We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lounge hotel outside Palma”
Review of Hotel Zhero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zhero
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Reviewed 15 May 2013

+
Nice pool area with single and twin sunbeds, lounge music and a bar.
Clean and fresh rooms with a good bed. We had a balcony overlooking the pool on the second floor and was pleased with the location, having sun on our balcony. But one night there was a party by the pool and the sound went right through the balcony door.
Free internet
-
Breakfast buffet was not worth the money and only contained cold food (extra charge for eggs etc)
No toiletries in the bathroom except a combined showergel/shampoo/conditioner.
They didn't have a storage room for bags if you wanted to leave the bags after check out, you had to out them next to the hotel reception.

We had dinner in Palma almost every night, not much interesting in the neighborhood, taxi is about 10 euros to the hotel. You can take the bus (no 3) to Palma which costs 1.5 euro but takes longer. Taxi from the airport costs around 25 depending on how many suitcases you are bringing.

If you don't want to live in Palma I would recommend this hotel because it is not the usual "mallorca-sunbathing-hotel-complex".

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool (which we had) was good except for the night with the pool party. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a great hotel with fabulous staff who were attentive and brilliant - and waiters made sure our glasses never empty! Yes, not many places to go nearby but we hunted them out and weren't disappointed. Hotel Zhero is great fun. We did pilates by the pool (with hangovers) and didn't stop giggling all weekend. Really lovely. And, btw, we're going back again this year....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnshireLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Missoni throws and cushions in the stark white boutique bedrooms. Comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking the sea and pool from two aspects.
Great rooms downstairs with fashion hangings and large art books.
A superb and comfortable pool area with thick fluffy towels and a great lunch waiting after a few hours letting the tensions of life float away.
Great value too. I will be back

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamforjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Visited the Hotel Zhero recently as were not as impressed as last time (about 3 years ago). When we arrived the door was locked (it was after 11 to be fair but the place was in darknesss). There were people around the pool area but they certainly didnt want to attract any passers by.
The last time waiters came around the pool and served fruit kebabs and water to sunbathers which was a great touch, no sign of anyone this time. Breakfast was very unexciting, the usual cheese, hams and fruit but nothing to write home about. The restaurant menu was limited to say the least, we were hoping to eat here at least one evening but there was a choice of three starters and three mains and sea bream was on each!!
The staff however were very good, especially a young chap called Michael who seemed to know everyone and was very friendly.
The rooms were fine, not very luxurious and the TV didnt work but ok, however we had a roadside one and it was VERY noisy and the area is really not up to much. We went to Puerto Portals a couple of times and Illetas is quite a pleasant walk but if you turn left instead of right its really quite rundown.

I dont think we'll be a back for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with the girls - ideal for us. Greeted upon arrival (nearly midnight) with a glass of sparkling wine - then enjoyed a few more drinks by the pool - great atmosphere for a late night chill out with the girls after the flight and a very long day in the office before that! Good decor throughout the hotel - lots of arty touches and rooms felt quite boutiquey which we liked. They were spacious too. Good location - equidistant between Palma and (if you dare venture) Magaluf. Cas Catala itself had a good selection of restaurants - including one right down on the beach front (name escapes me) - a very smart, chilled out place - perfect for relaxing over a late dinner and a bottle of wine on one of our quieter nights. Good pool area at the hotel - clean, not overly busy, and again, the boutique theme was prevelant with contemporary decking, loungers, music etc. Good breakfast available by the pool - though the hotel tried to charge us for 3 days' breakfasts when we only had one day's - the reason being if you ate it once, you were charged each day..... we refused to go along with that and so didn't pay for the two days' phantom breakasts, but just something to look out for! Would recommend for younger couples and small groups of friends. Would go back - boutique hotels at reasonable rates aren't that easy to come by in Majorca, it seems.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cordiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is NOT a hotel for families with young children. The walls are paper thin and you can hear all too well what's going on next door. It's a very small hotel and sound travel all too well. It's a very basic hotel with nothing extra.

On the plus side, the food (lunch and dinner) was actually really good and the staff was friendly.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank WorldTravelerFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a tough one.

Positive: hotel reception, lounge and pool area are nicely done. An attempt of Ibiza on Mallorca. Staff is great, very friendly and very helpful (OK, there is one fair haired receptionist who should have more of a can-do headset).

Mediocre: breakfast is in principle good but looks a bit tired after day three with always the same items on offer. Having to pay extra for eggs and proper orange juice is a bit much. breakfast times until 11am in a supposedly 'fashion'/party hotel look somewhat out of place.

Negative: the rooms are on second thought rather tacky. If you want everything in white, then you need to invest that there are no stains on the floor, the bedding etc. Minimalist interior does not mean spartan (a waste paper basket, a chair and a minibar should be standard in view of the price tag). If the preferred doubles are large rooms, then I wouldn't want to see the standard rooms.

The bathrooms are tiny and need a serious makeover. Cover everything in microcement and they'd look a lot sleeker.

The cleaning is mediocre at best. We have never found so many long black/red/blond hairs inside of the bath- and bedroom. Also the bed linen could be changed more often.

Since everything is open space, you hear far too well when they start throwing away bottles into the trash early in the morning.

Working/storage areas of the hotel need to be better separated from the rest. You take a wrong flight of stairs and find yourself in a working area, some of which look pretty grim.

Result: I acknowledge the difficulties of bringing up a 1960s/70s hotel up to 21st C style and convenience. But with the exception of the pool/lounge area this hotel has failed to meet expectations. In view of the price-tag and the negative value-for-money of the Zhero I would seriously recommend any of the other boutique/design hotels in Palma.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfmjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cas Catala
0.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Marivent
Eurostars Marivent
#56 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zhero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zhero

Address: Carretera Palma-Andratx 6, 07181 Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cas Catala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Price Range: £62 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zhero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zhero is located in Cas Catal, a seafront resort with plenty of restaurants and shops, only a 5 minute drive from central Palma. Nightlife is active and connections with public transport to Palma City Centre and other areas of interest are excellent. Walk to the beach in just a couple of minutes. Hotel Zhero is a Fashion Concept hotel with 36 designer double rooms, two Junior Suites and one Pool Suite, all of them with terrace and a beautiful view of the Mediterranean Sea or the pool. The rooms are all equipped with twin beds, security box, air conditioning, flat plasma screen TV, shower, hairdryer and wardrobe. Our large swimming pool surrounded by a teak deck and beautiful king sized sun beds is open from 9 o`clock in the morning until the sunset. During the night it becomes a beautiful background with its magical and sophisticated atmosphere for our parties and events. Our la carte Restaurant offers elaborate Fusion Food with Mediterranean flavour. Fresh Zhero Bar with its indoor lounge and terraces. Every Friday evening we offer the best chill out and house music between 09.00 pm and 00.00 am. Enjoy relaxing ambiance at our candle lit pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zhero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhero Hotel Cas Catala
Hotel Zhero Majorca/Cas Catala, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing