We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here... Wouldn't even give it one star!”
Review of Hostal Talamanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Talamanca
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Talamanca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not stay here... Wouldn't even give it one star!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Arrived at the hostal excited as we heard it was lovely! 175 euro a night! My face went pale as soon as we arrived in the lobby.... Run down tired and dated! Went to the room down a dark dated corridor with old mattess and junk in the hall and it got worse! Old an grotty room from the 70s with a disabled toilet! Shower tiles loose and scattered around the floor! Opened the door to the balcony and the Handel came off had to push it back in! Ground floor room so not secure at all! The only saving grace is that it is on the beach. Hop over the balcony and your on the sand. The beach is ok but noughting like the clear blue waters around the rest of the island. The fact its on the beach and close-ish to town is all that's going for it! A real downer on our trip! Could not sleep as beds felt damp?! Our first trip away with out out the kids in 5 years. Stayed in a fab place in las salinas for two nights and then moved here to get the best of both! What a mistake! It's quite a walk from the old town in the heat only realised that there was a water taxi the next day. I can't believe they can charge 175 euro per night for the room and that was there discounted rate! Feel Totally riped off! Do not stay here! This is NOT the real Ibiza experience! Is more like a dated eldery backpackers hostal with a beach! I never complain but for the money we payed for the room I feel sick thinking about it. I adore Ibiza and we had a wonderful time there but please do not book this hostal and get riped off like us!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trickynix78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    34
    9
    23
See reviews for
20
65
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We travelled as a group of woman in our mid 40s looking for a fabulous beach holiday with easy
Access to Ibiza town and the hostal talamanca did not disappoint .
Yes the accommodation is basic but it is spotlessly clean . The Bar next door has a live band Friday and Saturday and is noisy until late but it's not a problem if you stay out late .
The beach service in the day from this bar is amazing fantastic food and a bar service more efficient than most 5 star hotels .
Breakfast is more than adequate it's a self service cold buffet and the tables are on the edge of the sea heaven .
Taxis are very difficult to get in Ibiza especially when you need 2 for every journey so from here
It was perfect because a 5 minute walk takes you into the very smart marina Botafoch and then a short water taxi over to Ibiza Town
This is not a budget property because of its location so it does cost more than other hotels in Talamanca with pools but if you like simple clean accommodation you can't get much closer to the sea with this property . We will be back !!!

Room Tip: You must only stay in a sea view room . The best rooms are the penthouse rooms as they are Quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I skipped around hotels quite a lot when I was in Ibiza and I have to say this one was just OK.
It's not particularly cheap and you are really paying for the location only.
The maid was really lovely after I nearly flooded the place - make sure the plug hole is uncovered - the shower curtain was draped over mine and before I knew the bathroom and half the bedroom was flooded - the lovely maid came and saved me with her magic mop.
Lovely beach side position but think a bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleW253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The scene is like a tropical beach , palm trees and the waves lulling you to sleep ans they roll up the golden sands .
then bang , bang , bang , someone is trying to drive their bed through the very thin walls
why do people have to scream when they are making love at 2 Am ? One side was bad enough but after three days from both sides I was starting to feel quite inadequate
Then there are the Germans !!
Why are they still putting towels on sunbeds at 2AM?
Get real !the beach is three miles long. Is it really necessary to have your beds two metres from your appartment?
Dinner at E80 for two is quite expensive , maybe thats why the restaurant was empty
Breakfast was OK at 8-15 Am
Lots of weak fruit juice , the old chease and ham , masses of white bread ,some yogurts and pineapples
Hey guys, lets get a little creative !
Location is great , staff are friendly, rooms basic but clean .
If you want a holiday where you are literally ON THE BEACH with a relaxed cheap and easy atmosphere -this is for you
Walls are paper thin so if you are a bit of an exhibitionists then this could be the place for you !!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!! Get a sea facing room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank komivong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here several times and loved it, the location is brilliant right on the beach close to several great eating spots and the ferry over to Ibiza town.
Walking distance to Pacha.
It's Basic and now quite pricey for the size of the rooms but it's all about the location and great beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatnamecanihave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and wished we could linger longer. The accomodations were lovely and clean, as you would expect, and the proprietors were simply remarkable...available for tours, conversation and help with the smallest details of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramiro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woolacombe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hostal Talamanca is literally on the beach to the point where the sea comes right to the restaurant deck. It is chilled, fun, relaxing and has a great vibe and suited to people that are open minded and want to chill and have great local food with background atmostpheric music and an outdoors/ al fresco lifestyle.The hotel works on a number of levels providing a great atmostphere all day with a rolling rota for its bars/restaurant. It serves GREAT paella and sangria along with other local dishes and acts as a very busy and popular restaurant and eaterie for locals aswell as Tourists - infact most of the customers are Spanish. The staff speak mainly Spanish so its a good idea to brush up on the basics and they are helpful as a result. Overlooking Talamanca bay, its a good idea to book a first floor balcony seaview room to get the best value for money and experience. These rooms are however over the restaurant areas so there will be a background noise chatting and music but I found this quite relaxing as I dont speak Spanish and it became a pleasant background noise. It wouldnt be a good room to have for children as they would probably be kept awake. Despite originally booking a seaview room and having confirmation of this before we even left for Ibiza we were allocated a dark tiny ground floor room on arrival that resembled more of a cleaning cupboard which when you opened the curtains had people sat about a metre outside the window on the sand - THIS SEEMS TO BE THE FIRST ROOM ALLOCATED TO ALL ARRIVALS SO STICK TO YOUR GUNS AND ASK FOR THE ROOM YOU BOOKED!! - however as soon as we asked to move on arrival we were given the option of two rooms to choose from and just had to wait for them to be vacated which was no problem as we waited on the beach on which the hotel in on.You literally step onto the sand out of the door and its about 8 steps into the water!The downstairs rooms have no privacy so def book the first floor and ask for a room in the new bit of the building with a seafacing view. The back room look onto a dusty road and car park. The rooms are all very basic but are clean and air conditioned with a comfortable firm bed and patio doors.They are cleaned daily and the staff are friendly.Talamanca bay is fab, a shallow bay that makes it safe to swim and very relaxing with a number of good restaurants with an excellent fish shack on the headland/point where the best fish of the island is served to all on a simple basis - Be prepared to mix here on plastic chairs on the rocks with all island inhabitants from celebs to locals. The bay welcomes all - gay couples, hippies, nudists etc alike on a low key level and a there is a relaxed each to their own non exhibitionist vibe makes it really chilled. The Hostal has its own masseur who is also excellent and offers massage on the beach right by the open cafe/bar area. I could literally move there tomorrow!Hostal Talamanca is situated at the marina end of the bay so it is literally a five mintue walk up to the marina where you can get a boat across to the old town for as little as 6 euros return - this is a great trip to do and a great location as you have the laid back vibe of Talamanca but also the option of going the the vibrant marina and bustling old town all without the need for hiring a car.

Room Tip: Book first floor rooms sea facing and ask for one of the rooms in the newly added area over the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolacombelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Argos
Hotel Argos
#2 of 10 in Talamanca
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ses Figueres
Hotel Ses Figueres
#5 of 10 in Talamanca
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simbad Hotel
Simbad Hotel
#4 of 10 in Talamanca
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RocaMar Hotel
RocaMar Hotel
#7 of 10 in Talamanca
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
OD Talamanca
OD Talamanca
#3 of 10 in Talamanca
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
OD Ocean Drive
OD Ocean Drive
#6 of 10 in Talamanca
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Talamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Talamanca

Property: Hostal Talamanca
Address: Playa Talamanca | Apartado 103, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Talamanca 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Talamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Talamanca Hotel Talamanca
Hostal Hotel Talamanca
Hostal Talamanca Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing