We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreams do come true!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dreams do come true!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We got married at The Twelve on the 30th September 2011 and we would recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue to book now!!! We travelled over to Ireland with 20 of our closet friends and family and all stayed at the hotel for 4 days. All the rooms are beautiful, especially the Suite X11 which we were upgraded to complementary for our Wedding Night. The service we received from day one of our enquires was second to none, the team at The Twelve are so helpful and friendly and they really did make our dreams come true, the wedding reception, food and wine were amazing and the service was outstanding, the staff really can't do enough for you ( A massive thanks to Fergus, Fiona and Catherine ) We will never forget our special memories of the day and we will see you again next year x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Twelve! The staff were courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Little touches like hot fruit punch on arrival and a chocolate treat in the room were much appreciated. We stayed in a suite, total luxury at a very reasonable price. This hotel doesn't show up on a tripadvisor search for Galway, just Barna, which is a shame as it is so much nicer and only a few minutes' drive from the city centre. A perfect location from which to explore the beautiful sites of Connemara too. Great for families, couples and girly weekends away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaJb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Atlanta,
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your recent stay at The Twelve. We are all delighted you had a wonderful time here and enjoyed all of our little extra touches. We really try to go the extra mile to ensure our guest's experience so much more than they would in other hotels. There is so much choice out there, so it is a privilege to have had you stay with us.

Yes, we do not show up on Trip Advisor searches for Galway. I have had many debates with T.A. regarding this, but they are determined to box us into Barna as a destination as if it is a city next to Galway city. It is a real shame because as you have stated many people will not discover us.

Maybe if they are listening, things might change...
Very best wishes,
Fergus and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ennistymon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Went to twelve(first timer)with mixed group of 8.Everyone in group delighted with occasion.Service all through excellent,cuisine most pleasing and not to mention fab wine.Great entertainment on the nights we stayed and bar staff/restaurant staff a real pleasure and professional.Rooms very comfortable and excellent facilities within.There was Sky sports in rooms but available in bar.If it had a pool it would have been lovely and would then be hard to beat.Excellent rates for our stay and all of group will venture back in future

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donieennistymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I am bridesmaid for my sister and we booked this hotel for her hen weekend. The reason we booked it was we heard great reviews on it. Please please please dont let the fact that they allow hen parties put you off staying there. they put all us hens on one corridor so that we wouldnt disturb any other guests. I would definitely stay here again whether it was for a hen, romantic weekend, or with friends. stunning hotel, and the service was just outstanding. every single member of staff were a joy to deal with. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noli74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Amazing hotel. Could not fault it. Reservations so so helpful, Reception Staff very friendly and efficient. The Manager took us to our room which was upgraded to Suite XII complementary. We had booked the funnymoon suite. Suite XII was beautiful. There was also a bottle of prosecco and strawberries complementary in our suite too and a card wishing my husband a happy birthday. We had a delicious meal with 4 other family members in West, we all loved our food. Our waiter was so polite and friendly. We had a really relaxing few drinks in the bar, great atmosphere in the bar and the entertainment was great. Breakfast was to order and cooked perfectly. Best hotel in Ireland! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaniedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I booked a weekend two night package at The Twelve as a birthday surprise present for my husband. All I can say is - there needs to be a new award category invented for this hotel. It has already won a lot of awards all of which it totally deserves and no doubt will add a few more to its collection fairly soon.

From the moment we stepped through the door we just knew we'd made the right choice in picking The Twelve. The décor is beautiful which almost effortlessly caters to all tastes (which is an achievement in itself !).

We were upgraded to the Luxury Suite free of charge after Samantha promptly checked us in and gave us a welcome drink. There was a lovely handwritten card and shortbread with strawberries dipped in chocolate in our suite on arrive. This was just one example of the extra touches that makes for great memories long after you leave The Twelve Hotel - which we did very reluctantly.

The wet bar in our room also a nice additional extra (would be great for small parties/hen night).

The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and all of them exude that rare quality of people who genuinely enjoy their jobs.

We ate in "The West Restaurant" on Saturday night which was very busy but that didn't affect the level of service. There was a hen party, a few local groups celebrating a birthday and a few other couples like us enjoying a quite weekend away. The atmosphere was great. It is rare for a restaurant to be able to cater so excellently to each different dining group but at The West everyone genuinely appeared to be really enjoying their dining experience and all left with smiles on their faces. Dinner was included in our package so I was expecting to perhaps be limited to the choices that might be available but this was not the case as we could choose anything which was somewhat of a difficult choice to make in the end. The Menu caters for all tastes and the wine list has won some serious awards.

The bar downstairs has a great cocktail menu too and a big flat screen TV so there's something for both the boys and girls and local entertainment on weekends too.

The seaweed bath which can be ordered in the privacy of your own room is highly recommended. The mood lighting in the bathroom which gently flows from red, yellow, blue and white is yet another example of an "extra touch". The therapist - Evelyn (who was wonderful!) set up the seaweed spa bath for my husband before whisking me away to "The Petit Spa" for a massage which I can only describe as being totally blissful due partly to the extra reflexology and head massage at the end. Heavenly !

The Twelve really is a lovely relaxing haven in a beautiful location. Be sure to get out for a walk (you may even meet Seamus the local donkey if you're lucky).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have just returned from my sisters hen party where we stayed at the twelve hotel in barna and what can i but this was a hens with a difference. I have never been compelled to write a review before but this hotel and the service and value for money was truely exceptional that i could not wait to put fingers to keyboard!!

There were 13 of us in total and everyone of us could not fault our stay or experience and I know as I write this - this should be counted as 13 individual reviews and not one. Im speakig on behalf of us all!

From the moment arrive outside this beautiful boutique hotel, you get hit with the smell of the sea immediately and it awakens your senses and you feel exhilarated. You then make your way to check in and during check in your greeted very personally , by a very friendly face and a refershing chilled iced tea... ( from here I will share with you as much as I can about the rest of our experience)

We then got checked into our rooms - as we waited for the key to recognise us and let us in i knew this was going to be good - the decor was very contempory with big mirrors dotted throughout and there were plush carpets on every floor. When we got into the rooms we had a very bathroom with mood lights, rain showers. The beds were ultimate luxury and decor was fabulous!! My room was a suite and had its own wet bar, fridge, cabinets , microwave , seating areas and L shaped sofas for us all to meet ( perfect for those bottles of bubbly at the start of the night and at the end of the night when all the pubs/clubs were shut) - this room was complimentary for the bride to be!!! All i can say is WOW!! pure treat! Also in the room was a hand written card to both my sister and me wishing her a wonderful hens party and that if there was anything at all that could be done not to hesiate to contact them. Again so personal and now memrobilia for my sister.

In Everybodys room they left a slice of homemade shortcake with strawberries dipped in dark chocolate - for all us girls again such a treat and a fabulous start for all!!

On the first night we ate in the pub across the road Donnellans - I would highly recommend this restraunte aswell - I love seafood and this is definately their forte - but they also cater for all kinds of tastes aswell so its not just fish but if you like fish - you will love theirs - its a lovely quaint pub with a homely and friendly atmosphere. This was perfect for us to enjoy a nice bite to eat before heading out into the city center which was only 15mins by taxi ( whih was also ordered for us with utmost ease)

On both mornings brekfasts were included as part of our package and beileve me nothing is more worth getting out of bed for than for this brekfasts! There have cereals then croissants, pan au chocolats (all freshly made from the award winning bakery part of the hotel) fresh juices, pancakes and bacon, eggs benedict... you name it made to order. The man who serves us that we say chop chop to as is one of his favourite words could not do enough - all of us served together and the service was excellent and food utterly scrumptious!!!!

Later that day again in the hotel we had cocktail lessons with Vic - again the lesson is included in the package but not the coctails themselves - Vic was full of hints and tips, So much fun, so friendly and nice and we had an absolute ball - making the cocktails all dressed in our hula costumes and floral necklaces we all really did feel like we were on our holidays.

As the cocktail lesson ended Marcin let me know he was there ( yes again in the hotel and part of our package) - Marcin is the name of the sound engineer man to let us know that he was here and for us to bring our drinks up to the boardroom where were were going to ... wait for it... record our song!!! ( this was the activity that I chose for my sisters hen) to say this was one of the funniest days of my life is an understatement - poor marcin should have brought earplugs there were so many of us off key and out of rhythm he could not help but laugh and we drank our tears laughing!!! We got there in the end and it was a wrap!!! hiugs all round!

After the recording we had time for a quick change into our finest for dinner which was held in their fine dining restraunt. This was a set type of menu but there really was so much choice too to cater for all. Thne restraunt called' the west' was elegant and stylish - we had large deep and dark booths and even the menus had printed on the " for the lady in waiting" again everyone was so impressed and touched at the hotels efforts! The meal was also included in our package and was gourmet to the highest standard!!! everyone had starters, mains and desserts and could not get over just how gorgeous everything was!!! Again a foodies haven!!!

After dinner we were all told to make our way to reception were we could all get together and then make our way into their bar - as we made our way into the bar our song recording was played over their tannoy system and all of the girls were laughing so hard at the sound of us singing terribly being played for all the poor guests to hear and the bride cringed ( in a good way)- again taxis were ordered for us with no fuss to go back into the city.

Upon checkout again the staff were so nice, friendly and interested in everyone individually that it was so pleasnat and refreshing for everyone - and to finish our stay each of the girls were give vouchers for complimentary tea. coffee or hot chocolate for the jouney back to dublin!! Another very personal and lovely touch to finish our stay.

From start to finish everything was excellent, the girls at reception, the service men, bar staff and cleaning staff.

This hotel caters to your every need and prides itself on personally interacting with its guests! The hotel did not discrimnate against us the fact that we were a group and that there were so many of us - the hotel treated us exactly the same as if we were a couple or a family.

This hotel is perfect for families and couples the same and caters for all breaks be it romantic or for nature lovers and explorers.

My sister told me on our way back that this was the best weekend she has ever had in her whole life and i have to say me too!!!

I could not encourage enough hen parties, girly breaks, couples and families from all differennt ages and walks of life to go to this hotel if you want to be guaranteed a very special stay !!!

Thanks you the Twelve for making this hen party truely spectacular and for making my sisters dreams come true in deliverying the hen party she has always dreamed of making it so special for her and those closet to her.

Room Tip: Every room is to a very high standard but if there is anything particlular you require just speack t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing