We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

stayed in the 12 for only 1 night but thought it was lovely ,with a nice friendly bar ,the rooms are 1st class and spotless. oh and the welcoming card and strawberrys in the room on arrival was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoover205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I have stayed in the Twelve once before and came back because it was so nice the first time around. Thankfully the hotel is still providing excellent value for money with ultra-stylish and highly comfortable rooms. This hotel is probably one of the best hotels in Galway. Their rooms are so nice and big, the staff are so nice and the food is excellent!

I would point out that their breakfast is not that good, perhaps it was just a bad weekend?

Keep in mind this hotel is about a ten minute drive from Galway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

10 mins drive from Galway City, The Twelve is situated in the quiet, charming village of Barna. We were blown away by this hotel. Despite having looked at its website before we booked. Its a gorgeous boutique hotel that really indulges the senses.
Our room was lovely and luxurious. Gorgeous big bed with the fluffiest pillows and a nice big flat screen tv, ipod dock, the mini bar was by FAR the best i've seen with beer, evian, choclate and a bottle of champagne making it all the more difficult to resist.
There were also champagne glasses, wine glasses and glass tumblers supplied, proper robes in the wardrobe and lots of other lovely touches.
We were greeted by Hassan who was very friendly and who checked us in promptly and directed us to our room. A lavsh breakfast was included in our room price and included a full buffet set up with delights from the onsite bakery and a breakfast menu.
The hotel was AMAZING. we also had dinner in the west restaurant on the first evening with does a special 3 courses for €25 per person including a delicious coctail from the bar. I will definately go back here again and cant wait to book.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolls_holls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was a 2 day stopover with our dog. The staff were lovely and remained so throughout our stay. We had a suite and although it was well furnished, decor chic, on closer inspection we noticed that the lamp in the lounge was not working, the shaving mirror was broken and the light bulb in the bathroom was not working. We called room service and it was attended to promptly.
The bathroom shower area was broken and leaked as the rubber sealing had come away from the floor.
The bakery that was advertised as as being open had closed down, they really should remove all marketing around that, as we went on the day we left to pick up supplies, but found it had closed.
Positives- great staff, very good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

After reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor I was convinced that some where fake but after staying for the Sat & Sunday of the August weekend I believe them to be true.

We had a suite for the two days and used it as a base for Connemara which was perfect. The village itself is a non event but the bakery and the coffee shop in the village were very good. There was a very nice looking restaurant also in the town which we never got to.

The hotel is good and the rooms funkily decorated. The bar is big and lively but we didn't spend too much time there as my wife is pregnant. We did spend an evening in there restaurant which was very nice and would recommend it as well as lunch and breakfast in the pins. Food were very good. One thing don't bother with room servce breakfast which was nothing to write home about and parking wasn't great as it seem a lot of people in for a pint taking up residents parking spaces.

Overall a good hotel and would recommend it for all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackofEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Recently stayed in this lovely hotel, it's quite funky and I loved the decor. It's on the main street in Barna, great place to base yourself in Glaway, on the coast but not far from the city. Bedrooms are lovey and they can provide you with a seaweed bath in your bedroom..very relaxing! We ate across the road in a small pub/restaurant, food was ok there. Breakfast in the hotel was fine. I would return to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlandais
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We went to see a show in the Galway Arts Festival and decided to stay up in Barna to get out of the city, and away from the throngs. Delighted we did too. We got a quiet, clean suite which had a second party-type room attached with a bar, should we fancy a nightcap on our return. Before going to town, we had a meal in the hotel restaurant. That was so good, it almost kept us from making the show. The menu offers good variety, meat and fish dishes with a native/ local edge, including platters to share. The wine list appears to have won every international award possible, so we took advice and were easily and well led. All staff we came across did the place proud.
The Twelve comes over effortless and cosy, and we will return to use it as a base again, perhaps not even leaving the premises next time. Although I'm told that just down the road at the pier, there is another wonderful restaurant called O'Grady's...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyIrlandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing