We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Ibiza”
Review of Simbad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Simbad Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Talamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week in December. It's in a great position right on the sea front with view to Ibiza old town. Get a room overlooking the sea you get a small balcony and you can sit having a coffee & enjoy the view even in December! When the sun is out its warm enough for just a tee shirt in the daytime. Friendly staff at hotel and nice food. We had a great relaxing stay here before the hectic Xmas period.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonerSE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have just returned from a weeks' stay on this lovely island. We chose the Simbad hotel because of TripAdvisor. I would like to say here that reviews are subjective - based on the experience of an individual and should always be taken with a pinch of salt.

The hotel itself is lovely. It is clean and modern. The room we stayed in was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The view from our balcony of Talamanca bay was simply amazing.

If you are thinking of staying here and you have children be warned that this place is off the beaten track and it is a long walk into Ibiza town from here. It takes longer than some of the other reviewers claim. There is no entertainment in the evenings, so if you want a quiet relaxing holiday then go for it.

We hired a car. If we had not been able to do this we would have had to rely upon buses and that is not my idea of a relaxing holiday.

The reception staff were always friendly and helpful, the bar staff were great, and the cleaning ladies who work hard were also lovely. Please tip your cleaning lady - she deserves it.

The male staff in the restaurant were a different kettle of fish. They behaved as if it belonged to them and it was like some form of mission to keep it running smoothly at the expense of the paying guests is the best way of putting it. They are rude without realising it.

I found mealtimes to be slightly stressful. The restaurant is not very customer friendly - not much room in there, and the cuisine seems to be geared around the more continental of guests, so every evening I ended up eating salad only which was very nice, but after a week of only having salads for my evening meal I was bored with it all.
On our first night there we were met with tripe stew and rabbit amongst other things with no name which looked unappetising. I am not a picky eater by any means, but the food left me disappointed.

The beds were not changed once during our stay.

Simbad is a four star hotel and we decided that it gets its four stars because is has the spa.

I expected better quality food for the four stars. I have eaten wonderful food in hotels with less star rating than this.

The location is pretty and if you like quiet hotels and are not choosy about choice on a menu then this would be ideal for you. As I said before reviews are subjective as mine is.

Will I return here? Sadly No.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. That is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tooben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! First time in Talamanca, always stayed in Figueretes but converted. Liked this hotel so much, we have already booked up for May. The only downside was not to book half board and just went for breakfast. Sampled the evening meal with friends who stayed in the next hotel. What a choice and the food was great! So booked half board this time. The staff were very good and sorted out a hitch when we arrived, immediately! The bedroom door got stuck but they had us back in straight away. Thanks to the guy in reception and the maintenance guy. Can't remember the names but they reacted immediately. Hotel was spotless, breakfast for all types and never had to wait for a drink. Hotel put on an one man show, which was entertaining but rather restraint audience. Showers available for you to wash before leaving for the airport, which was great as we could have an additional sunbathe before our evening flight! Looking forward to going back. Point of warning-Avoid the supermarket opp Ses figueres hotel. Staff are rude and treated a couple of people appallingly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel across the bay from Talamanca and with a stunning view of Ibiza Old Town was an excellent choice. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the room overlooking the sea was of a good size. The hotel has been brought right up to date and there was a bar which was open all day and a long terrace for sitting and watching the scene. The food was very good with a wide choice at the buffet - every night there was a themed dish and freshly cooked meals of fish and meat were available from the grill chef. It is a taxi ride into Ibiza Town but if you wish you can walk along the sea front to get a water taxi which ran every 15 mins in the evening. If you want to explore further then it is a good idea to hire a car but at times parking outside the hotel was a little problematic even though there are a number of free bays. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and everything the hotel had to offer and would have no hesitation in returning here. The only niggle we had was that if you wanted to sit outside to eat, people were constantly lighting up so non smokers have to sit inside. A non smoking section outside would be most welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Big thanks to Alvaro and staff.This was my second stay at this hotel and my friends third. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. It's in a good location and reasonable distance to Ibiza town, about a 30-40 mins walk or you can get the boat from the harbour, taxi about 8 euros. I don't find it 'clinical' at all, just clean and modern. I found the food great-no complaints. It has an outside terrace which is lovely for just sitting, having a drink and watching the world go by. The pool is quite small but there was always space available. There is a spa and fitness area if you're into that. Appears to be favoured by the Germans, didn't seem to be many Brits there, not that any of that is a bother. I chose half board, eating out is expensive, good choice and quality so well worth it. The only small quibble I would have is that the sun loungers have no cushions, therefore quite uncomfortable, no ironing boards seem to be available and the mattresses don't have covers but there were clean! - I checked, obviously watching too many episodes of ' 4 in a bed ' !!. These are minor details and it certainly doesn't put me off going again. I really don't think you could go wrong by staying here, best in the area and not grossly expensive. All in all a great place to stay

Room Tip: try and get a sea view, more expensive but worth it if you like sitting on the balcony and looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgoulding67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear customer, We greatly appreciate that you have shared with us your comments. We love to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see them again on future trips to Ibiza. greetings from our amazing island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Simbad for 10 nights in July. We booked this hotel cos I read from the reviews that it's quiet and away from all the noise.
On the arrival, we were given a first floor room, facing the back street. It was very noisy and we were woken up by the early morning delivery vans. We were offered a sea view room on the 3rd floor but we had to pay for the upgrade, which was worth it. The room was spacious with a lovely view. Rooms were cleaned every day and very thoroughly. The hotel itself was immaculate.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, i asked for some cutlery to be used at the room and the receptionist went out of his way to find me some.
The pool area was lovely but the sun lounges were very uncomfortable, that's probably their only minus.
Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. We had dinner once at the hotel which was also great. On most evenings we ventured out and found some lovely reasonably prized restaurants.
I would definetly stay at Simbad again and would recommend it to people who want to stay away from the noisy area.

Room Tip: The first floor room facing the street was noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear customer, We greatly appreciate that you have shared with us your comments. We love to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see them again on future trips to Ibiza.we will change our sunbeds for next year.!!!greetings from our lovely island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were booked to stay a week at The Simbad's sister hotel Victoria in Talamanca for the week commencing the 26th August 2013. On our arival at The Victoria we were told that the hotel was full, we were offered a week's stay at The Simbad in a double sea view room for no extra charge. We immediately accepted and were ever so glad we did. Our room was lovely, amazing view of Talamanca bay and Ibiza town. Air conditioning worked well, large bathroom. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day by very friendly staff. The free Internet in the room was a little slow at times however it worked quite adequately in the reception area. Nice flat screen tv in the room but only has Spannish speaking stations, not really a problem as we didn't go to Ibiza to watch the telly : ) Nice touch that soft drinks and water are provided free of charge every day in the mini bar in the room. We had booked a double room but were given a room with two single beds, when this was mentioned to the staff at reception they imedidiately organised for the two beds to be made up as a huge double bed. I have noticed that some people's review of this hotel mention that the staff are unfriendly, we found the opposite, the manager, the reception staff the cleaning staff and the dining room staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The pool is lovely, it's right on the sea front. Our only complaint about this hotel is, please go and buy some mattresses for the sun loungers round the pool they are ever so uncomfortable, after all, this is a four star hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveagoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Mr Goldsmith, We greatly appreciate that you have shared with us your comments. We love to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see them again on future trips to Ibiza .

As I wrote in another review we definitly will change our sunbeds next summer

greetings from our marvellous island!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talamanca
2.6 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.6 mi away
Hotel Argos
Hotel Argos
#2 of 10 in Talamanca
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
OD Talamanca
OD Talamanca
#4 of 10 in Talamanca
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ses Figueres
Hotel Ses Figueres
#6 of 10 in Talamanca
198 reviews
2.0 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 52 in Ibiza Town
765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#13 of 52 in Ibiza Town
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbad Hotel

Address: Calle Figueres 22 | Playa de Talamanca, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Talamanca
Price Range: £63 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Simbad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbad Hotel Talamanca
Simbad Hotel Ibiza/Talamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing