We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Twelve on Monday 21st October as we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary.On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and unknown to us we had been upgraded to a suite by our family what a lovely surprise!
We had a lovely chill out time at The Twelve and all staff we came across were extremely polite and professional.We had a very enjoyable meal that evening and we couldn't believe how busy it was for a Monday evening which created a great buzz we heard later it down to graduations locally.We had a very enjoyable stay and our breakfast was lovely.Keep up the good work we'll be back



Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michael joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Twelve Hotel seriously lets the Twelve Restaurant down. Food and service in the restaurant, including the breakfast, is really excellent. The staff are very good. Regretfully, the bedrooms leave room for improvement. The decor is worn and the room was cold/damp. The bathroom door was sticking to the floor. Could certainly do better.

Room Tip: In winter ask for the heating to be on before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay at The Twelve Hotel was perfect. My partner and I (and our dog) stayed for 3 nights in October. It was a surprise 30th birthday present from my partner. The hotel has a unique sense of character and the rooms are spacious and very high end. Having our dog with us made the stay even more special and being able to have him stay in our room was much better than worrying about him in the car overnight. The food in West was first class and all the staff throughout the hotel couldn't be more helpful. We honestly can't wait to stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are individually designed, do your research to see which room you want most ;-) A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neildalzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This place is a gem. The staff are really friendly and well turned out. They have the nicest uniforms I've seen in any food service business (something I suppose shouldn't matter but it does somehow). The food is really something special but the portions are a little small. In term of presentation and flavour it was top notch but I was left feeling hungry and I'm quite a light eater. I will be definitely going back. All considered it was a very enjoyable meal.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shmoostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel hav been way over my expectations. I've been here for a business trip as I had to visit a customer here in Galway and I couldn't ask for more. Rooms are big, quiet and really great looking. Breakfast was just perfect and the food served at the restaurant... well that's something you want to try! Way to go Hotel Twelve!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalmata22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night and had a lovely relaxing time. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and again very spacious. We had dinner in the west restaurant and found the service to be excellent. The food was to a very high standard and even though our meal was included in our stay we could choose 3 courses from the al a carte menu. Breakfast the next morning was equally good with a good choice outside of the usual fry. The bar was lively and had a good atmosphere. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were greeted by welcoming staff and warming non-alcoholic punch on arrival, which heartened us after getting caught in Galway city traffic. Staff had taken note of a special occasion we were celebrating and we enjoyed the shortbread provided. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Low lighting, though, with no option to increase it to normal levels of lighting (I've noted this in some other boutique hotels I've stayed in recently). A dimmer switch on a normal light would have been a bonus. However, this is only a small gripe in a wonderful stay. One technical hitch we experienced was resolved promptly and courteously by the excellent manager.
Dinner (included in our package) was outstanding. Quite simply the best food I've had in many months. The Pins gastro bistro was noisy and busy but that is to be expected during school holidays.
Breakfast the following morning was absolutely superb also, with made-to-order options like pancakes and eggs benedict. On checking out, we were given a voucher for free takeaway coffee at the on-site bakery next door. What an incentive to indulge in a freshly-baked treat! Naturally we indulged.
We will definitely be back and next time I'll be taking full advantage of the spa!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,856 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,030 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: £101 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing