We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't even get the basics right”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Miserable experience when we went for breakfast this Sunday morning. From the brusque welcome by a white haired gentleman who warned that the kitchen was closing so we should order quickly to the tired chipped furniture and the curling edges of the menus everything about the Twelve was underwhelming. The food had clearly spent too much under the lamp and was greasy and lukewarm. The fried egg was burned and the poached egg had developed a hard skin on it.the toast was cold and the young wait staff looked harried. Dismal

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank jimsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwelveHotelGalway, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jimsir,
We are so sorry to read your review. This is by no means The Twelve experience.

Please do contact me directly. I want you to pop in again for breakfast and see everything in its true light.

I look forward to speaking with you and rectifying this.

Most sincerely,
Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Twelve is a relatively modern hotel and well appointed. Instead of being "sterile" as happens with many modern hotels Twelve was very friendly from reception through to bar and restaurant staff. Nothing was too much effort. We rang to say we were running late and the lady receptionist queried if we were hungry, "yes" we replied, "no problems I will let Chef no there will be 3 late meal orders" as we were arriving after the kitchen had closed. Food was great and delivered with a smile. All staff were good fun adding to the great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites / family rooms. The rooms were very dark but maybe that's part of the boutique hotel theme. They also felt a bit past their best and furniture was a little grubby in places.

However, the rooms were very clean, staff were pleasant and the food in the restaurant was excellent. It was a good base for us with the kids and if we were looking to go back to the area, we wouldn't rule it out. The room was quiet at night too which suited us fine (despite the bar being busy).

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank GT-MPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very good wood-oven pizza in relaxed upscale pub atmosphere. Friendly service and great food. The other more elaborate offerings coming out of the kitchen looked well worth a second visit and the calorie laden dessert pizza was greatly appreciated by the younger set in our group of 5. Excellent Zinfandel to accompany.... Still true that "Zin loves Pizza"

Room Tip: Didn't sleep here, but stopped for great food.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel itself was fine, rooms are comfortable. I had one envelope sent to the hotel containing 3 SIM cards. The hotel opened my envelope before I arrived and the proceeded to charge 25 Euro per SIM card as a handling fee. The items came in 1 package, but since there were three items inside the decided to charge 3 handling fees.

Homemade pasta was bland.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwelveHotelGalway, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Helen H,
Having waited a whole week in agony, I now find myself having to write this management response. In the meantime, as you know, I have spoken with you and contacted T.A. to have your review taken down or at least edited. You confirmed you would contact T.A. to have it removed based upon the mistake you made. Alas, an empty promise.

This mistake, I shall now clarify here in detail. It follows thus:
We were asked by your concierge company to procure 3 sim cards for you. We endeavored to do so.The phone company declined your credit card, thus we paid for the sim cards for you. The cost of the sim cards was a total of €60. On the instructions of your concierge, we were told to charge our expenses for this service. This amounted to a mere €15 for our combined travel to the phone shop, the time spent getting the cards and the VAT we paid on the transaction. In the end, it actually cost us to do this for you. The service we provided you actually cost us as opposed to what you have callously stated here. Furthermore, the lady on our team who took the initiative to do this for you and invested her time doing this is left feeling distraught. This is by no means fair and it is completely unacceptable.

She, and her name is Anna, actually went to the trouble to ensure each card was labeled for each of your 3 different mobile devices. That is why you package was opened at the phone shop.

It is behavior such as yours that bleeds the hospitality industry dry. Fortunately, it is somewhat rare. It is also such a shame that one would abuse T.A. in this manner and consequently directly affect our ranking which has dropped as a direct result of what you wrote.

Most sincerely,
Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had our wedding in the Twelve Hotel on the 4th of August, 2014 and it was the best day of our lives!
We live nearby and often visit the Twelve for food and drinks (which are always great) and when we decided to get married we never even thought about another place for our wedding. We knew that the food and atmosphere would be brilliant and that's all we wanted. We met up with Fergus (general manager) in February and he was very professional, accommodating, patient with us and very passionate about The Twelve, especially the food, wine and ambience, and he listened to us and knew exactly what we wanted. I won't drag about months of preparations but will fast forward to the day/night of the wedding :)
Everything on the day of the wedding went soooo smoothly: the ceremony, which we had there first, then the reception, followed by the dinner, band and dj. Every little step, every little touch was checked, double checked and performed to perfection by Fergus and his team. Dinner was so delicious, more like a fine dining experience rather than wedding. We had nearly 90 guests, a lot of them travelled from abroad, and everyone was raving about the food. My fillet of steak (and I d say at least another 70 of them) was just perfect, with beautiful vegetables and potatoes; from guests who had fish as main course I heard it was better than fish they had in O'Grady's on the Pier the night before. So big thank you to the chef for this perfection and deliciousness!!!
Service throughout the day/night was very friendly, prompt and efficient, so thank you very much to all the staff!
The night after the wedding we stayed in the Suite xii and it was very luxurious, spacious, hi-tech and well equipped, not to mention a massive jacuzzi bath, which we absolutely had to use the next morning :) Everything about this room is high end products: starting from toiletries (organic sea weed) and finishing with wine rack filled with full size bottles of the best of the world's wine. And of course the bed, which was super comfortable with expensive bed sheets and sumptuous pillows.
Our friends stayed for 3-4 nights in the hotel during the wedding and everyone said that the rooms (various types) are just beautiful, clean and very well equipped.
I could go on and on and on, I guess you can see that I have nothing but praise for the Twelve and of course we would like to say a special Thank you to Fergus and all of his team for making our wedding so perfect!
Few days after the wedding myself and my husband said that we wished we could do it all over again, without changing a thing, as it was really and truly perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadiasmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwelveHotelGalway, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Nadia and Donagh,
Thank you so very much for your wonderful words. Thank you so much for choosing The Twelve to begin with. Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your most special day.
And finally, Thank You for being the most beautiful bride ever.!!

With every good wish to you both,
Fergus and the entire team at The Twelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. We stayed for one night during race week so the hotel was busy. However, I would recommend it as a perfect hotel for family and friends. Staff were amazingly friendly and kind and the atmosphere was laid back but with great attention to detail.We booked the family room and it was really nice - clean and spacious with some really nice little touches - a decent coffee machine (hurrah) and a little cake and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphnebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: £102 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing