We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of our trip!”
Review of Villa de Porres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa de Porres
Ranked #2 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from a week long trip in Ireland and can honestly say that our stay at Villa de Porres was the most pleasant out of all the B&B's. It was comfortable, clean, updated and very conveniently located away from the hustle and bustle of Galway. My family and I enjoyed walking down to the water and the quaint Main Street of the town. And if you're interested in exploring Galway, it is a 5 minute drive to the center of the city. Definitely recommend staying at Villa de Porres if you are planning on visiting the Galway area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Villa de Porres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Irean and her family were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were immaculately clean and tidy and had modern ensuite, tea making facilities and plenty of room.
Breakfast was home cooking at its best, lots of choice.
Would recommended, we attended a wedding at the connemmara coast hotel and for us this was a great location..
Thanks

Room Tip: All seemed nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trebororange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We loved our stay at Villa de Porres! It is located very near Galway which was our favorite city in Ireland. Just a short stroll to the water. Irene gave us excellent recommendations and O'Grady's on the pier was simply amazing. The breakfasts that Irene prepared were delicious and our rooms were so nice. I loved using her sitting room as well. This was the easiest to find of all of the B and B's that we have stayed in and the location could not be any more perfect. It is also the most comfortable of all of the places that we stayed. I plan to stay here for a week on our next trip as there is so much to do in this area that we did not have time for. You will definitely enjoy your stay in this very fine establishment with a delightful host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I haven't been here in a few years, but can honestly say after visiting this property for approx 20 years that standards of the rooms and food never slipped in that time. My parents stayed here many moons ago and became friendly with the owners. It was this friendly welcome that kept us coming back here as family a few times a year.

I can highly recommend Irene's cooking. I can safely say they are the best sausages I have ever had! Her homemade brown bread is also delicious. One of my favourite things to do was walk down to the beach which is only minutes down the road. I used to walk along the back of the pier, sit down and watch the world go by. Barna is a beautiful tranquil village on the outskirts of Galway. Book a stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sligo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here last week for 5 days, Mrs Carr and her daughter are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are excellent as is the choice of cooked breakfasts and choise of cereals and fruit on offer and the lovely homemade brown bread. As good as any hotel and better than some. Lovely sitting room to relax and read if you wish. Definitely recommend this guesthouse and would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We found this B/B after a long day on the road, a wonderful find. Mrs Carr is a welcoming friendly knowledgeable host who recommended a nearby restaurant where we were lucky enough to enjoy one of the best fish and chip meals ever (we are Londoners!). The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast 10/10. Very clean roomy on-suite facilities.

Visited July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99sonnylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our only "drop in" (no reservation) stay while visiting Ireland, and it turned out to be one of the best. We were looking for an accommodation near Galway during the busy weekend of the races, and it turned out to be one of the best B&B in which we stayed. Irene and her daughter were very lovely and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean and tidy and the shower was the best one in all six places we stayed. Breakfast was excellent and the location was great. I went for a nice walk up the street one night and the views of the bay from up there were magnificent! We also loved the evening we spent at Donnelly's (pub) of Barna, just a few minutes walk from the B&B, and a late snack the next night out on the pier, also just down the street. The rooms were just slightly smaller than some, but the house overall was large and comfortable, including the dining room. Parking was ample and the location was extremely quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#24 of 46 in Galway
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Galway Bay Cottages
Galway Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Barna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Porres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Porres

Address: Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range: £73 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Porres 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa de Porres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Porres Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing