We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for sharing your world with us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galway Bay Cottages
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks for sharing your world with us!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We can't say enough about Ken and Sue! They have only owned the property a short time and have made countless improvements. Although they were very busy, they always found time to chat or give us some recommendations! Their endless laboring make us anxious to return and see what they accomplish.
The cottage was wonderful! 3 Bedrooms and a huge bathroom. Eat-in Kitchen was perfect for our family. Thanks to the laundry room we didn't have to pack too much. We even had our own sitting area in front of our cottage to enjoy the peaceful evenings. They are quick to solve those last minute happenings too. Like when our outlet converter wouldn't work and they loaned us one. They also let us use the computer in the office to charge our phones... They had a DVD library for the early nights that followed long days of walking!
Thank you for sharing your world with us!
From,
Ken & Sue Kruemmer
Michigan, USA

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here the first week of Sept. The manager was as nice a person as she could be. Very friendly and most helpful on local sites, transportation......anything that we had a question she had or found the answer.
The cottages were quite adaquate for out stay. Mostly remodeled units that were well stocked and very clean.
Location of a 1/3 mile to Barna, (Grocery,restaurant,pizza and a lovely little cafe for breakfast or lunch). Galway was a short hop of 5 mile plus or minus..... Great place to stay and make day trips.
Won't hesitate to try to stay here again on our next trip to the Emerald Isle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a lovely, relaxing time in Barna and cottages were cosy and very clean. Ken and Sue are exceptional hosts and full of life and will do anything to assist and ensure you have all information to make stay great.. Will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed there from April 28 through may 5, we got there early around 10 am. Ken and rose were nice and bery helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Place is in a very good location. Very central. Units are a little seasoned but comfortable and they are working on the improvements. We would definitely return there. No restaurant on property but they are just a few minutes of walk away. Close to shopping. I would definitely recommend it. Electricity is charged according to how much you use but it was nominal. Also we had to leave early before office hours as our flight was early and ken was courteous enough and checked us out the night before.. 5 stars for customer service..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overgaard, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice cute cottage in Barna, would give it top rating but for only one bathroom.
Very clean. every thing worked.
Service was outstanding- We checked in very late, hosts had the hot water on and preheated for us!
Met us that night and explained the odd front door lock, very common in Ireland.
Beds were very high quality .
Up stairs was the view of the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JumBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time with my family at Galway bay cottages, the people the staff where so friendly and such great help too! There is lots of things to do so spent the days out in the surrounding villages the whole family really had a lovely relaxing week, well recommended to all my friends and family & anyone else looking for a clean calm and welcoming stay for their family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjade89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

C. Alexander.
We had a lovely stay at the cottages, the service was great, they are clean and tidy with fantastic views. Would highly recommend these cottages.
Reception are helpful and attentive.
Great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinkyDHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
3.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
300 reviews
17.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Cottages

Property: Galway Bay Cottages
Address: Coast Road (R336), Barna, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Galway Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Bay Cottages Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing