We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem and that means Bernadette!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wonderful welcome...we had a long drive....having had the time to stop off at K Club Kildare for lunch...Bernadette was there at the door....we off loaded the luggage...there were tea and coffee making facilities in the lovely bedroom, ground floor big orthopeadic bed, t..v. ensuite facilities, WIFI (oh so important for me for the business keeping in touch). Cat nap before dinner.....(O'Gradys on the Pier: review coming later) for dinner on the first and second night (Donnellys Pub on second night) coming later also in my reviews in the village of Barna......Breakfast on the two mornings at Abbeyville was great, well for Mr he had the full Irish on one morning and scrambled eggs on the second morning.. For me a non- breakfast person, there was lovely lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt, lovely tea and great wheaten bread.... all in all will return hopefully soon... thank you Bernadette and remember Trip Advisors cash please, although I enjoyed the lovely walk to the ATM at the Supervalu...lol ... silly me....and the weather was just gorgeous.....4 hrs + drive home with another great stop over at Warrenpoint....Restaurant No 23 at Balmoral Hotel....review later.....:-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in the Abbeyville B&B for 4 evenings. We used this location as a base for touring the Cliffs of Mohr, Connemera, Galway, and the Aran Islands. Bernadette was a wonderful hostess who had practical and good ideas for sightseeing and routes. Her cooking is very good. Some of the best scrambled eggs and salmon in Ireland and of course, french toast! The rooms are very clean, and the best shower that one can find in Ireland. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed two nights. Booked at very short notice. Bernadette couldn't have been more accommodating. Lovely clean rooms. Very close to The Twelve, Donnelly's and most importantly O'Gradys restaurant. €15 euro taxi from spanish arch. Delicious fry up in the morning and great service. Excellent value. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daithi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is my second time staying with Bernadett and I must say she is a really lovely woman and cannot do enough for you. Even her black cat is welcoming. Highly recommended. The location is great just 3min to Donnellys pub and restaurant where you can get a great pint of Guinness and great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Bernadette is very welcoming and so eager to help. The rooms are very clean with extras like plenty of outlets and comfortable beds. We had a flat tire and she was so willing to help us find a place to get it fixed. She had a lot of suggestions for dinner and the one we tried, Donnelly's, was excellent. The breakfasts are wonderful. Lots of home made breads and my favorite - scones. The location is out of Galway just a bit, but it's easily accessible. The water is just a short walk away and so beautiful. We stayed two nights with our three daughters and had a delightful stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here May 2013. Room and breakfast were excellent- and host Bernadette was welcoming, accommodating, friendly and justifiably proud of Barna and its surrounds. Nothing was too much trouble and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick580425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed in May 2013. Friendly hostess, comfortable room. Great location for us as we came off the late ferry from Aran and it's on the right side of Galway. Lots of parking, set well back from the road so it is quiet. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. Be sure to try the scones. It's a short walk to pubs for dinner. There is a laundry a short walk away which took our washing in the morning and we picked it up in the evening washed, dried and folded. I would recommend this B&B.

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank Bluemusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,732 reviews
9.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#15 of 189 in Galway
107 reviews
6.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Address: Freeport, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range: £65 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing