We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place to stay, beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in Freeport recently and we were very happy with this place. Our room was clean, the owner very friendly and the breakfest very homey-like indeed. The location was great, very near the main junction yet we found it quiet enough. The view was absolutely stunning and loads of baeaches for those lovely walks. The restaurant nearby O'Grady On The Pier serves seafood to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NatSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Well located near the bars of barna
The owner Joan is a pleasant lady
Quick check in
45 euro for a single
Room small but ok
Bathroom small but everything worked
Didn't try the wifi
Bed and breakfasts tend to overcharge in this area in the summer compared to other counties
Breakfast was only ok
Sausages and rashers were a bit burnt
Good coffee and toast
Place looks dated from outside
Good parking behind
TV worked fine but had only basic channels
Ok for a night

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent rooms, clean spacious , decor super. The rooms had every thing any one would need from a hair dryer to towels to tea and Coffe . Our view was great. Breakfast next morning was good and the owner and sister were two lovely friendly and very helpful people. I have sung the praises of this great B&B to all my family and friends. I would highly recommend this fabulous house to stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a great place to stop in Galway! Charming B&B run by an incredibly helpful lady. Sea room views were unbeatable - there was a rainbow 50 feet from our room (no pot of gold however!). Walking distance to the town pub and a great restaurant at Twelve, and just about 10 euro taxi ride into Galway city. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night as we attended a wedding reception in Barna. From the second we entered the house, to the second we left, we could not get over the B&B. The rooms were really clean, neat and tidy. From the hair dryer, to the view out the window, to the plenty of towels in the bathroom, everything that was needed was thought of. Breakfast was lovely and the lady in charge made sure we had enough to eat before leaving and had no problem refilling the pot of tea. Parking at the rear of the B&B was handy and I really appreciated the lady for letting us stay parked was we had a wander around the beautiful village. I also couldn't believe how close Barna is to the city. I found myself at Salthill within 5 to 10 mins of leaving Freeport B&B. I will definitely be choosing this B&B first when I come the way again. For 35 eurp for a night, you can not go wrong! Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CiaraNi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs of our entire Ireland trip (we stayed in 5). We were here for 4 nights. My husband and I got a room with a view of the ocean (as well as the pier on the side). Our daughters got the room right next to us but without the ocean view. We liked both our rooms. Absolutely gorgeous and peaceful. I cannot say enough to express our liking of this B&B: The rooms and bathrooms were spacious. Hot water was plentiful and consistent. Breakfasts were delicious and offered a great deal of variety - everything from brown bread and fresh fruit and yogurt and a variety of cereals to porridge and bacon and eggs and sausages. There are several award-winning restaurants within quite a short walking distance and we were lucky enough to visit three of them. Galway is only a short drive away. It is also quite easy to get to the Aran Islands and the Burren from Freeport House. There is a laundry within walking distance too. What we liked best about Freeport House was our hostess. Joan is everything you want in a host and more. In a country of friendly people, Joan still manages to stand out with her friendliness and gracious hospitality. She went out of her way to help us out more than once. Joan and Theresa treated us more like family than B&B guests, and if we are fortunate enough to visit Ireland again, we will make a beeline for Freeport House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Barna in June staying in the Freeport B&B. The owner couldn't do enough for us, breakfast was lovely, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable & we could park around the back, what more would you want & Donnollys pub with trad music a few hundred yards away. (handy on the way home.....)
A great base to explore the West & all those little beaches along the coast or head back towards Salthill/Galway city for a blast of nightlife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barna hotels
0.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Villa de Porres
Villa de Porres
#2 of 3 in Barna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Galway Bay Cottages
Galway Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Barna
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Freeport House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range: £31 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is a family run Bed and Breakfast accommodation which offer the highest of standards and we aim to accommodate and please all our customers who visit our Guest house, Our prices are per person sharing per night. There are tours to the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara Tour which departs from our Guest House each morning and return again in the evening, all of which can be organised by Joan. There are also four award winning restaurants within walking distance, and of course the Beach and Barna Pier. We are located on the R336 road 10 mins from Galway city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing