We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely clean friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
410 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely clean friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A lovely B&B we came across by chance.(Not knowing how far we would get in one day). We were greeted by the friendly owner who let us park the motorbike on a hard service out the back. The room was airy clean and the bed comfy. The shower hot. Breakfast was great having fresh fruit, juice, cereal and cooked meal.
It was a great spot just off the main road but walking distance to restaurants and the sea.
I would go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A lovely B&B, Bernadette is a great host and makes great scones!
Breakfast was lovely and we got lots of advice on where to eat in Barna and where to head for on our next leg of the journey.
Our bedroom was clean and well appointed and the en suite was also very clean.
A very friendly cat made my visit complete.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

One of the best b & b's we have stayed in anywhere. Bernadette and her daughter were very welcoming and although the room was not ready(this was late morning) took our bags in and sent us sightseeing in Connemara.
On our return the room, which was very spacious with a huge super comfotable bed, had been beautifully prepared.
The next morning the "full Irish" met all our expectations and was served personally by Bernadette along with her friendly chat.
A great stay, we'll stay longer the next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We chose Barna as our home base to travel in the west and Abbeyville was the PERFECT home base. Easy to find, clean, good linens, wonderful hostess. Walk down to the water or to a pub. Owner provided solid travel & route tips. Very good breakfast. Will recommend to all of my frie ds & look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate8W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

18th June 2012
Bernadette and her lovelly family were most welcoming good to meet such nice people a pity the rest of the world was not like this.
We had great accommodation large bed for big man had plenty of room in it
Food and travel advice was spot on
We would truelly recommend this venue for any travellers
Janice & Ian Warren New Zealand go the All Blacks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I've stayed in many b&b's over the years, and never have I left one thinking that I would like to return.....that is until now. The house was lovely, spacious, clean, and very homely. And next we come to the wonderful hostess Bernadette - she made me feel so at home, and in the space of just a few days, I left feeling like I'd made a new friend - not something I expected from my trip!! The breakfast was really nice, and a huge variety available, Bernadette even got me some earl grey tea! I can't speak highly enough, and if I ever go back to Galway this is the only place I will stay. Keith

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

It was pouring with rain - beautiful country but very wet. Bernadette took us in and made us feel very welcome. Barna is a far cry from imperial Britain's shores but from Abbeyville, with Bernadette's help and advice, we set off on a journey that was wonderful and helped us black out all that vulgar Jubilee circus back home. Thank you Bernadette. Aidan & Helen

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Village, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing