We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freeport B&B Barna-Well Worth The Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Freeport B&B Barna-Well Worth The Stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night as we attended a wedding reception in Barna. From the second we entered the house, to the second we left, we could not get over the B&B. The rooms were really clean, neat and tidy. From the hair dryer, to the view out the window, to the plenty of towels in the bathroom, everything that was needed was thought of. Breakfast was lovely and the lady in charge made sure we had enough to eat before leaving and had no problem refilling the pot of tea. Parking at the rear of the B&B was handy and I really appreciated the lady for letting us stay parked was we had a wander around the beautiful village. I also couldn't believe how close Barna is to the city. I found myself at Salthill within 5 to 10 mins of leaving Freeport B&B. I will definitely be choosing this B&B first when I come the way again. For 35 eurp for a night, you can not go wrong! Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CiaraNi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs of our entire Ireland trip (we stayed in 5). We were here for 4 nights. My husband and I got a room with a view of the ocean (as well as the pier on the side). Our daughters got the room right next to us but without the ocean view. We liked both our rooms. Absolutely gorgeous and peaceful. I cannot say enough to express our liking of this B&B: The rooms and bathrooms were spacious. Hot water was plentiful and consistent. Breakfasts were delicious and offered a great deal of variety - everything from brown bread and fresh fruit and yogurt and a variety of cereals to porridge and bacon and eggs and sausages. There are several award-winning restaurants within quite a short walking distance and we were lucky enough to visit three of them. Galway is only a short drive away. It is also quite easy to get to the Aran Islands and the Burren from Freeport House. There is a laundry within walking distance too. What we liked best about Freeport House was our hostess. Joan is everything you want in a host and more. In a country of friendly people, Joan still manages to stand out with her friendliness and gracious hospitality. She went out of her way to help us out more than once. Joan and Theresa treated us more like family than B&B guests, and if we are fortunate enough to visit Ireland again, we will make a beeline for Freeport House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Barna in June staying in the Freeport B&B. The owner couldn't do enough for us, breakfast was lovely, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable & we could park around the back, what more would you want & Donnollys pub with trad music a few hundred yards away. (handy on the way home.....)
A great base to explore the West & all those little beaches along the coast or head back towards Salthill/Galway city for a blast of nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, VA
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were delighted by the view from our room. Despite overlooking the parking lot, you could also see past that to the water. It was very nice and the room was both clean and wonderfully comfortable. It is within walking distance of O'Grady's which is a very good restaurant by the water. The owner was very friendly and, according to the information in the room, they will assist you with tours of local attractions. I had just come from the Cliffs of Moher, which was one of the tours that they offered. I felt like the added tours were above and beyond the expectations of a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Travelled with kids and moms to a sports event involving a 2 night stay,Freeport House was pefect from the word go,warm and welcoming,no fuss,great breakfast to set us up for long days and secure parking,highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank E U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and 3-month old stayed here for two nights in June of 2014. The property was very clean and you could tell there was a lot of pride in the upkeep and maintenance. Our room was very nice and had a view of the water. The owner Joan was very accommodating to us and our baby and gave us the room on the 1st floor so we didn't need to lug everything upstairs. As Americans, we are used to different standards at Hotels and Inns, but this place met or exceeded all of them. The breakfast was wonderful and made to order.

There are many local restaurants and even a market within walking distance, and she's a short drive to the Cliffs of Moher, ferries to the Aran islands, and shopping spots in Galway. It was a great stopping point for us to get to Eastern Ireland coastal attractions.

I would definitely recommend Freeport House to anyone! I have absolutely no negative things to say!

Room Tip: The rooms on the bay have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CaymanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is of value to our customers and your kind words much appreciated . Safe traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at Freeport House a few times now and we really love it. Joan is so welcoming and everything just feels like home. The breakfasts are wonderful! Already looking forward to tour next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktj321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
2.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,055 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,901 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is a family run Bed and Breakfast accommodation which offer the highest of standards and we aim to accommodate and please all our customers who visit our Guest house, Our prices are per person sharing per night. There are tours to the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara Tour which departs from our Guest House each morning and return again in the evening, all of which can be organised by Joan. There are also four award winning restaurants within walking distance, and of course the Beach and Barna Pier. We are located on the R336 road 10 mins from Galway city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing