We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return. Amazing destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return. Amazing destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just home from a mini break with my husband in the twelve hotel and it was sensational. From the minute we walked in to the time we checked out we were extremely well treated. All staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. The room was huge and had every luxury you could wish for. We were more than impressed with the handwritten welcome card and some chocolate strawberries and confectionary.
The bed was so comfortable and the shower was fantastic. There is a bakery, pizza shop, gastro pub, spa, restaurant and all were very well run. The freshly cooked breakfast each morning was Delicious and a huge selection to chose from.
It's located in a small village about ten minutes outside Galway city and would be prefect for a romantic weekend, family break or even a girls retreat because of its central location.
The hotel is a little on the expensive side but when you take into consideration what you will receive for the money, it's well worth it.
Over all, the weekend was extremely enjoyable and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alocindownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    355
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
322
925
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a birthday present for my girlfriend. I had mentioned this while booking and to our surprise, on arrival there was a nice handwritten birthday card from the manager in our room with treats from the bakery. Nice touch. The rooms were very cosy and the bed extremely comfortable. Only downside of the room was that it was on the main road which was a bit noisy in the mornings. The bathrooms were cool with some colourful mood lighting. The Voya products in the bathroom were a plus. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I dine at The Twelve regularly (on average once per fortnight) either with my wife or family group. We are never disappointed. The food quality is second-to-none and really is top notch restaurant quality food but in the more relaxed atmosphere of a lounge bar. While probably a little more expensive than "pub grub", you really can not consider the food here as "pub food", it is so much more. Depending on your hunger level and whether eating with children, you can order excellent gourmet pizzas from adjoining Dozzina or lovely seasonal and creative dishes from the main menu. The presentation is always exquisite and I have never had to complain or send anything back in the past 3 years. The decor is lovely - comfortable and contemporary. The staff are excellent too, very knowledgeable, efficient, friendly and accommodating. If only all restaurants could be this good!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was here recently on a sunday afternoon in march and it was very relaxing and enjoyable. It was very busy which seems to suit the atmosphere there although not too noisy if this makes sense so relaxing and lots of people watching. Food is very good here. I think I had the steak as I normally do and had no complaints. Will be back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for a weekend in the 'Funnymoon Suite' and enjoyed the luxury and style of the room and hotel. The staff are simply first class and the welcome and standard of service is second to none. A very busy hotel with plenty to attract everyone.

The only issues we had were with sleep quality. Our suite faced onto the main road and despite it being a relatively small road, the sound of cars and trucks passing was enough to wake you at times. We also were disappointed at the sound insulation between rooms. The room next door decided to have guests chatting until after five in the morning (their choice entirely), but this woke both of us frequently. A great standard of room, but we were happy to get back to our own bed afterwards.

Room Tip: The sound system in the Funnyroom suite only accepts iPhone products, don't bring an android!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked three twin rooms for a Saturday night as a group of reuniting lady friends. The rooms were lovely and clean, a good size and well-appointed from an amenity perspective. The only downside was the common areas in the hotel (downstairs bar/restaurant etc) were very cold. No fire was lit in the bar area and the external doors were regularly opened/closed by smokers thereby blasting cold air into an already chilly bar. This really was the only downside – the hotel is a tad tired and could do with some refreshing, but still has a lovely charm and is exceptionally clean. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs and the food was a very high standard with a lovely amuse bouche and decent bread/butters accompanying the meal. Cooked breakfast in the morning and the general breakfast buffet were also a very high standard. Staff were considerate, helpful and friendly and the complimentary coffee on check-out was a nice final touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Co. Meath
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had the pleasure in staying in a Junior Suite in the Twelve Hotel. An idyllic place to stay in an amazing town.

I have nothing but praise for the hotel, room and services. I will be back as soon as I physically can.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing