We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Abbeyville is a spotlessly clean, well appointed B&B. We had a lovely room with large Velux windows in bathroom and bedroom. The owner Bernadette came out to greet us on arrival and provided us with a lovely freshly cooked breakfast each morning with her own varieties of home made bread and scones along with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals.
She was full of information about where to go and what to see and really made us welcome with a typical Irish friendliness.
We were on a motorcycling trip using this B&B as a base for 4 nights. There is a concrete area around the back of the building which is ideal for motorcycle parking.
We found 3 places to eat and drink in Barna all very close to Abbeyville. O' Donnelly's, The Twelve hotel and O' Grady's, all with excellent food and great atmosphere.
Having stayed in a lot of B&B's I can't remember ever staying in a nicer, cleaner one than Abbeyville with a host as pleasant as Bernadette.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flattwinGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here recently wih my family. All I can say is Bernadett is a really lovely, honest and good person. How she can stay so positive I don't know but she is a lovely soul and likes to talk if you want to. Everything was just great and her breakfast was fresh and delicuous. It was hard to drag ourselves away when it was time to leave. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A bit off the main road; I missed the signage the first time by. However, Abbeyville was worth the effort. Comfortable rooms (we had a double and a single). The breakfast was very good and the proprietors were very accommodating to requests for variations on food preparation.

The location was a good starting place for our day trips to the Aaron Islands, the Cliffs of Mohr, Etc. We also received excellent advice on making the next phase of our trip (to Sligo) a scenic and memorable one.

Any return trip to Ireland and Galway would definitley include a stay at Abbeyville, if available.

Charles & Linda

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank ElChaufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A lovely B&B we came across by chance.(Not knowing how far we would get in one day). We were greeted by the friendly owner who let us park the motorbike on a hard service out the back. The room was airy clean and the bed comfy. The shower hot. Breakfast was great having fresh fruit, juice, cereal and cooked meal.
It was a great spot just off the main road but walking distance to restaurants and the sea.
I would go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A lovely B&B, Bernadette is a great host and makes great scones!
Breakfast was lovely and we got lots of advice on where to eat in Barna and where to head for on our next leg of the journey.
Our bedroom was clean and well appointed and the en suite was also very clean.
A very friendly cat made my visit complete.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

One of the best b & b's we have stayed in anywhere. Bernadette and her daughter were very welcoming and although the room was not ready(this was late morning) took our bags in and sent us sightseeing in Connemara.
On our return the room, which was very spacious with a huge super comfotable bed, had been beautifully prepared.
The next morning the "full Irish" met all our expectations and was served personally by Bernadette along with her friendly chat.
A great stay, we'll stay longer the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We chose Barna as our home base to travel in the west and Abbeyville was the PERFECT home base. Easy to find, clean, good linens, wonderful hostess. Walk down to the water or to a pub. Owner provided solid travel & route tips. Very good breakfast. Will recommend to all of my frie ds & look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate8W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
3.3 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#13 of 189 in Galway
117 reviews
9.4 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
894 reviews
6.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#10 of 189 in Galway
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
777 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Address: Freeport, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing