We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most perfect and relaxing experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect and relaxing experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My girlfriend and I had been planning to take a trip to Ireland celebrate (or as she put it, commiserate) her 30th birthday on May 2nd 2011. This coincided with the Royal Wedding, so we were convinced we would have a hard time finding a place to stay for a reasonable amount. After a short time searching the internet, we found a selection of places that were both available and affordable. The one that we liked the look of the most was The Twelve, situated by the bay in Galway, the west coast of Ireland. We found several deals that covered our 2 night requirement, including the Gourmet option, which included a meal at the hotels own restaurant, 'West'. This had received many good reviews, and for '159 per person for two nights, we booked.

We rented a car from Dublin and drove across the country to take in the scenery, it was superb. On arrival, we found the car park easily, which had plenty of space, so we got our bags and headed to the lift to reception.

In my opinion, it doesn't matter how good a place is, if the service is poor, it can ruin a beautiful place. This was not the case here. We were greeted in the perfect welcoming manner by Samantha, who offered us a seat, went through our booking, and informed us of the Hotel amenities and other information. She offered us help with our luggage and went to our room. It really set the mood.

Making our way through the hotel, we were impressed by the decor and the subtle lighting, large elaborate mirrors from floor to ceiling were a common feature, and some interesting art work decorated the walls. Arriving at our room, we were very pleased. Dark wood furniture, modern yet classic, filled the room. The bed was had Tempur mattress and superb pillows, I have never slept that well, very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge walk in shower, and mood lighting. When you pull the light cord, coloured up lights illuminate the room. We had a large window that looked out to the bay, and although by a main road, this was not a disturbance at all. We received a knock at the door, and were given a small plate with two strawberries dipped in chocolate and short bread as a welcome gift. A small touch, but greatly appreciated, and a sign of the Hotels good service.

We went to the bar (The Pins) and had a few pre dinner drinks, and again, the service was perfect; Polite, fast, and a pleasant atmosphere. We had booked our table for 7pm, so we left for the restaurant, which happened to be on our floor. Once again, we were greeted with superb decor, a welcoming atmosphere and excellent service. The staff clearly wanted to provide a great experience and were attentive without being intrusive. We received some recommendations, and decided on Salmon Fishcakes/Mussels to start, followed by Fillet Steak/Pork Loin, the finishing with Summer Fruit with Short Bread/Ice Cream. The food was ... well superb doesn't cover it, divine maybe? It was amazing. Not too much, not too little, the flavours were perfect, cooked just as I like, and I asked them to do something a little special with Michelle's desert for her birthday, they wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate around her plate in superb writing, and placed a candle in one of the scoops of ice cream. As I write ice cream it sounds a bit plain, but it was a very rich, delicious variety. The whole experience was absolutely perfect.

Upon leaving the Hotel, we received our bill, were talked through any extras we put on our room, and were treated just as we were on arrival. We left feeling that not only had we got a good deal anyway, we had found the deal of the decade, as although the Hotel was great, the service is what made it that little bit more... perfect.

I cannot recommend this Hotel enough, I will be going back at some point :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeromeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We got married here in November 2010 - the attention to detail, service, food and the atmosphere was first class - we would not have a single complaint from the initial booking of our wedding through to the day itself, we would highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

From check in, where you get a glass of punch to relax after your journey, to the birthday suprise for my fiancee when we got to the room, this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and all because of the simple old fashioned customer service that we received from start to finish..... Without being over-the-top, the service was sincere and spot on.

The rooms are very trendy so wont suit people who are looking for very traditional surroundings. Also, it is a little outside of Galway so if you are looking for lots of nightlife, you are better off booking in Galway City....

However, if you are looking for a little bit of rest from city life in a trendy hotel where customer is obviously at the heart of what they do, The Twelve is the place...I could not recommend it more.... and I'm choosy...!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TK21_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed at the Twelve last weekend and found the whole experience excellent. We had booked a suite as a treat and when we arrived we were shown the two different suites available and given the choice of either, nice touch. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who offered us complimentary ice tea. We ate in the hotel restaurant and although I ordered the wrong dish this was also excellent. On departure we were offered free take away coffees from the hotel bakery. A most enjoyable stay and we will return. One tip if you are visiting, the pub across the road sells one of the best pints of Guinness ever.

Room Tip: Suites are very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

The atmosphere, service, quality and value for money was all exceptional.

Every finishing touch was thought of and we couldn't have asked for more. The staff were very pleasant and professional. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The food in the West restaurant was exceptional and equally as nice in the Pins Bistro.

We will be recommending The Twelve to all of our family and friends and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were directed to The Twelve by a local as we were travelling and needed overnight accommodation. It was a little more upmarket than we had planned, but worth every dollar. We were made very welcome on arrival and every staff member we met was welcoming. Room was large, comfortable, free Internet and an amazing bathroom, even offering mood lighting! Great service for breakfast; good secure parking. Would have liked to have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Our visit was last minute but based on word of mouth reviews, I booked The Twelve hotel. I have to say I was disappointed to see the hotel positioned on a crossroads in the middle of a small but busy village BUT... the absolutely wonderful customer care certainly compensated for this. I phoned the previous evening to advise I was a strict vegetarian & if I could be accomodated at the West Restaurant. Due to many previous experiences, I expected minimum effort (if any) to accomodate me. I'm used to being seen as a freaky eater// hindrance. I have to commend the Staff of The Twelve. As I checked in (Good Friday evening ) the receptionist phoned a colleague who came to reception to read a specially created Vegan Menu., Dumbfounded was not the word Talk about being proactive & forward thinking!! I'm used ot rice stuffed Aubergines , Ratatouille & boring stirfrys. To be served Polenta with a Swiss Chard & herb blend, Quinoa & Veg risotto & a Rasberry sorbet for dessert was a first off in Ireland, This is the standard of excellant London Veggie restaurants . Well done Chef, Excellent work . OK...I'll move on from the food :-)
Our room had a full sized Bar in it, decent fridge. 2 Flat screen TV's, A couch, armchairs, massive bed, lots of light, gorgeous toiletries & was just lovely overall.
The staff in the breakfast room were lovely even though very busy. Again, the manager on duty then wa aware of my dietary need & didnt make me feel like a freak. I think table cloths to match the trendy Lime Green Aprons & napkins colours would set the room off beautifully.
Very busy bar on the Saturday night, a good sign oif locals frequent the place. Excellent PROPER cocktails, no substitute flavours, all fresh.
Overll ........Just GREAT !!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing