We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great location and convenient for my travels that day. Room was quiet. Wifi awful, thank god I didn't need it. Bar and breakfast service polite and friendly. Don't like the reception area. Bathroom was a bit shabby, not impressed. I expected more at the Twelve.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank June166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear June,
Thank you for taking the time to.review us. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed everything despite some minor issues.

We have always offered free wi fi to our guests and have recently spent considerably in up grading the infra structure of this service. I will follow up to see why you would have had a problem with it.

And yes, the lobby is a matter of personal taste. We are very much a boutique, designer led property with a tremendous focus on Seasonal, Local, Organic, Wild food in our two award restaurants.

We would hope to exceed the majority of our guests' expectations. June, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet yours. I do hope that you will consider us again on your next visit.

Very best wishes,
Fergus and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having stayed here previously,I had forgotten what a gem this Hotel is until tonight. I dropped in after a drive for something to eat with my elderly Mother who has v limited mobility and dietary restrictions. The staff went out of their way to extend a warm welcome and accommodate our every and special needs.They were so patient and caring. Dominic was particularly good!
The food, service, ambiance, and value was exceptional. A really great experience. Don't hesitate to check it out- a real treat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeMo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed in The Twelve for one night last Sunday. The hotel is good but the experience was not without its faults. It may have been due to the room we were allocated.

We were in room 1263 which was a nice size and comfortably decorated, although there are signs of age in the bathroom with chipped wood on the bath and door. Also, one of the bath towels was very worn with age.

Main problems were with sleeping - firstly, the bed was two singles put together but I got over that. More disruptive was due to the neighbouring room. There is a porch with wooden floors which adjoins the two rooms. From about 8.45am there was a lot of noise. Several people passing through. A hoover being dragged over the door cill, laughing, talking etc… I was hoping for a late sleep, and had been given a 1.00pm check-out, but this really interrupted it and was very annoying. I was hoping it would be brief so didn't call down but unfortunately it continued so I just got up. At this stage I was already awake.

On check out, I asked the receptionist about this and she told me that room 1264 is the spa and that there was training on that morning. She said she was sorry and that she would let the spa know. The trainees/teachers/cleaners were very loud and this room shouldn't have been sold if there was an event happing next door very early the next day.

Aside from that the hotel is lovely, but I really wanted to sleep in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Roholo,
Thank you again for staying and for your overall very kind comments. I have p.m. you to personally apologise for the disturbance you encountered in the morning. This should not have happened and again I would like to apologise on behalf of our entire team at The Twelve.

Please do make it a point to return as I can assure you that there will never be a repeat of such an issue. I truly hope you will afford us the opportunity of proving thus.

With every good wish,
Fergus and all of the team at The Twelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

following a 2 night stay we were very impressed with the level of service, quality of the rooms and the food was amazing. They really value customers and will go out of their way to help. Only downside it is close to busy main Galway road but the upside is its a short stroll to the coast and only a 5 min drive from Galway and in a great location to spend a few days exploring Connemara. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiggsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here in April/May of 2013 with 2 friends. I have nothing but good words to say about this hotel.
We were welcomed with a drink at reception and a very friendly receptionist who booked us into our rooms.
The room was huge and amazingly decorated. The bed was so comfortable, best nights sleep in a long time.
The food in the restaurant was beautiful and the waiting staff where very friendly and we had a great laugh with one of the waiters. Great selection of food and the best breakfast menu i have seen in a hotel.
This hotel definitely lives up to its expectations.
Exactly as advertised on their site. Not a spec of dust. Very well Maintained and staff are lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel room is spacious, very friendly service, the bath though big and pretty is not very functional, the sink as well as the bath have the facet in odd locations and the soap/shampoo/conditioner dispenser should be located on the other side or on the other wall if the tub. The Pins restaurant has wonderful food and service, and the morning breakfast is lovely. If you are stopping for more than one night I also recommend checking out Donnelly's bar and restaurant across the way.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MexicoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived for business & foyer area decor is great especially liked the horse statute and the lighting. On arrival to the room had a hand written note welcoming me, a chocolate covered strawberry and biscuit. Great touch. My room was large with desk, chairs large mirror. Clean and decor again was good. The bathroom had changing coloured lights. Bed and pillows comfortable. We ate in the bar and my colleague dinner of fish was apparently very good. I am a vegetarian on a diet there was only one veg option and of course lots of pizzas which looked lovely but not suitable for my weight loss diet. Would like to see more vegetarian options. Service in bar area was slow, but staff friendly so didn't bother us to much. Breakfast was great. Would use again. Only downside was the wifi in the room and in part of the bar very weak which was annoying as needed it for work. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,367 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: £102 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing