We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Bunny was a big hit”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Athlone
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easter Bunny was a big hit”
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Stayed at Easter with the children, in a marvellous suite which was perfect as it meant the kids had their own room and tv off our room. The hotel lent free of charge dvd's so great to let the kids watch, while we had a lie in! The Easter bunny came on Sunday and planted choc money around the hotel that the children had to find. Then the bunny gave them a personalised certificate of how much they had collected and a personalised bag of Easter treats. it was unique and the children loved it. An awful lot of time and trouble had been put into it, especailly as there were only about 12 children staying.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    367
    104
    38
    14
See reviews for
342
951
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Spent a lovely weekend here as a weekend escape from Dublin. The room was a great size but too dark in my opinion. Some bright ceiling lights would be good. Also, some pictures on the walls may soften the interior. Perhaps local artists? Ate in the bar on the first night and West restaurant on the second - fabulous food and brilliant service in both - couldn't fault either. Breakfast was nice. Would prefer pots of yoghurts rather than bowlfuls with spoons and i thought it was a shame there was not more choice of bread from the fantastic on site bakery. All hot food ordered was delicious. Location is nice as close enough to Galway city but on the coast. Drove up to Connemara National Park which was beautiful as the sun was shining. Looking forward to coming back soon....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed for one night midweek with our 6 week old baby- we got a fantastic deal with dinner included and found standards were high in every respect- friendliness, service, food, room all were really good. The place is beautiful and obviously alot of effort has been put into decor and furnishings but it is nice that atmosphere is not too cool or trendy as can be the case with some 'boutique' hotels. I think the hotel manages well to maintain a warm friendly, relaxed atmosphere while maintaining very high standards and that is a rare and commendable quality! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saoileile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Booked last minute for a Sunday night stay and got a great rate including breakfast. Received complimentary treats on arrival. The room was perfect for a leisure stay and I made good use of mood lighting n the bathroom and had a lovely soak. The room was kind of 'boudoir' style and it made a great change from your typical hotel fit out.

We ate in the bar and the food there is great - we had eaten in the bar before and it was still good quality and affordable prices. The do offer a 'special' menu in the restaurant for 20 euro (2 courses) and I will definitely try that the next time.

One good feature about the rooms is that they are not directly on the main corridor and this definitely gives a good sense of privacy.

the breakfast the next morning was top notch, with a choice of cereals, yogurts, pastries and also included a cooked breakfast - which was very good and extremely generous.

If I had to pick holes - the room overlooked the car park and maybe that could be noisy but it wasn't on a Sunday night.

Will definitely be returning and I appreciated the 'little' extras the hotel included... it seemed personal.

Overall very good value for money, good quality and the hotel certainly makes an effort!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Very nice hotel. Staff pleasant. Excellent food. Rooms clean, and well presesnted. Ample parking facilities good location

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW2010Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I chose this Hotel as I had seen so many good reviews and I have to say it lived up to all my expectations and more! The décor of the entire Hotel is fantastic so modern and funky, The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. We ate in the Pins Bar and West Restaurant both where delicious and such good value as well for the quality you receive. The staff were so friendly and always on hand if you needed them. I will definitely be returning to The Twelve Hotel very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollie-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We had high hopes for this hotel after it had been recommended to me by a friend.
Check in was ok and when we entered our room my daughter was delighted with what she found! We stayed in a Marvellous Suite, as we travelled with 2 children, one a baby. On first glance the room was nice, to me it looked like a standard room with abit of fancy wall paper on the walls. On closer inspection, and throughout our 2 night stay we noticed more things that didn't work/fit into place. First thing is, as stated in other Tripadvisor reviews, the rooms are very dark. There is one spot light in the room beside the door, and the rest of the lightening comes from lamps (one of which wasn't working). The lighting was even worse in the second room, again one spot light and 2 lamps.
The bathroom was nice, but the tap made a really loud sound when turned on and if you didn't put the pressure up enough, the water nearly didn't make it into the sink the way it was positioned. We were afraid to turn the tap on when the baby was asleep it was that loud! On the first day we ate in the bar for lunch - the service was very good, and the food was nice. That night we ate in the bar also, but this time the service was so slow. We ordered our food and drinks together, but approx 20 minutes later we still had not received our drinks. On asking we were told by a waitor that bar staff were very slow and he would look into our drinks. Finally our food came, closely followed by the drinks. The food was nice though!
The safe in our room wouldn't open, which we rang reception about and they said they would be up to look at it. We left after waiting 15 minutes as we were heading into Salt hill, but when we came back, someone had been in the room and left a plate of chocolates to welcome us (thank you, nice touch) but never opened the safe door for us. (also the instructions to use the safe are mostly peeled off it so you can't read it all, not that we got to use it).
Please note, they do not provide blankets for cots as they expect you to bring your own. Our child is 18 months which i informed the hotel when booking (so we weren't travelling with baby blankets etc). I had to ring reception to get additional covers, in which they provided a sheet. We were not informed when making our reservation that we needed to bring our own blankets.
The air conditioning did not work, the room was cold so when we increased the temperature nothing happened. After about 4 hours we just turned if off. We only did this on the last night so we did not inform reception, but to be honest we are not the type to be ringing complaining, we just expect these things to work. The last thing that really annoyed me about the room was in the connecting room where the children were was a big table, which was pushed up against a door, which led back out into the corridor. As the table was pushed right up against it, the door could not be used, therefore I presumed it to be locked. On the second day, on entering our room, I happened to push the handle of the door which led from the corridor into the childrens room and it opened! The door had not been locked even though it was an unused door that might even go unnoticed if you weren't paying too much attention to it - I felt sick thinking we were asleep in there all night, especially my children and anyone could have entered the room. Maybe its my fault for not checking at the beginning but this door is well blocked by a table and obviously not for use, I just presumed the door was not in use.

Anyways, good points of the hotel is the food, nice and reasonablely priced even if service was slow for evening dinner.
To me, the food is the only high point, the rooms are a let down in my opinion, lacking in attention to detail when lamps dont work, along with aircon and safe. Covers on beds very thin also, nothing like the luxury it makes you believe you will be receiving when you check out the website.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandTwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,050 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
327 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing