We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are wonderful, lighting is dim” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff are wonderful, lighting is dim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed two nights in a superior room. The décor is mostly dark brown though-out and the lighting is very dim, particularly in the corridors and stairwell. I have found this to be quite typical of boutique hotels, which seem to cater to a younger clientele rather than the middle-aged demographic. We didn't try the restaurants as we went into Galway and to the lively pub across the street, but breakfast was very good. The staff are very friendly and attentive. My only real complaint was that there was no mirror located near the plugs that accommodated hair-styling appliances.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my Wife in mid June as my daughter was in Irish School for 3 weeks. We were given a lovely room of good size, decent bathroom and tv etc. Had breakfast on two mornings and the standard and quality is up there with the very best. Good atmosphere here and what really struck me was how kind, attentive and friendly each and every one of the staff were. I found the whole experience very laid back and was sorry to leave. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Twelve Hotel when on honeymoon in August 2013. Our stay was made extra special by all the little touches. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member at reception who explained everything really well (we were on a bed+dinner+breakfast deal). There was a lovely little cake on arrival to our room and the staff were always friendly and attentive. My wife sprained her ankle and we asked if they had any ice we could use - the reception staff were very kind, and within about 2 minutes the manager arrives with an ice pack. The room was absolutely amazing, we particularly liked the disco lights in the bathroom (colourful flashing lights you can turn on under the main mirror). Having a shower with disco lights was kind of cool.


Although the hotel and the room were beautiful, and dinner was excellent, it was the staff's commitment that made this stay most enjoyable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thgis hotel is slightly out of Galway....Its a very funky designed property which is getting a bit dated....the rooms are very dark...ours was purple....The isssue here is that the room was very hot and the only fresh air was obtained by opening the balcony door but all the rooms opened onto the same balcony with no divides so there e=was no security.Air con worked but gives me a sinus problem...so we endured a very hot room.

There was a wedding on and when my car alarm had to be deactivated presumably by drunken guests at two in the morning the hotel and car park was like a war zone....bodies in various states of inbreation broken glasses and bottles..inside lights had been ripped off walls glass shades broken in the corridor. All night there was shouting banging of doors by presumably the wedding guests and nobody seemed to be doing anything about it. I looked for night security when I went down to my car but there was nobody around. It needed somebody to get the whole guests behaviour under control for the benefit of the other guests.


The bistro and staff were to a one excellent...pity about the lack of control of the wedding guests.

Room Tip: Ask if theres a wedding staying and if they have beefed up night security to cope with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMSPIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Have been staying with friends nearby, they suggested this resteraunt as had promised to be coeliac friendly which was very true. They catered beautifully for my gluten allergic husband even made him GF chips. A treat he doesn't often get. Our food was also lovely. Been back again and just as good. Well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank troublesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent 2 nights midweek in the Twelve and loved it there, lovely warm welcome from Samantha and she give us an upgrade as we were celebrating our Wedding Ann and lovely welcome card and cake treat in the room on arrival..lovely touch...all the staff there were so friendly especially Derek at breakfast...food beautiful and great atmosphere at all times...only negative was our room was along a busy road so when we return which we hope to will definitely request quieter room which seem to be above the carpark at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of hotel above the carpark would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the Twelve Hotel for three nights in the last week and thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff, from the Receptionist to the Bar and Waiting staff are so friendly and pleasant and accommodating. The dinner in the Pins bar where we ate on two of the three nights, was excellent, as was the breakfast which was also served there. There is a very cosy and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel which makes you feel very comfortable and at home. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing