We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in a suite with 2 adults and 2 small children. Cannot fault the room, it was perfect. 2 single beds in one room, kitchen facilities (microwave, no cooker), king sized double in other room and big, clean, elegant bathroom. The most positive part of the stay was the receptionist who went out of her way to be helpful. We had quite a few questions/requests upon check in and she went above and beyond the call of duty, not just for us, but other guests. Breakfast was great, lots of selection. Slow service on the morning of the last day but they were busy... Could've done with more staff that morning. Even got a free take out coffee from the hotel bakery upon departure. Oh and they gave us children's dvd's whilst staying to entertain the kids. Would recommend and stay again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our anniversary. From meeting the receptionist who offers you iced tea to the perfect double room so comfortable and quiet. The restaurant bar is warm and inviting. All, the staff are friendly and helpful. A special mention for Siobhan who was very welcoming and has a great sense of humour!! The pizzas are made in a special oven imported from Naples and are perfect!
Imagine a hotel roo where everything works!! I always define a great hotel by it's staff and The Twelve is excellent.
Thanks to you all for making the stay so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We chose this hotel (based on other Tripadvisor reviews) for a 1 night stop over while touring around Ireland - happy to say it didn't disappoint. The room was a good size overlooking the car park, with air con so we didn't have to worry about windows being open and excessive noise. Staff very friendly. We had dinner in the pub restaurant and in my opinion it's the best fish and chips I've ever had. It's a short drive into Galway which means the area is not as busy (which we liked). Agree with other comments on the parking that the spaces are very tight. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N7S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment we walked in the door to the reception area we were warmly welcomed by the girl on the desk, Colette.She was so friendly and very efficient, she offered us some home made ice tea which was delicious! The hotel is GORGEOUS, and our room was amazing,so spacious and the were so comfy.All the staff were so friendly and very professional and looked great in their uniforms. We ate in the bar both nights and the food was delicious, also the freshly made pastries for breakfast were lovely! There was a great atmosphere and buzz about the place.Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aoibheann84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent one night in The Twelve. From the minute we stepped inside the hotel, we were made to feel so welcome. Everyone was most helpful and nothing was too much bother - including giving directions further out the road to Carraroe and beyond. The maps they printed out were a huge help for the local attractions. We ate in the hotel's restaurant that evening and the food was delicious. Despite the restaurant being packed, (always a good sign) the service was always prompt and friendly. The wine list was excellent.

There were four of us staying and we were in the Marvelous Family Suite. It was roomy and comfortable. The breakfast menu was excellent and the variety of choice very welcome, when there were picky eaters involved!

Would definitely stay at his hotel again if the opportunity arises. Fingers crossed, it does!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinEyespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwelveHotelGalway, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Dunlineyespy,
Thank you so very much for your glowing review and especially for your kind comments about our team. The Twelve has won 'The Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland ' for many years now so it is great to see you appreciate what we are about. We try hard to exceed expectations and it is wonderful when this is recognised.

It is great to see that you enjoyed our location. We are blessed with Galway city and Connemara on our doorstep. The Wild Atlantic Way has so much on offer for guests to our region and we are always enthusiastic about showing the hidden gems.

We look most forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from Fergus and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I visited The Twelve with my partner. We booked into the funnymoon suite. WOW! It was amazing, right from the front door in. The front of house girls were lovely and helpful. When we got to our room, we had a complimentary bottle of bubbly and some baked treats from the downstairs bakery. The room itself was gorgeous, it had a massive, comfortable bed with blackout curtains. A perfect romantic getaway. Im already planning my next trip home to Ireland and The Twelve is on our list.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sonya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are looking for a nice hotel to stay outside Galway city you could not find a better hotel than The Twelve. It's located in the middle of Barna a small town outside Galway city and is probably a better location than the city if you are intending exploring Galway west. The hotel is a small boutique hotel with funky decoration. Bedrooms also go along this theme with multi coloured lighting in all the bathrooms. The breakfast is good and they have a nice little bakery attached to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel highly and will stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room away from the road side of the building as you can hear the noise of tra...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOC834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,823 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: £102 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing