We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Ferndale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferndale House
Ranked #1 of 3 Lydbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Armitage
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Unfortunately we'd only booked one night at Ferndale House, but we would go back again. We had a family room which was large and fully equipped, with a welcoming cake and the added soothing sounds of a stream, which runs alongside the property. The breakfast was first class with a wide variety of hot and cold foods. Andy and Christine made us very welcome and we would have no problems recommending the accommodation to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank-you for reviewing Ferndale House, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again if you visit the forest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
195
28
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We couldn't find fault with this lovely bed and breakfast stay, from the warm welcome we received on arrival to the plentiful tasty breakfast before we left the following morning! The rooms were spotless and had everything you needed (Including a nice touch of home made muffins!) and it was quiet! The hosts were lovely and considering they are fairly new to the business, have created a wonderful little haven in a beautiful part of the country. We would love to go back and stay longer so that we can explore the area in more detail! Many thanks....highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammoncake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Have just had a relaxing and refreshing mid-week break at Ferndale House. Warm and cosy in the Lodge with a very comfy bed. Surrounded by the lovely Forest of Dean in full Autumn colours in the sunshine. A hearty breakfast to start the day and a chat with the local friendly Robin. Shall have to go back in the Spring to continue search for sightings of wild boar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A big than you to Andy and Christine for a wonderful stay at Ferndale house, You made us feel so very welcome, The lodge was lovely and warm on arrival, spotlessly clean plenty of tea, coffee and bottled water which was replenished daily, We had breakfast and evening meals on our stay, The food was great ,tasty and well presented, our hosts were attentive and nothing was too much trouble, great location we were even blessed good weather
Many thanks Darren and Jayne :) xx

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival and our en suite room was large and comfortable. Everything we needed was available together with some nice little touches (particularly finding a cake tin which contained fresh muffins!). As we needed to get away early the next morning we were surprised and delighted to find that our hosts were happy to get up even earlier than usual on a Sunday to provide us with a full English breakfast. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at Ferndale House.
We were in family room #1 which was a great sized room and found it to be very quiet with nice views. The room was nicely warm on arrival which is a welcome change to many b&b's.
We were met by the landlady who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The room itself was very clean and the bed was extremely comfy, we had a great nights sleep aided by the babbling brook below our ensuite window.
The muffins were delicious, and so was breakfast the next morning, nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the whole experience was wonderful. If we ever stay in this part of the country again, we will definitely return.
Well done Ferndale House, keep up the good work

Chris & Sam

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Ferndale House for one night with our two dogs. On arrival Andy came out to meet us and show us to The Lodge. We were very impressed with the accommodation which was spacious, very well presented and warm and cosy. Our dogs were very impressed with the biscuits left for them! Andy and Christine had also left some lovely muffins for us which went down very well with a cup of tea. After a fantastic nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, Andy was up early to cook us breakfast. We had to be in Monmouth for eight so even though it was Sunday, breakfast was provided early at 07:00. As with everything else to do with our stay the breakfast was faultless. I would not hesitate to recommend Ferndale although don't want to make it too well known as we don't want it to be fully booked next time we stay.

Room Tip: The lodge is great for dogs as they won't be disturbed by any other guests moving around in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydbrook
2.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
704 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
7.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
184 reviews
6.0 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale House

Property: Ferndale House
Address: Upper Lydbrook, Lydbrook GL17 9PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lydbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Lydbrook in the beautiful Forest of Dean. A detached property with on site parking and a garden with stream running alongside. We have 4 en-suite rooms, 3 in the main house, one of which is on the ground floor, and The Lodge in the garden which can accommodate dogs. We also have a self contained holiday let- The Granary which is suitable for two people and also allows dogs. All rooms have free wi-fi, a hospitality tray, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and cakes on arrival. There are woodland walks within 5 minutes walk from the property. We are within 15 minutes drive of Symonds Yat and the Sculpture Trail at Beechenhurst Lodge. The town of Ross on Wye is 7 miles away and Monmouth is 9 miles. Other attractions within easy driving distance are Pedalabikeaway, canoeing, golf, fishing, Puzzlewood, Go Ape and Clearwell Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferndale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale House Lydbrook, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing