We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect (again)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yethouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newcastleton, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LTMG
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect (again)”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Another fabulous relaxing week at the Yethouse. The house is beautiful, yet homely, and really well equipped. The location and views are amazing, great cycling and walking on the door step and the nearby Rock Uk adventure centre offers loads of outdoor activities and private hire of the swimming pool. A great location to enjoy the great outdoors when the weather is good and a fabulous house to cosy up in, playing games or watching the huge 3D TV when it's not so nice outside. We love it, the kids love it, the dog loves it ( enclosed garden and doggy towels are even provided for muddy paws). Can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for being so generous with your feedback, much appreciated. It was lovely to see you again, we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accomodation and ease of access to 7 Stanes.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Unterseen, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is realy a very warm and friendly place. It is easy to relax there.
Liked least: That we have booked only for one week
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the cottage and of course, the area.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for posting a lovely review for us, much appreciated. Delighted that we exceeded your expectations, we aim to please! Hope to meet you all again soon. Best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob O
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Exceeded expectations" 11/10!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

As soon as we saw the lemon cake and 6 beers as a welcome package we knew we'd come to the right spot. The comfort level of the farmhouse is a definite plus, from the plush beds to the comfy pillows to the over-stuffed chairs, to the log fireplace on a chilly evening to the well-stocked library. We tried to find something to complain about (!!) but there was absolutely nothing that would come to mind!

Barbara was always available to help with local knowledge, and although she's not a cyclist, she was well-versed in a cyclist's needs, from local O/S maps to routes; we were never wanting!

The small town's a gem, with good shops and pub grub at The Grapes, and Langholm is only a few kms away if you need a change of pace.

To summarise; a top-notch place. We'll be there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. A very cosy, reaxing place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, much appreciated. Delighted that you enjoyed Yethouse, she does have a way of enveloping everyone in her comfort blanket! Next time you cross the pond please do look us up, best wishes to all, Regards B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubypatch
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely high quality, spacious farmhouse in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Prior to arriving at Yethouse, the communication from Barbara was excellent. We received a lot of additional information regarding both the village and its amenities and also attractions in the local area. It is always appreciated when the owner of an accommodation is a good communicator.

On arrival, we were greeted by Barbara and given a tour of the house, and a lovely lemon drizzle cake. Although the website shows the house well, the reality is even better. The house is spacious and furnished to a very high standard with an especially lovely kitchen. The two living rooms are both comfortable and, along with the large dining room, provide ample living accommodation for the 3 generations in our family group.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were great sizes and all the beds were wonderfully comfortable. Barbara has really gone above and beyond our expectations with the provision of toiletries in the bathrooms, the extensive range of equipment in the kitchen and the hundreds of books, CDs, DVDs and board games in the library. The wifi and 3DHD tv were also a great bonus.

The house is surrounded by gardens with views across the valley. As we had already had an active week in the Lakes before arriving at Yethouse we just wanted a relaxing week and that is what we got! However, the house is ideal for an active holiday with its proximity to the 7 Stanes mountain biking trails and also Rock UK.

The village looks small but both cafes and The Grapes Hotel do delicious meals and the butchers shop stocks very high quality meat as well as veg and frozen meals. We found everyone to be really friendly and helpful.

I would certainly recommend this lovely house to couples and families for either a relaxing or active holiday in a beautiful area. We will definitely be back!

PS we normally do not book accommodations that allow pets (as we have had bad experiences in the past) but this one is so scrupulously clean you would never know that it welcomes visitors' dogs. You should definitely not allow this to put you off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the garden
Liked least: That we only booked for a week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review, it is lovely to read that all our hard work is appreciated. I have passed on your comments to the cleaning crew, they were very pleased, they dont often get a mention! Sounds like you sampled all our local delights. The village is just perfect... the icing on the cake and why we love living here. Hope to see you all again, best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you all for coming, glad you enjoyed the house and all our surroundings. Best wishes for the rest of the summer - here is hoping that Netherlands is as sunny as the Scottish Borders!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing