilst enjoying breath-taking views of the Tramuntana Mountains and the Mediterranean Sea.Enter to our kitchen and discover the heart of any Spanish home. This is where we enjoy our most precious moments, cooking and eating with our family and friends.Don’t worry! You don’t have to be a master chef to enjoy the experience. We will ensure that your discovery of Spanish cooking will be enjoyable, unforgettable and above all; great fun. To make sure your visit is as pleasant as possible, we will conduct the course in the language of your choice. (German, English, French, Italian, Spanish or Catalan). Our private courses, comprising up to a maximum of 24 participants, and can be enjoyed twice daily; at 11:00 in the morning or at 17:00 in the afternoon, Monday to Saturday. The first two hours are spent in the kitchen and the last hours is dedicated to enjoy eating the menu we cooked together.To kick off the course, our Spanish chef will introduce you to the program and the menu of the day. Then we will don the aprons and start cooking together in teams.Each team will prepare a succulent Mallorcan or Spanish dish, using the best local produce of the season. Many of them will come straight from our own vegetable garden. After a couple of hours of cooking, your meal is ready and it will be time to relax and enjoy. Our kitchen will transform itself into a restaurant and our chefs will serve the delicacies you have prepared, accompanied by a selection of exquisite Mallorcan wines.To commemorate this unforgettable experience, we will award you with a course certificate of Mallorca Cuisine.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

During our holiday in Mallorca we went to Mallorca cuisine for a tapas course. We had a wonderful time, Alex and Manuela were great hosts, their passion for food was inspiring, the course was great fun, hands on and very tasty but in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. The views over the mountains down to the sea while we ate lunch and sampled the local wine finished the day off perfectly. Thank you so much for a wonderful day! Jonathan, Alice and Emily

Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela L, Manager at Mallorca Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gazpacho"
in 11 reviews
"almond cake"
in 2 reviews
"paella cooking class"
in 2 reviews
"manuela"
in 37 reviews
"instructions"
in 3 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic day on the culinary tour, lots of food and wine included to make it well worth the money. Manuela and Alex were both really lovely and with it just being the two of us we got to ask lots of questions. We are looking forward to re-creating the Tapas at a party now we are back in the UK.

Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela L, Manager at Mallorca Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Many thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I came across Mallorca Cuisine when searching for a Tapas cooking course in Majorca. We were going to be staying in Port de Soller and wanted to do something a little bit different. The company website was easy to navigate and looked inviting. We opted for the Private Culinary Tour for four people. I booked via email from the UK and had a very quick and friendly response from Manuela. The day was perfect. Manuela came to pick us up from the port which meant we could all enjoy the scenery of the drive and the wine tasting at our first stop, the Santa Catarina vineyard. The picnic we had in the grounds of the Galatzo estate was lovely and peaceful. Manuela was a great guide and great company. Last but by no means least was the Tapas course itself. Alex guided us through the preparation of a number of popular tapas dishes with great humour and knowledge. We thoroughly enjoyed it and best of all we were served the dishes and a dessert, together with wine, on the terrace of Alex and Manuela's beautiful finca which has fantastic views to the coast. A lovely glimpse at this part of the island and a fabulous day. Thank you Manuela and Alex, and to those considering this, give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela L, Manager at Mallorca Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

What a beautiful description! Thank you so much!!
It was a pleasure to spend the day with you. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I always like to find cooking courses when we are abroad and this one was a real treat. I was able to book the Private Culinary Tour about a week in advance by emailing from the website. Manuela and Alex were very responsive in confirming the booking.

It was our first full day in Mallorca, and Manuela came and picked us up from the house where we were staying outside of Palma at 9:45 AM. After about a 45 minute drive, we arrived at a beautiful vineyard for a wine tasting near Galilea. After that, we drove a ways to this nature preserve and hiked about a mile to this old manor where they used to make olive oil. Manuela explained the process and then went and set up a small picnic for us of pan con tomate and olives as we wandered about the grounds. We hiked out and then drove through the mountains to get to their gorgeous house and cooking studio. As you see from the pics, an amazing view. Her husband Alex was there and had done a bit of the prep for the tapas courses we were going to make. Because it was just the two of us, we got to do as much as we wanted and they were both very engaged in answering any questions we had and explaining the dishes. After getting everything mostly ready, we were invited to just relax at the table on the veranda to let them serve the delicious courses we had just prepared along with a variety of the excellent Mallorcan wines we had tried that morning at the vineyard. After finishing, Alex was kind enough to drive us back out near the airport so we could pick up our rental car for the rest of the trip.

Everything from the standpoint of logistics, outings, food, and the wonderful hosts could not have been better. We would absolutely recommend spending one of your days in Mallorca with Manuela and Alex!

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela L, Manager at Mallorca Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for this good description of our culinary tour. I couldn't have done better ;-)
It will be very helpful for curious and interested people. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an incredible cherry on top of our Transatlantic cruise from the Florida to Spain!

This private group Paella cooking experience was expertly led by expert chefs, Alex & Manuela. The drive from the cruise ship, up through the winding, narrow mountain roads only added to the experience. Once atop the mountain, and perched out on their deck, the view overlooking the valley and Mediterranean Sea was breathtaking.

The building used for their cooking classes, is one open room, with three LARGE paella pans on burners running down the center of the room, offering the ability for participants to work simultaneously creating three delectable versions of Paella. Passing through this room and the open glass sliding doors at the opposite side of the room, we found ourselves out on the deck that had been set for our group of 24.

Plying us with delicious appetizers they had created before our arrival, wine & beer to satiate our hunger & thirst before putting us to work *winks*, our dishes were whisked away, and replaced with aprons, knives and cutting boards for us to get down to business. Each table was filled with items to be cut, chopped and diced. Many fresh, colorful vegetables, a variety of fish, squid, shrimp, rabbit, etc. Great fun for the entire group - including the little ones who worked with the help of their parents. Once the ingredients were ready, it was time to take them inside to start the cooking under the patient direction of Chef Alex. Oh the smells that were soon wafting from each of the dishes. It wasn't long before we had created three masterpieces, awaiting our appetites.

The dinner began with a beautiful cup of fresh gazpacho, then came the first version of vegetarian paella, followed by courses of the seafood and meat versions. Topping off the incredible meal, came Alex & Manu's delicious rendition of "Creme Catalana" (burnt creme) that one of our members even had the pleasure of "torching"!

What can I say, but we all became incredible Paella chefs that day. Alex & Manuela are the most welcoming and encouraging hosts and have obviously found their calling, as they share their love of cooking with friends. And that is exactly how we felt when we left. We had just reconnected with friends we had known for a very long time. In the mountains of Mallorca... overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.

This is one experience I can not highly recommend enough!

2  Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela L, Manager at Mallorca Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Such a beautiful review! Thank you so much!!
It was a great pleasure to cook with you and to host you. We hope you had a wonderful day on Mallorca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mallorca Cuisine also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca
 

Been to Mallorca Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing