We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel & Staff”
Review of Hotel Zhero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zhero
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Lovely Hotel & Staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We came to the Hotel late, due to late arriving plane..
We were met with a a cool and refreshing cava, Nice and tasteful :)
We absolutely loved our room, pool and resting areas..
Fell in love with the balcony with seaview, where we used to relax in the afternoon.
Our room where tasteful and lovely, cleaning very good, the staff at the pool and resturantarea where friendly and fast :))) Loved them.
The manager Christian was all around at all times, and where very helpful..
Food was realy good, better than most places in town,
we ended up eating most of our meals at the Hotel, the Chef did an exellent job....
Because the Hotel didn't have a lot of rooms, it felt intim, and you got to know the other guests, got a lovely feeling out of that...
We will be back soon :)))
Just loved the place..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebtool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    47
    29
    20
    14
See reviews for
9
82
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I am an experienced traveller and have stayed at many hotels and hostels in Mallorca over 30 years. Cas Catala is a great place in general there are two beaches good bars and restaurants in the area. I highly recommend the newly renovated Jamrock for drinks and food. I have stayed at Zhero before it was converted. I think if you are German speaking then perhaps you would find the hotel user friendly. We were generally ignored most of the time by the staff and the guests. On our arrival we were allocated a room at the top even though my boyfriend is blind and there is no lift. Our room card rarely worked which required me to leave my boyfriend at the door while I ran up and down the stairs to get it sorted I was told that they knew about the problem but never offered us another room. No one ever offered to come up to help. The rooms are very basic. Bring a blanked as all you get is a top sheet. The balcony had a lovely view of the bay but there was no table to set a drink on. Breakfast was minimalistic and coffee you served yourself in espresso sized cups so if you like a mug of coffee you have to do several runs to get your fill. We found the staff and clientelle unfriendly. Sometimes when a hotel lacks in amenities it makes up for it with the staff and service. This was not the case. It wasnt cheap we paid over 600 euros for four nights. So its not hostel prices. The pool is fine and lots of sun beds but we preferred the beach and the beach bar across the road at least the staff were friendly and the service was good there. The restaurant food seemed of good standard if not expensive. It seems that the hotel caters for German holiday makers as the staff seemed to know many of the German guests and they attended to them mostly ignoring the rest of us. I asked on or arrival if they could let the staff know that my boyfriend is blind and if they saw him having any difficulties to offer a hand. This was ignored. Most people pushed passed him once nearly knocking him into the pool and several times on the stairs. I wouldnt go back and I wouldnt recommend the hotel when there are so many lovely hotels in the area. I will happily pay a premium price or rent an apartment the next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happycamperni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirolnachmallorca, General Manager at Hotel Zhero, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
We offered several times another room in the lower floors but these guests wanted to be in the upper floor to have a better view. Several times we asked the client not to keep the room key card close to the mobile phone which delets the cards. She still did so. Everybody in our staff is friendly and polite as you can read in a lot of positive comments. These two where always in a very bad mood and were all time very unfriendly and rude. I feel very sorry to have a complain like that and I know that all of us always try to keep every guest happy and satisfied. Sorry for this complain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cas Catala hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Hotel Zhero are located in quiet, but sentral area of Cala Mayor.
Beaches within a short walk, 5 and 10 min from the hotel,
but pool area are splendid and lovely.
The Hotel itself are a lovely view for the eye, inside and outside.
Exellent staff and food, oh yeah......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaa9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Maybe the best hotel in spain due to the service and the beautiful design;)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sting170706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2010

When we booked this hotel online, we were a bit worried that it would not be suitable for children (we have a 6 yo girl). We thought it might be a bit of a party place for the young & beautiful but, even though the young & beautiful were there, it was a great mix of people of all ages. And the staff was great with children! Our daughter loved helping them and even "worked" in the kitchen, her "salary" was ice-cream. But I have to say that our daughter is used to being around grown-ups, this is not a hotel with lots of kids activities.

The food was also delicious and not too expensive. We tried other restaurants in Palma but they were mediocre. So we ate mostly at the hotel and they even made kid-friendly food especially for our daughter...

They also organized a very good masseuse (Iris) to come to the hotel and the bed was set up on the terrace overlooking the sea. Simply beautiful! Same goes for pedi/manicures.

There was a little beach across the road (walk 5 minutes to the right, there is a sign that says "beach" where you walk down). There you have a little restaurant on the beach that serves the best Sangria!

We've been to many top-notch hotels while living and working abroad but this is a true gem. We had a lovely week. Everything was fantastic and we would definitely go back again.

Ree
Sweden

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeyongsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! The place is a complete and utter find. The staff were amazing, incredibly helpful and attentive, the food was excellent and the ambience amazing. Very chilled, very relaxed and very cool. The hotel was kept in amazing condition and the cleanliness was second to none! Breakfast was awesome and kept us going all day! Its a short walk to the local beach and the bus stop to Palma is directly opposite! All in All totally and utterly Fabulous! Book it now!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfjacobs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

It’s with mixed feelings that I write this review, on the one hand I want to tell everyone about this little gem of a hotel, and on the other I don’t want too many people to know about it.

I stayed here for a week from the 5th – 12th June. Right from the start we were show great hospitality, our flight was delayed and instead of arriving at 10:30 pm we arrived at 2:30 am this was not a problem as Michael was there waiting for us with a glass of Cava.

The rooms may be what some class as “basic” there is not a great amount of storage or hanging space and for 2 girls on a weeks holiday it did mean we lived out our suitcases for the week, In my opinion this hotel is geared towards short breaks 3- 4 days and with that in mind the storage is more than adequate. Our room was large, airy, stylish and comfortable. It had proper beds with thin summer quilts and air-con, yes the bathroom was small but it was more than adequate for our needs. If it’s a mini bar and direct dial phone your after this is not the hotel for you but if its clean, comfortable, contemporary design then it’s a winner on all accounts.

Breakfast is served in the pool bar area from 8 am until late morning, there was a great spread of cheese, meat, fruit, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. You could eat and drink as much as you wanted and it was replenished throughout the morning. I can’t fault the breakfast it was plentiful and varied. We ate it the hotel several times, usually a salad at lunch time and we had a meal in the restaurant on 2 evenings. The food was fusion type, presented beautifully and tasted great. Every Sunday they have a BBQ, this is often really busy as is attended by locals and friends of the hotel so you need to book a table. It’s well worth it though as there is a varied selection of meats and fish, sauces and salads. Again you can eat as much as you like so its great value for money.

The pool area of the hotel is one of the things that made it so special for me. Chilled and funky music played every day, this added to the overall atmosphere of the pool area. It oversized sun beds were comfortable and plentiful. I also thought it was a great touch that you got a card at the start of your stay that allocated you a large beach towel to be used at the pool, you could change this as often as needed throughout your visit. The overall look of the hotel and pool was maintained very well with the staff kitted out in matching uniforms adding to the image.

The Hotel also runs a daily Yoga or Pilate’s class it does depend on numbers but anything over 4 and a qualified instructor is available for lessons.

In closing it would be rude not to mention the hotel staff, Lisa, Michael and Co, who were the added icing on the cake, nothing was too much trouble and you were always met with a smile. Thanks for a lovely week.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wittycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cas Catala
0.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#3 of 3 in Illetes
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
#21 of 182 in Calvia
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zhero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zhero

Property: Hotel Zhero
Address: Carretera Palma-Andratx 6, 07181 Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cas Catala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zhero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zhero is located in Cas Catal, a seafront resort with plenty of restaurants and shops, only a 5 minute drive from central Palma. Nightlife is active and connections with public transport to Palma City Centre and other areas of interest are excellent. Walk to the beach in just a couple of minutes. Hotel Zhero is a Fashion Concept hotel with 36 designer double rooms, two Junior Suites and one Pool Suite, all of them with terrace and a beautiful view of the Mediterranean Sea or the pool. The rooms are all equipped with twin beds, security box, air conditioning, flat plasma screen TV, shower, hairdryer and wardrobe. Our large swimming pool surrounded by a teak deck and beautiful king sized sun beds is open from 9 o`clock in the morning until the sunset. During the night it becomes a beautiful background with its magical and sophisticated atmosphere for our parties and events. Our la carte Restaurant offers elaborate Fusion Food with Mediterranean flavour. Fresh Zhero Bar with its indoor lounge and terraces. Every Friday evening we offer the best chill out and house music between 09.00 pm and 00.00 am. Enjoy relaxing ambiance at our candle lit pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zhero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhero Hotel Cas Catala
Hotel Zhero Majorca/Cas Catala, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing