We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food”
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We ate dinner at Donnely's. The back of the place is cozy and not as crowded as the bar near the main entrance.

We both ordered one of the daily specials and were not disappointed. The food was tasty, the fish was fresh and the service was very attentive (especially considering the chaotic organization).

Would go there again!

1  Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

A true hidden jewel in the small village of Barna. It has been voted as The Best Pub in Ireland. I can see why. It has it all. Atmosphere, Awesome Food, Great Drinks & Good Service. The lamb shank my husband ate was the best lamb of our trip, so tender and flavorful. And my seafood pasta dish was very creamy and full of seafood. And of course Guinness on draft and a delicious Irish Coffee with Baileys.

2  Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is a lovely little pub, living on its former glories, which were indeed high, we decided to try their 'famous' chowder. unless its famous for it's lack of imagination and lack of content I wouldn't be boasting about it. stodgy, potatoes are not fish, and tasteless farm salmon, this was the poorest chowder I have had in many years, come on Donnelly's throw some mussels, clams, or whatever in, it's a fab pub, we didn't have the mains, the chowder was enough to know what was going on the kitchen….it'

2  Thank D8Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear D8Grant

Regarding your review I would like to reply as follows.

I believe you have given quite an incorrect review regarding our chowder. Our chowder is widely regarded as the finest around (evident from many of our reviews).
It is made freshly each day to a specific recipe which shall not be changed based on your opinion. Our recipe does not include potatoes and was not in your chowder on the day you had it. Our chowder includes plenty of fish variety including hake, haddock, cod and not just salmon.
On arrival you obviously had already decided to just have a starter and this was the reason you didn’t have the mains, it had nothing to do with the chowder or the kitchen. Please feel free to visit our kitchen next time you are in Barna and we can show you how the chowder is made – minus the potatoes.

Yours sincerely
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a delightful meal in the pub. Locals lined the bar and were coming and going....almost like a scene from a movie! Had a nice dinner with adequate portions and lots of charm and atmosphere

3  Thank mommaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had an excellent meal - the seafood and lamb were both cooked to perfection. The desserts were great too. The staff were very attentive and accommodating - definitely worth visiting!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SarahandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing