We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a first floor room overlooking the parking lot. No view but not much noise either. Room was very nice and the food we received as part of our package was amazing. Every single staff person was super friendly and the overall atmosphere was nice. The wifi signal in our room was only fair so it was spotty but we had no trouble in the main hotel areas. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarbshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ovens, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

After the difficult choice which room to take on the friendly homepage of the Twelve hotel, we already had high hopes and expectations in this hotel. As we then arrived we were greeted so friendly and openly by Samantha and we already knew that this was going to be an extraordinary stay. The biggest surprise was then that we were in fact upgraded to the XII suite, the top suite of the hotel. It couldn't have been better, we felt on top of the world. The suite was just beyond our dreams, especially this was so much above our usual price range and this trip was meant to be our little escape from home, but it was so much better than we could have ever hoped for.
The Twelve hotel is in every sense the perfect hotel, the suite was so amazing with the jacuzzy, the amazing bed, the luxorious decor and just the whole feeling of it. Just perfect. Little details like the handwritten greeting card and the gorgeous little cake-thing that greeted us into the suite and just the joy of once in a lifetime being actually upgraded was just amazing.
Barna is a lovely little village with a nice beach access and a surprisingly good choice of eateries and restaurants. Small but very nice. We didn't go to the West restaurant in the hotel but we had our dinner in the fabulous The Twelve Pines bar downstairs where we had an affordable but delicious meal and very good wine in a great atmosphere.
I could go on and on about how amazing this stay was and how well we were treated and welcomed in this great hotel. We will gladly be back at one point, everything was just perfect for us. Thanks again so much to the crew of The Twelve (especially Samantha) for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably of top quality, only depending on budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 3 nights. It was my husband's 40th Birthday. When we got to our room, there was a lovely card written by staff welcoming us and a birthday greeting for my husband. They also left a plate of beautiful shortbread and chocolate strawberries etc for us. The room was beautiful and so spacious. We had dinner in The West Restaurant in the hotel which was amazing. The service was great too. They even sang Happy Birthday to my husband and half the restaurant joined in. The breakfasts are excellent also with so much to choose from. Friendly service there too. The bar staff were so nice to us and we had great chats with them at night. We also met some of the locals there too. The receptionist when checking out couldn't have been nicer. I think her name was Sam. We were sad to leave but couldn't leave without taking home some of the delicious bakery food with us. All in all we had a great stay and are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Staying in the Galway area, take a short ride to Barna and enjoy the bar at the Twelve Hotel. Special bar menu that will take you some time to make a selection because of the most incredible offerings. Service was great and the food did not disappoint. Truly a great hotel bar....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for one night with our baby eh route to the Aran islands. We were upgraded to a larger suite which was great. We loved the food and the area of the restraunt was generally open and inviting to all including passer bys. Lovely to see mix of locals and tourists always a good sign. My Partner found the early morning truck deliveries noisy from our bedroom which faced out on to residential estate. We though the public toilets needed servicing in the morning. Vital things in the women's toilets, the sanitation units, needed to have been emptied as they were overflowing from the night before obviously. Still we would stay again. I really liked bearna.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

great food, great choice of beer. Really nice place to spend a night the rooms were ok, not amazing and I found the lack of people on reception a little annoying.
All in all recommend it for food and a good choice of beers, not blown away with the hotel, but no real complaints!

Good location Barna is small but worth a look for the night!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurochamps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Everything about our 3 night stay in the twelve was 5 star & 1st class. The staff are so friendly & welcoming and will do anything they can to help & please. Our family room was huge; spotlessly clean and luxuriously furnished. The beds are so comfortable, there is no noise and we all slept wonderfully. The food was brilliant - we all agreed that this hotel served the best breakfasts of our 3 week around Ireland trip. The meals at night were also delicious. The children also loved this hotel...despite being labelled as a boutique hotel the style is very laid back & informal. I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough to all travellers, the location is fantastic for all the sight seeing. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecondHoneymooners10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing