We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bowes Hotel & Bar
Ranked #3 of 3 Bardon Mill B&B and Inns
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I will start by saying "remember that this is a £25/night bed and breakfast in a pub!" Do not expect champagne accommodation for lemonade prices! That said it was fantastic value for money. VERY friendly and helpful staff and pub "locals". Very good and reasonably priced pub food. We were in room 3 which was clean and the bed comfortable with adequate shower and toilet facilities. There were tea making facilities and a TV in the room or you could join the locals in the bar, very friendly. Excellent central location for exploring Hadrian's Wall and Roman forts. Nice places to eat nearby if you don't fancy the pub. All in all a nice experience. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a great place with great management. Nine of us booked ahead for a lunchtime meal/ college reunion having checked out the menu a few days earlier. Great selection of food and we ordered a diverse range to suit the wide tastes of the group. We arrived at 12 noon as planned, were warmly greeted and the food for everyone, beautifully presented, placed in front of us at 12.05. Couldn’t have been better. Wonderful atmosphere, old photos on the walls and genuine interest and friendly chat from our cheerful and helpful host. Ex-Ridley students.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 204bry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Can't really ask for much more than the title can you! Welcoming little pub, good pool table and a good drinks selection with some decent local ales.

Take a seat outside and forget about the city life for a bit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank deansmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Called in, cos we felt a bit pekish and ordered two hot bacon and brie sandwiches to take out. Whilst we waited, I had a pint of real ale, which was excellent. the sandwiches arrived and we took them home. They were delicious!
We called again a couple of days later for the same order. The quality was the same....excellent. WELL DONE.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

It may have been wet and cold outside, but Bowes Hotel had a very warm welcome. The Manager was very engaging, the vegetarian food was excellent and environment was dog friendly, plus the local ale was very drinkable. A good place to stop after a long walk, or a quick stop over.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the Bowes while visiting Vindolanda. The owner's a great guy who strives to make guests feel at home. The place is a small local pub and elicits a small town atmosphere so is ideal if it's what your looking for. Would I visit again, absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajdavis1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Walked up to the Bowes on a steer from the Coach House B&B for a dinner venue. Place is laid out like the traditional pub, altho the rooms are used differently these days. No snug, etc. The four of us had regular English food: sausage & mash, chicken vindaloo and so on, all prepared and served by the proprietor, Food was good with generous portions. I don't know if he makes the sticky toffee pudding himself but it was also very good. His whole menu was reasonably priced.There was a good bit of local trade in the bar, with some sort of tournament going on just outside, I stayed in the bar for a couple of pints after dinner. Very friendly people, I'd recommend the place for a meal or a drink anytime, as long as you are not looking for something fancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourdainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardon Mill
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#16 of 65 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#57 of 65 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
#4 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station Inn
Station Inn
#40 of 65 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowes Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowes Hotel & Bar

Property: The Bowes Hotel & Bar
Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Bardon Mill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bardon Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowes Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your The Bowes Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowes Hotel & Bar Bardon Mill, Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing