We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My partner and I stayed in The Twelve for two nights and were very impressed. We booked a "Super Splendid Guest Room" online, but upon arrival were told we had been upgraded to a suite - presumably due to a booking error. The suite was incredible (and bigger than some studio apartments in Dublin!). The bed was super king size, the furnishings and decor were modern and muted, and everything was immaculate. The seating area contained two sofas and we opened a large "cupboard" to discover a wet bar, with fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker and a great selection of beers and treats - and even a small bottle of Absolut vodka (very tempting until we saw the price). There were two plasma TVs, an iPod dock/alarm clock, and robes and slippers for our stay (you could buy a robe if you liked it enough - but it was very expensive at 60 euros). There were even chocolates and a personalised greeting card from the receptionist welcoming us to the hotel.

The bathroom was huge and there were disabled facilities, organic seaweed toiletries from Voya and lashings of hot water. We had one minor quibble and that was with the shower - it was designed in a "wet room" style, and that's exactly what the whole bathroom became, due to insufficient drainage. The entire floor was one huge puddle. A stern lesson for leaving my robe on the floor, perhaps - it was sopping wet when I'd finished my shower.

We didn't try the West restaurant because the menu didn't appeal to us, but The Pins bar and bistro was wonderful. The environment was relaxed and cosy, the crowd convivial and the menu large and varied (I can recommend the pizza, and the pork and herb sausages - all were cooked to perfection and delicious, as were the huge starters). There was a good selection of beers and wines, and some great cocktails. The breakfasts were brilliant too - yogurt, cereal, juice, scones and pastries, coffee and tea, and that was just to start; there was a hot breakfast as well, with the full Irish fry-up or eggs done however we liked.

In short, The Twelve is a lovely boutique hotel - very stylish, friendly and comfortable. It opened in March 2007 and everything still feels very new and fresh. Cab fares from the hotel into the city varied between 13-16 euros - but if you have a car or are prepared to travel a little, the hotel is well worth the effort.

  • Liked — The decor, the huge comfortable bed, The Pins bar and bistro
  • Disliked — The insufficient drainage in the bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABookishBeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    363
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
335
940
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

As I am in the fabric business I was keen to stay at this boutique hotel on my recent visit to Galway.
I can honestly say for the money (dinner, b&b less than £100)this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I had a huge double bed with a superbly comfortable mattress, egyptian cotton covers. great bathroom with really funky lighting, girlies will love the toiletries.
Mini bar very well stocked with some unusual beers and wine. Green and Black choccies, oh yeah and you get a plate of five complimentary belgian chocs in your room when you arrive.
Ipod docking station was a quality touch, great to have an alarm clock that wakes you with your own selection from your music library.
FREE wifi internet access, although I am told in some rooms the signal isn't too strong.
The restaurant is only open Thurs-Sunday and as I visited on a Wednesday I ate in the bar. That said I had a sirloin steak that was perfection. It was cooked exactly as I asked and service was excellent.
i had one minor irritation but Fergus the manager sorted that swiftly and I got a complimentary pint of Guinness to say sorry.
Breakfast is unreal, I have to say you won't eat it all if you have a full irish fry up, take a team of sherpas and a flag to put in the top!!!

Georgina on reception was incredibly welcoming especially good when you have driven three hours from Dublin in wind, rain, snow and not the best roads in the world.

Make a point of staying here if you don't mind being a bit out of town, the village is about fifteen minutes from Galway city centre.

I already can't wait for my next trip to the Emerald Isle

  • Liked — Luxury add ons, ipod, minibar choice and superb food and atmosphere
  • Disliked — I wasn't there longer
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TannedTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Recently stayed at the Twelve for 3 nights, was worried my expectations might be too high after reading reviews here but The Twelve didn't disappoint, it is all about friendliness, comfort and glorious food! On our arrival there was a lovely handwritten card in our room along with chocolate strawberries and cake - totally unexpected and delicious! Fresh coffee percolator in room also. Restaurant quite good with great pastries and pancakes available for breakfast as well as the traditional options. Can't praise this hotel enough but if one thing stands out it's the really friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere - if you go you'll enjoy it, I'm sure!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

This hotel is a gem. I live in Galway myself but we wanted a night away for our anniversary and couldn't travel too far. Being familiar with Barna, I knew that it would be a nice place for a stroll and an easy walk to the beach.

The hotel room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was outstanding and I truly enjoyed the bathtub! We ate dinner upstairs and through no fault of the staff, there was a large party who were finishing up. It was a family event and there were a lot of children. They were noisy, annoying and loud. The adults were worse! Again, the staff were apologetic and offered us a complimentary dessert for the noise. I heard that later this group of rowdy young teens caused havoc in the hotel. They should've been asked to leave.

The bar is a pretty local crowd. The trendy rich folks who live in Barna were all in attendance. The drinks were tasty and delivered quickly and with a smile.

It was truly a romantic dinner. The room service breakfast could've been better in terms of portion size, but it was lovely!!

Will definately stay again!

  • Liked — The rooms were amazing.
  • Disliked — Breakfast was disappointing.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anahita06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2008

The Twelve hotel was fabulous. The staff, accommodations, dining was just fabulous. Would highly recommend and will return someday.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GOGOGRANDMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Twelve. Rooms are very tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed, ipod station, flat screen tv and dvd player, also i can't rave enough about the beautiful products in the bathroom, the shampoo, conditioner, showergel etc are all made from hand harvested seaweed and smell divine! We discovered a great seafood restaurant just a two minute walk from the hotel call O' Grady's on the pier where we enjoyed a delicious meal overlooking the Atlantic and afterwards back to the cosy & comfy bar for a few drinks! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Just returned from my third visit this year and I love it more and more each time. Staff are fantastic and the rooms are wonderful. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Liked — Comfy bed and coffee maker!
  • Disliked — Lack of lighing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,000 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,718 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
300 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing