We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

Recently stayed at the Twelve for 3 nights, was worried my expectations might be too high after reading reviews here but The Twelve didn't disappoint, it is all about friendliness, comfort and glorious food! On our arrival there was a lovely handwritten card in our room along with chocolate strawberries and cake - totally unexpected and delicious! Fresh coffee percolator in room also. Restaurant quite good with great pastries and pancakes available for breakfast as well as the traditional options. Can't praise this hotel enough but if one thing stands out it's the really friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere - if you go you'll enjoy it, I'm sure!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    355
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
321
925
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

This hotel is a gem. I live in Galway myself but we wanted a night away for our anniversary and couldn't travel too far. Being familiar with Barna, I knew that it would be a nice place for a stroll and an easy walk to the beach.

The hotel room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was outstanding and I truly enjoyed the bathtub! We ate dinner upstairs and through no fault of the staff, there was a large party who were finishing up. It was a family event and there were a lot of children. They were noisy, annoying and loud. The adults were worse! Again, the staff were apologetic and offered us a complimentary dessert for the noise. I heard that later this group of rowdy young teens caused havoc in the hotel. They should've been asked to leave.

The bar is a pretty local crowd. The trendy rich folks who live in Barna were all in attendance. The drinks were tasty and delivered quickly and with a smile.

It was truly a romantic dinner. The room service breakfast could've been better in terms of portion size, but it was lovely!!

Will definately stay again!

  • Liked — The rooms were amazing.
  • Disliked — Breakfast was disappointing.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anahita06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

The Twelve hotel was fabulous. The staff, accommodations, dining was just fabulous. Would highly recommend and will return someday.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GOGOGRANDMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Twelve. Rooms are very tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed, ipod station, flat screen tv and dvd player, also i can't rave enough about the beautiful products in the bathroom, the shampoo, conditioner, showergel etc are all made from hand harvested seaweed and smell divine! We discovered a great seafood restaurant just a two minute walk from the hotel call O' Grady's on the pier where we enjoyed a delicious meal overlooking the Atlantic and afterwards back to the cosy & comfy bar for a few drinks! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

Just returned from my third visit this year and I love it more and more each time. Staff are fantastic and the rooms are wonderful. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Liked — Comfy bed and coffee maker!
  • Disliked — Lack of lighing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2007

This was the second time I had stayed in the hotel. The first time was shortly after it opened and we were very taken with the rooms, the welcome and the staff.
We wondered at the time whether this would last and I promised myself I would try it again when they had been running for a while and in a fairly busy season.
Having looked up the internet and found various different prices I contacted the hotel directly and found that the cheapest option.
The welcome is really warm, nice welcome note and pack in the room which is really spacious and beautifully decorated.
Wonderful baked goodies etc and lotions etc in the bathroom organic and refreshing.
I couldn't praise it enough! It is located about a 10 min drive from the city centre and is ideal for the Connemara area and trips to the Aran Islands.

  • Liked — Welcome, rooms and general decor
  • Disliked — nothing really except perhaps not many Irish staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayoMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing