We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gem”
Review of Es Reco de Randa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Es Reco de Randa
Ranked #2 of 2 Randa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect gem”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this lovely hotel independently after having had lunch there some ten years previously. We always said that one say we would return to stay and it was well worth the wait.

This is a beautiful family run hotel up in the hills of Majorca , near to the monastery of Randa. It is very popular with locals ( including the King of Spain) for lunch and dinner and a real oasis of calm away from the crowds along the coast.

We had room 20, out by the pool , a little private 'villa' away from the main building, although the rooms in the new building are also very comfortable.

You do need a car here as nothing in the village, great for walking but only a few minutes away from civilisation !

A real gem, very quiet and a very smart place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    50
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This small hotel has a superb, tranquil location above the small village of Randa with stunning views and sunsets. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly, efficient staff. Excellent Mallorcan food served in a garden-like terrace with far-reaching views. Just beautiful! Our room was in the new part of the hotel with a high standard of decor and fittings. The bathroom was a generous size - bathrobes and pool towels are provided. The outdoor pool area has plenty of sunloungers and beautiful views across the hills towards Palma and it was very quiet during our stay. Don't miss the walk (or drive!) up the Puig de Randa to the monasteries - it's well worth the effort! Our stay was only for 3 nights but I'm sure it will be longer next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jil9015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Wandered through a tunnel from the car park and found ourselves here. Very nice venue, great sunset views and a fantastic place to meet with friends or bring your partner. I found it expensive though. Guess a gin and tonic at 8euros is getting common but then charged for the bread which was placed on table with olives always irritates.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son Servera, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed overnight in room 30, to go to the monastery and climb the mountain walks ( highly recommend ), the hotel facilities are excellent and the room clean and comfortable . Bathroom very good with excellent shower and lots of hot water. Views from room are very good overlooking the town. The cellar restaurant in the town is excellent with typical Spanish fare and excellent prices.

Room Tip: Room 30 is cool with easy access and good view of pool and town .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have been going to the restaurant each time we go to Mallorca, which over the last 7 years has been annually.
We really like the relaxed service and good traditional food. The views at sunset are superb.

We have not stayed in the hotel or annex yet, although we do plan on extending our stay and heading here for the last night or 2 in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We have visited the restaurant at Es Reco de Randa on nearly all our visits to Majorca. The quality of food and choice along with service always excellent. The outside balcony area gives fantastic views across the countryside. We will visit again soon.

Room Tip: Have not stayed at hotel but restaurant comments as before
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Over the past 10 years we have been to this restaurant many times. We love the location, the building and the food. The past three visits however we have been very disappointed by the staff and the lack of service. So much so that we stopped going there.
We decided to give it another try and I have to say that we had a lovely time.
I am beginning to get the feeling that the waiter who serves us every time is the one who determines whether or not we enjoy it.
Sometimes he is pretty moody and almost throws our food on the table. Other times he is laughing and joking with us.
This time he was in a good mood, the food and service was great. I know it seems shallow but it really does make a difference to the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randa
0.5 mi away
Santuari de Cura
Santuari de Cura
#1 of 2 in Randa
97 reviews
11.8 mi away
Asis de Marratxinet
Asis de Marratxinet
#1 of 1 in Marratxi
40 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ca's Papa
Ca's Papa
#2 of 6 in Valldemossa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Agroturismo Es Quatre Cantons
4.7 mi away
Finca Son Jorbo
Finca Son Jorbo
#1 of 1 in Porreres
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Algaida Petit Hotel
Algaida Petit Hotel
#6 of 6 in Algaida
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Reco de Randa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Reco de Randa

Property: Es Reco de Randa
Address: Calle Font 21, 07629 Randa, Algaida, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Algaida > Randa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Randa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Es Reco de Randa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Es Recó de Randa, a hotel-restaurant located between Algaida and Llucmajor in the picturesque town of Randa and surrounded by fields of almond and olive trees, is an perfect spot to switch off. A family-run rural retreat with 25 rooms is an ideal stop-off for those travelling alone, as well as singles, couples and families. A quaint rustic house built towards the end of the 17th century and made from stone synonymous with traditional Mallorcan architecture was for years occupied by a nunnery. The meticulous detail, inviting service, haven of rest and the pleasure of its exceptional food and drink will guarantee you have an unforgettable stay. - See more at: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Es Reco de Randa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Reco De Randa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing