We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Host was gracious and accommodating. Room was nice and had all the needed amenities. Located just down the street from restaurants and pubs, the location was just what we needed with a relaxing evening to throw back a few beers. The guest common area was nice to sit back and relax and gave us a chance to talk with the owner getting to know her and a little more about the area. Bernadette was a great host and we would recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our second stay with Bernadette....great host!!!! I have never known a hostess like her who really does go the extra mile for her guests. Having also stayed in other bed & breakfasts in the barna area I have to say this has to be our favourite

Food excellent, rooms beautifully decorated with Bernadette's own artwork, really warm welcome!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hillarycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived in Barna late afternoon from Galway, it was a short easy drive and we found the location so easily. We were excited to find we were within walking distance for everything. Bernadette was so open and friendly how could we not fall in love with her. The rooms were perfect, spacious and convenient!!! So clean and the breakfast, well just go and see for yourself. Bernadette made our stay so special and we didn't want to leave. She gave us a recommendation that we asked for and it meant the world to my mom. I cant wait to share the pictures with her. This is a must see/do on your B and B tour in Ireland. Location, location, location!!!

Room Tip: just call and ask, she knows exactly what you need before you get there. I was traveling with my pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had such a pleasant stay at the Abbeyville B&B. It was the only time in 3 weeks that we had a king size bed. Our room was so beautiful and the art work around the house was done by the owner, so that made it even more special. We were referred to a nearby laundry to get some clothes washed - very helpful. Most of all we enjoyed talking to Bernadette - what a lovely lady she is! As I told her when we left - if I lived there we would surely be friends. Sometimes people need to be hugged when you say goodbye and this was surely the case. Thanks Bernadette - vaya con dios!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamJimD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first B&B of our Ireland trip. Loved the location in the quaint village of Brana (just a short drive from Salthill). Had this image in my mind of what a B&B, but Abbeyville didn't quite turn out to match image. No problem. It may not have loads of charm as it's a fairly plain house but it does come with a decent sized bedroom and bath for an Irish B&B as we came to find out. And it's super clean. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was one of our favorites of the trip. Bernadette can cook quite well. Her Irish breakfast was yummy and she used local farm fresh ingredients that showed. Had to ask for a second egg, they were so good. Loved her scones too. She was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Alabama
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my favorite b&b of our trip, and the proprietors made it so. We did meet Bernadette, but her son Evan was our host. He took time to chat with us cooked an excellent breakfast. He made suggestions on which road to take to Cong, so we had a more scenic route than we had planned and also got to visit Kylemore Abbey, which was closer than I had realized. The room was comfortable, there was tea in the room too. Abbeyville does not have a view of Galway bay, but the rooms have huge picture windows with views of the garden. Barna is in walking distance. It is right on the way to Rossavel, so if you are going to the Aran Islands, it is on the way to the airport or the ferry, maybe 45 minute drive. Did I mention there was a reading light over the bed? Last, but not least, there is artwork everywhere that has been painted Bernadette, which is quite lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely stay, we stayed 2 nights Bernadette was a great host.
The room was lovely and clean and the breakfast great.
Bonus that you could walk to the restaurant in the evening.
We would certainly visit again!
Angela ,Mike, Zofia & Roy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
2.1 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Village, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing