We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mertola Castelo Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Museu(Mertola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beira Rio(Mertola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta do Vau(Mertola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casa do Funil(Mertola)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
13
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
13
5
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I cannot add to the previous reviews they are all correct.
A little difficult to find until like previous reviewer we went to tourist information. Mertola is worth a visit and very easy to get to. The guest house is individual

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kangol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Casa Visconde de Bouzoes is a lovely traditional house, which boasts a cool inner courtyard with steps leading to a roof top terrace. This has views over the neighbouring roof tops to the river. The house is in a fantastic position within the walls of the old town. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and guests have the run of the house, which is packed with interesting antiques. It is very reasonably priced, and even the smaller rooms are large enough for a one or two night stay. They are also very clean.

The main downside is the chaotic kitchen, where you make your own breakfast. Nothing seems to be thrown away, so you are faced with rock-hard, stale bread. Take a tip from our fellow guests and walk to the local bakery to buy fresh rolls. Then it will be perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Original and large house in the old historic part of Mertola. Our room and private bathroom was very clean. Wooden floor and casement windows in the bedroom. Four piece shower room was en-suite with slate floors and complimentary toiletries. The house was full of interesting and quirky objets d'art and surrounded a central courtyard. There was a kitchen with hob, refrigerator and microwave, double sink and traditional dressers and tables. We were invited to use anything in the fridge or pantry for breakfast - and even though one of our party was vegan we still managed to find a breakfast of fruit, biscuits and black tea/coffee, bread and jam. There was plenty of packaged cheese and ham and eggs available. It was very cold when we were there but the room soon heated up with an electric, oil-filled radiator. The owner, Carlos, was very friendly and helpful with maps and information. In conclusion, excellent value to stay in a traditional family house in the centre of winding cobblestone streets.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs and I think this would be preferable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Casa Visconde de Bouzoes feels like a home where one can stay within in the old town. Rooms are very clean and decorated in local style but also offer air conditioning, which is helpful when it's 40C outside. Breakfast is self serve with everything provided for in a communal kitchen and you can use the small internal courtyard or common room. It is quite a bargain and a great location to explore Mertola. The absence of significant motor traffic makes Mertola a wonderful place to stroll around in peace and enjoy the small but very interesting museums and the views across the river. For dinner I had a very good experience and great views at Terra Utopia.
As others have pointed out your car is best left outside the city walls below the castle and walk 50m lest you are keen to maneuver very steep tiny streets.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a house with history, located within city walls of the spectacular city of Mértola. It has an internal patio for relaxing tea+fresh air moments, comfortable clean and nicely decorated rooms, as well as an open kitchen, which means you can serve your own breakfast from anything you find in the kitchen (and I found wonderful cheese, lots of varieties of tea, local honey...and much more), or you can bring your own stuff and have a snack. I loved the idea of being able to come back to the house and have some tea in the middle of the day...Felt home, and truly loved those three days in Mertola.

Room Tip: I guess any room is good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews