We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Do It”

Restaurante Can Penasso
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Bunyola
Price range: US$25 - US$62
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
pontypridd
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't Do It”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stopped here for food after driving over the mountain from Soller and finding the restaurant on the top closed. What a mistake to make. We ordered Croquetas and a Salad.The salad had tinned white asparagus on it which made the salad taste of vinegar and there was dry tinned tuna on the top. The salad leaves did not seem very fresh either. The croquetas were fine but there's not much you can do wrong with those. The service was very slow and they definitely do not do believe in service with a smile.

One thing I will say is there was rather a large party dining indoors so whether this resulted in our very poor service is unknown. However I would not risk giving the place the benefit of the doubt and trying it again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBorringdocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    10
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Mallorcan Cuisine and Value”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Dined well here this past Sunday (April 28). Three courses plus wine and water for 23€. Mallorcan entrantes were spectacular. The Stroganof was wonderful with fresh cepes. Everything was fresh and delicious. The service, room and ambience were terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank College Bowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire,England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good service and well cooked meat dishes”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Called in for an evening meal whilst staying near Bunyola. Very large restaurant but almost empty except a wedding party in another large room. The meals were excellent value for money and both my wifes Chicken and my Pork kebab meal were cooked perfectly and came with good herb and garlic roasted potatoes and veg. Service was good, some waiters spoke English.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Decent poolside restaurant”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here on an August afternoon. Food was decent enough, with good quality meat. The grilled fish that we ordered turned out to be a fillet rather than an entire fish, which we would have preferred. I assume our lack of Spanish contributed to this misunderstanding. Both the fish and the meet dish were accompanied by nice cooked veggies and oven potatoes. They also have a small selection of kids food. Ours had meat croquettes and chips. The restaurant seems to consist of two parts with the same kitchen but different service levels: one part with linnen etc and one with paper tablecloths etc. There are differences in the menus too but prices are much the same. I didn't really get the point of this. There is a municipal pool right next to the restaurant, so that kids can go swimMing while their parents are having lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to eat with friends and family”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Shared a Paella with friends here on a lovely Saturday afternoon, the setting is super and we could see the Soller train passing through the hills. Outside there is a pool and picnic area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneths3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Can Penasso also viewed

 
 

Been to Restaurante Can Penasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing