We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freeport B&B Barna Galway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Barna in June staying in the Freeport B&B. The owner couldn't do enough for us, breakfast was lovely, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable & we could park around the back, what more would you want & Donnollys pub with trad music a few hundred yards away. (handy on the way home.....)
A great base to explore the West & all those little beaches along the coast or head back towards Salthill/Galway city for a blast of nightlife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were delighted by the view from our room. Despite overlooking the parking lot, you could also see past that to the water. It was very nice and the room was both clean and wonderfully comfortable. It is within walking distance of O'Grady's which is a very good restaurant by the water. The owner was very friendly and, according to the information in the room, they will assist you with tours of local attractions. I had just come from the Cliffs of Moher, which was one of the tours that they offered. I felt like the added tours were above and beyond the expectations of a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Travelled with kids and moms to a sports event involving a 2 night stay,Freeport House was pefect from the word go,warm and welcoming,no fuss,great breakfast to set us up for long days and secure parking,highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank E U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and 3-month old stayed here for two nights in June of 2014. The property was very clean and you could tell there was a lot of pride in the upkeep and maintenance. Our room was very nice and had a view of the water. The owner Joan was very accommodating to us and our baby and gave us the room on the 1st floor so we didn't need to lug everything upstairs. As Americans, we are used to different standards at Hotels and Inns, but this place met or exceeded all of them. The breakfast was wonderful and made to order.

There are many local restaurants and even a market within walking distance, and she's a short drive to the Cliffs of Moher, ferries to the Aran islands, and shopping spots in Galway. It was a great stopping point for us to get to Eastern Ireland coastal attractions.

I would definitely recommend Freeport House to anyone! I have absolutely no negative things to say!

Room Tip: The rooms on the bay have a great view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CaymanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is of value to our customers and your kind words much appreciated . Safe traveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at Freeport House a few times now and we really love it. Joan is so welcoming and everything just feels like home. The breakfasts are wonderful! Already looking forward to tour next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktj321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As anyone will tell you who has stayed at Freeport House....Joan is a welcoming host and nothing is too much trouble for her. You don't actually feel like a visitor but more an old friend dropping in. We stayed 2 nights and would certainly recommend to anyone looking for comfortable tastefully decorated rooms and delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Our room overlooked the Bay and Mountains - perfect. We had a lovely evening meal in the local pub which is only a few minutes walk from Freeport House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BrenSouthWestEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, It was a pleasure to meet you. Looking forward to your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Freeport for 3 nights and it was the best! Joan was a wonderful host! I would stay with her again! The rooms are beautiful! Very clean! And the breakfast was wonderful! It's close to everything.you can walk to everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomasina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you , It was so nice to meet you, Tell my little friend I'm still practicing my whistling....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
3.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range: £31 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is a family run Bed and Breakfast accommodation which offer the highest of standards and we aim to accommodate and please all our customers who visit our Guest house, Our prices are per person sharing per night. There are tours to the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara Tour which departs from our Guest House each morning and return again in the evening, all of which can be organised by Joan. There are also four award winning restaurants within walking distance, and of course the Beach and Barna Pier. We are located on the R336 road 10 mins from Galway city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing