We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Sit Outside in the Sun Enjoying a Pint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowes Hotel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bowes Hotel & Bar
Ranked #3 of 3 Bardon Mill B&B and Inns
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Sit Outside in the Sun Enjoying a Pint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stopped off at The Bowes Hotel for a refreshing pint of lager yesterday, quite possibly the hottest day of year so far.

Bar area was clean, service good and a nice pint of lager served. Pint was enjoyed sat outside where you can watch the infrequent traffic pass on by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Ellwood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I am not able to rate the hotel as we did not stop there overnight. We did call in on our way back from Housteads Roman Fort for a meal. The Bar was clean and the landlord very friendly, interested in our trip and helpful. The food selection was good with some interesting local dishes. The meal arrived quickly and was well priced, large portions served on a huge rectangular plate. We had the Lasagne and it was excellent, interesting toasted muffin soaked in Garlic which made a nice change from the traditional garlic bread. The building needs a bit of an update in places with the Gents and Ladies toilets both being basic but clean. Although it was quiet when we arrived the landlord makes this pub with his friendly attitude. Lovely to see a traditional English pub with character vs those awful plastic franchised things. Really hope Steven makes a go of it he deserves to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Walking distance from the train station. Great price, clean room, good food, great atmosphere in the pub downstairs that was filled with local folks. Owner was very friendly and offered to drive me to Vindolanda if I needed! Mississippi mud pie with cream for dessert was delicious. Terrific tea room and shop across the street too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I will start by saying "remember that this is a £25/night bed and breakfast in a pub!" Do not expect champagne accommodation for lemonade prices! That said it was fantastic value for money. VERY friendly and helpful staff and pub "locals". Very good and reasonably priced pub food. We were in room 3 which was clean and the bed comfortable with adequate shower and toilet facilities. There were tea making facilities and a TV in the room or you could join the locals in the bar, very friendly. Excellent central location for exploring Hadrian's Wall and Roman forts. Nice places to eat nearby if you don't fancy the pub. All in all a nice experience. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a great place with great management. Nine of us booked ahead for a lunchtime meal/ college reunion having checked out the menu a few days earlier. Great selection of food and we ordered a diverse range to suit the wide tastes of the group. We arrived at 12 noon as planned, were warmly greeted and the food for everyone, beautifully presented, placed in front of us at 12.05. Couldn’t have been better. Wonderful atmosphere, old photos on the walls and genuine interest and friendly chat from our cheerful and helpful host. Ex-Ridley students.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 204bry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Can't really ask for much more than the title can you! Welcoming little pub, good pool table and a good drinks selection with some decent local ales.

Take a seat outside and forget about the city life for a bit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank deansmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Called in, cos we felt a bit pekish and ordered two hot bacon and brie sandwiches to take out. Whilst we waited, I had a pint of real ale, which was excellent. the sandwiches arrived and we took them home. They were delicious!
We called again a couple of days later for the same order. The quality was the same....excellent. WELL DONE.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardon Mill
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#14 of 63 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#57 of 63 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
The Railway Hotel & Bistro
#3 of 6 in Haydon Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowes Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowes Hotel & Bar

Property: The Bowes Hotel & Bar
Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Bardon Mill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bardon Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowes Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bowes Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowes Hotel & Bar Bardon Mill, Northumberland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing