We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great break”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
N> Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great break”
Reviewed 14 September 2007

We stayed at the Twelve for three days as part of a week in the west of Ireland. We chose the hotel because we liked the 'vibes' we got from the website and from previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was terrific, the staff extremely friendly, from check-in through to dining staff, and the location ideal. Although a short distance from Galway city, Barna is a relatively quiet place with a little pier within five minutes of the hotel, and locals who are friendly and chatty. I would definitely recommend the Twelve to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Liked — 'Quirky' attitude, great staff.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    362
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
335
939
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2007

The Twelve is a "boutique" hotel situated approx 20mins outside Galway city. The staff are very welcoming a and the ambience very uber cool. This hotel gets marks for effort but it's trying so hard to beat The G Hotel (another top Galway hotel) that it's forgetten what guests actually want. I'd rather be given an option of having a full Irish breakfast to my room than having a colourful disco light display in my bathroom (I kid you not). I went to tick the boxes on the breakfast card for the next morning only to find that all I could order to my room for breakfast was juice and pastries! If I wanted a fry, I had to go to the restaurant. The evening before, I asked reception if I could order room service (I wanted dinner). I was told yes but would have to get a menu from the restaurant??!!! Kinda defeats the whole "room service" thing!! In saying this, the food was nice, the bed was most comfortable but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Liked — Comfy bed and pillows!
  • Disliked — Poor room service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonMarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

After having stayed 3 times this past year at The Twelve, I can say that it is as nice a hotel as I've ever visited. Having been in the travel business for 10 years, I've stayed in every type of accommodation and have found The Twelve to be exceptional in every way, from the excellent service to the very attractive rooms, to the grand menus, and friendly atmosphere in the restaurants and lounge. The entire property is spotless and the staff ready, willing and able to provide whatever you need. The village of Bearna is also charming and a perfect location on the sea, close to Galway City.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Modern, bright, clean hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Very attentive staff, lovely rooms and great food. Although rooms facing road can be noisy at times due to passing traffic. Very tasteful decor and on-site bakery. Overall, a lovely relaxing break, would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank corkerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,708 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing