We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as great as you would expect” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cozy Cabins Nature Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cozy Cabins Nature Resort
Everywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as great as you would expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This place was a bit of a disappointment. First thing was that you are expected to provide your own bed linens and towels. The place was not as clean as one would have wanted. One of our beds was broken and not very comfortable. The loft floor was just a sheet of 4 x 8 plywood, so in the main floor bedrooms you could hear every movement that occurred up there. Plus that was where the broken bed was, so everything the person upstairs moved it squeak very loudly and woke up us constantly. There was only a horrible futon and Lazy boy rocker chair for places to sit. Both fairly useless, because of the fact that there was absolutely no lighting in the place. The kitchen was not a fully equipped kitchen advertised, plus our BBQ was small and broken. The location was pretty far out from anything. I found that there was not that much to do there. The hiking trail on the property was just plain dangerous, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHatterscheidt, Owner at Cozy Cabins Nature Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear LS,

We have taken your review under consideration. We were a little shocked by your response as all previous guests in the Cougar Cabin gave us glowing reviews. However, input is important to us and we have addressed the following points:

We were unaware of the broken bed as guests must have been putting it back together, therefore we replaced it with a new bed.

We are in the process this winter of upgrading the cabin and we are pricing out additional flooring to dampen the noise upstairs.

In addition to the lazy boy,the futon, the six dining room chairs and two bar stools we have added a few more comfy chairs for relaxing.

We have bought and installed additional lighting

We were not aware the bbq was broken, and had you come to us we would have replaced it with a brand new one, which we did the day after you left.

We had the hiking trail evaluated by a professional hiking guide who then published in a book which graded it as a "moderate" hike. Take that as you will.

Things we didn't change:

Our website clearly states that we only offer bedding at an additional cost, and we make a point to tell all our guests before they arrive that this is the case. We don't feel as if we are hiding this fact.

We also post our location on the site, and make a point to tell guests where we are. We don't think we've been advertising the fact we are close to amenities. We also post on our activities page what your recreational options are so you know before booking. What activities you choose to engage in are up to you.

We can't effectively argue that the cabin was clean or not clean. However, we the owners clean the cabins and we make a definite effort to deliver them to you as clean as possible. We've got a vested interest in handing them over in the best condition possible.

We went through the kitchen to make sure it was properly stocked. When you left there was a fridge, freezer, stove, oven, oven mitts, pots, pans, microwave, coffeemaker, coffee filters, paper towel, dish towels, dish rages, dish rack, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, wine glasses, and cutlery. We believe this is what was advertised. If you think we left anything out then please let us know.

Thank you for your input, it was valued and acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Cozy Cabins is an awesome place to get away with the family, enjoy some play time, swimming in a perfect private lake, campfires, berry picking, bbq and more. Friendly owners and guests alike. We will most certainly be returning. We also loved the 'cell-free' zone, not driving our car for an entire week and just plain old relaxing.

Room Tip: Look over the cabins on the website and consider how many beds you need. They're all nice, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This year completed the 21st annual visit to cozy cabins. We can't get enough. It is a vacation that is marked on our calendar and looked forward to all year. The owners are amazing people with incredible personalities. The property itself if gorgeous. A lot of work has been done to maintain the place over the years and it has really paid off. The authentic cabins are as cozy as the day they were built. The weather in the area is fantastic, the lake full of fish, and there is no cell phone reception. I don't even get a chance to worry about missing a call from work. The troubles and worries of my day to day just slip away once I set foot at cozy cabins.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: For small families try to get the Deer or Bear Cabin. They are in the best location but they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherkama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

First visited Cozy Cabins 21 years ago for a week with our two little boys. We loved it so much we have been back every year. This past year we had to book two cabins as nieces and boyfriends and girl friends all want to come. Say no more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My extended family has been vacationing at Cozy Cabins annually for the past 21 years, for the last 3 years my sister and I have joined them, we too are now hooked and will continue to go every year. A little peice of heaven, the atmosphere, beauty and vibe of the place is second to none. Keri

Room Tip: I slept in the loft,it is rustic but still very clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This place is amazing!!!! Fantastic people, absolutely beautiful nature and tons of things to do. We enjoyed every minute of our week! No need to say, one week is just not enough in this paradise! Nature at its best!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Wow! What a gem! This place is rustic and beautiful. The hosts (owners) are laid back and accomodating. They take fantastic care of their place and the cabins are spotless. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all this is the place. There is no cell service or internet access so if you are looking to get away from it all this is your place! We have four children aged 7-13 and did not worry about them here as this is a private resort. We spent most of our time on the lake fishing and at the outdoor firepit where we cooked up the fish we caught, had our meals over the fire, and visited with our neighbors who also had children the age of our two youngest. The cabins are each equipped with BBQ's and stoves but meals taste better over the fire! The boys played on the rope swings and went out in the row boat which each cabin is assigned and swam to the dock. Great for a Romantic Getaway or for families. this would also be an awesome place to have a wedding or family reunion as there are cabins on the property to accomodate a intimate private party or several families (well as many as there are cabins). We will definately be back next year as this was a gem in the mountains and one not soon forgotten.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a cabin on the lake the Deer cabin is awesome when you get up in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumby
24.2 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
10.5 mi away
Twin Creeks Motel
Twin Creeks Motel
#1 of 1 in Lumby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Cabins Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Cabins Nature Resort

Property: Cozy Cabins Nature Resort
Address: 1876 Creighton Valley Rd, Lumby, British Columbia V0E 2G1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Lumby
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lumby
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside Okanagan resort rest on 60 acres and overlooks the lake which is just right for swimming. As the resort is small and private it has become a popular destination for family reunions and with those who just want to rediscover Mother Nature and enjoy peace and relaxation in a beautiful setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing