We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gormout experience”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I went for dinner in the 12 on Saturday night 1st Feb 2014. Décor lovely on arrival. Soup just like I do at home and my partner did not like his starter. We ordered the steak platter for 2. Meat was fine but the chips were desperate, burnt and dry. We were given 3 small bad potatoes, dry parsnip and tiny bits of carrot between us,not enough for 2 people. It was disgraceful for the price. .I had to ask twice for cutlery. The coffee was fine. Desert menu poor, he had the ice cream
I am a customer in the bakery which is lovely but I will never go to the restaurant again for dinner. Olive

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Olive,
We are genuinely quiet upset that you did not enjoy your meal. What you have described is very far from our standard. I really wish you would have pointed this out on the night and we would have endeavoured to more than make it up to you.

Olive please ask for me the next time you are in our bakery shop. I would appreciate the opportunity to regain your trust in everything that we do.

With every kind wish,
Fergus and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife went for a stroll in the Barna woods after our walk we were peckish , went to the twelve for a fish and chips , OMG BEST FISH EVER ... We will certainly be going there again , the menu looked brilliant , customer friendly and you can also see the kitchen which is always a plus .. A1 food .

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Joeycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Starter minuscule and tepid, and expensive. My husband 's fish main had to be returned due to lack of fish and no scallops all for cost of 25 euro...it was returned with a couple of scallops and a pat on the back! It looked like they had run out of the fish we ordered. Staff attentive to start, and then lost interest, maybe because we complained about the main. Had to remind them of our cheese order. We are not moaners, but quality for value...to be fair they gave us complimentary sampling trays of desert drinks...but hand on heart from someone who loves food and restaurants...it did not deliver!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Widget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We went for a two-night B&B and one dinner mid-week stay, having been impressed with the comments and ratings on Tripadvisor. It turned out that the West restaurant was going to be closed at that time but we were rebooked for a few days later, when it was open, without any problem.
The underground carpark is very handy and we were given a very warm welcome at reception. We had a suite, which was excellent and slept well in a very large and comfortable bed.
On the first evening, we ate in the bistro and had a very good meal (and good value as well). On the second evening, we ate in the West restaurant along with friends and had a terrific evening, helped in no small measure by Matthieu, the sommelier, who was extremely pleasant as well as being very knowledgeable about the extensive wine list. The food was excellent as well.
All-in-all, we had a great time in the Twelve and will hopefully return again before long.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyandSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've stayed with at The Twelve on many occasions, our most recent visit in Jan 2014.

We love going back for many reasons. Hotels that maintain standards and service over many years are few and far between. The Twelve is one of them.

The location in Barna is great, the city within easy reach but far enough away from the bustle to feel relaxed.
Through the years the staff have remained friendly and efficient and willing to make you feel comfortable.
The rooms are corridors don't feel confined like many hotels. It all feels airy, warm and comfortable.
My wife had a spa treatment in 'Le Petit' spa when we arrived. You can have treatments in your room also. She thoroughly enjoyed it and it was an ideal way to kick off a relaxing break.

The food is superb. On this occasion we ate in the Pins bar. It’s a busy bar and restaurant full of locals and visitors. It was buzzing and it’s easy to see why. Fantastic pizza’s and selection of wines and beers to match as well as a cocktail menu. Not just the pizzas, the menu is all locally sourced and as fresh as you can imagine. I’m getting hungry thinking about it now.

And on last thing – fresh cooked breakfasts !

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Called into the Twelve yesterday for a late lunch following a 5 hour round trip to visit relatives. En route, I was dreaming of a nice gourmet burger. When we got there, there was none on the menu, but I asked if there was any chance I could have one. The waitress immediately said she would check with the chef and returned to say "no problem". We shared a delicious dough breads, with prosciutto and dips starter, I had the burger with homemade chips and my husband had the roast chicken. We finished up with a shared Baked Alaska and went home very happy bunnies! It was busy, great atmosphere, and the service second to none and the food was superb. My stand-out however is the "no problem" approach and very helpful and friendly staff. Well done!

Room Tip: We only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DetteGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We live in Barna and are regulars for weekend dinner/drinks at The Twelve. The food and the service has always been excellent so when we decided to get married late last year and were looking for an intimate venue that we could trust to provide excellent food and wine and great service there was only one option. Fergus and Samantha were a pleasure to deal with offering honest and helpful advice and replying quickly to any queries we had. The function room itself is intimate, self-contained and elegant and despite atrocious storms, lightning strikes and power cuts on the day itself the meal was outstanding and the service second to none.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LelaC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,857 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,034 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: £101 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing