We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful establishment .. Highly recommended!!”
Review of Ferndale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferndale House
Ranked #1 of 3 Lydbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful establishment .. Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night and I must say what genuinely lovely hosts with genuine smiles on their faces upon arrival. Our room(the lodge) was beautiful. Gorgeous smelling fresh clean crisp linen with some beautiful homely touches, made us feel very comfortable and at home. The whole establishment was very clean, highly stocked on tea,coffee,sugar and milk in our room.. We had a welcome tin on our bed upon arrival and it had 2 beautiful blueberry muffins inside(which didn't last long) which I thought was such a personal little touch.. Honestly I cannot recommend this beautiful little establishment enough.. One this is for sure we will be staying here again, see you soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Jess and Daniel, thank-you for taking the time to write a review and a big thank-you for all your very lovely comments, we really appreciate your feedback. Thank-you for coming to stay and we're glad that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
195
28
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We gad a lovely time. The rooms were great, perfect location and the breakfast was brilliant. I would recommend anyone to stay here and we will be back again. Thank you for a wonderful stay and making us feel so welcome.
The Gilmour Family

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate all your very kind comments. Thank-you for choosing to come and stay with us at Ferndale and we hope that we may see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and found the accommodation, food & proprietors to all be very good. Would we stay again ? Most definitely yes. Convenient for much of the Forest of Dean attractions & also good evening meals if wanted. Stayed in "The Lodge" which was a good size & well equipped with a small kitchen & all utensils if we wished to cook our own food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review, we really do appreciate your comments and feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Forest of Dean. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a nice B&B with very helpful hosts. The room was well kept and breakfast was good. It is centrally located for the area of Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley. There are a couple of pubs not so far away for meals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountaingrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farley Hill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have spent the weekend here and Andy and Christine are very welcoming. The accommodation is spotless and well decorated. We have enjoyed the breakfast provided and the room is lovely with a stream running just outside the bathroom window. The bed is comfy and the room warm. The road outside does have a little traffic noise at times but as we were at the back, we heard birds and the stream rather than traffic. If we come back to this area again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: The photos on the website are pretty much exactly what the rooms are so it is down to you if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you Dee for taking the time to write a review on Ferndale House, your comments are appreciated and room tips are very useful for future guests. We hope that you enjoyed your day horse riding in the forest and that the trails can be recommended for other riders.
Thank-you again for coming to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent in every way. Exceptional value for money. Quality towels and bed linen.Loved the little extras, muffins, biscuits and bottle water. Quality breakfast products cooked to perfection. Helpful hosts but not intrusive. Would differently recommend.

Room Tip: room 2 was very quite with large en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airwick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review, your very kind comments are much appreciated, and adding a room tip is useful for future guests. We hope to see you again if you visit the Forest of Dean in the future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston super mare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Warmly welcomed upon arrival as a tired and soggy walker at the end of the day at this little gem of a guest house set by a running stream and not far from entry on to the beautiful Wye Valley Way.. Wet clothes were dried overnight and a thoughtful cake tin of muffins placed in our bedroom greeted us upon arrival. Our room was located in the main house, although individual little lodges are nearby options. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and room was spotlessly clean with lots of helpful information on hand about making the most of the Forest of Dean and surrounding area. Wish we had booked an evening meal because judging by the delicious breakfast, the chef would have served up a wholesome and reviving meal for us weary walkers

Room Tip: Only saw our room but would trust the standard in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldj243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review on Ferndale House. Your kind and thoughtful comments are very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully had a less soggy day when you left us to carry on your walk of the Wye Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydbrook
2.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
7.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
184 reviews
6.0 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale House

Property: Ferndale House
Address: Upper Lydbrook, Lydbrook GL17 9PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lydbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Lydbrook in the beautiful Forest of Dean. A detached property with on site parking and a garden with stream running alongside. We have 4 en-suite rooms, 3 in the main house, one of which is on the ground floor, and The Lodge in the garden which can accommodate dogs. We also have a self contained holiday let- The Granary which is suitable for two people and also allows dogs. All rooms have free wi-fi, a hospitality tray, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and cakes on arrival. There are woodland walks within 5 minutes walk from the property. We are within 15 minutes drive of Symonds Yat and the Sculpture Trail at Beechenhurst Lodge. The town of Ross on Wye is 7 miles away and Monmouth is 9 miles. Other attractions within easy driving distance are Pedalabikeaway, canoeing, golf, fishing, Puzzlewood, Go Ape and Clearwell Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferndale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndale House Lydbrook, Forest Of Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing