We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to the Inn in the countryside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flotterstone Inn

The Flotterstone Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Restaurants in Penicuik
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit to the Inn in the countryside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Not been to the Flotterstone Inn for about 15 years but will be back often now .. we popped in for a early dinner with my elderly mother who lives nearby in Penicuik. The entrance takes you into the bar but turn to the left and you are in the restaurant. Mum ordered the Venision stew special and I had the lamb chops and my wife had the hamburger. All the dishes were really good and tasty and cooked to perfection. My wife reckons it was the best burger she has had and she does not hand out fulsome praise to restaurants very often. Cannot wait to try a steak now as this chief knows how to cook meat. Hospitality excellent and my mother discovered another highlander there so they had a wee chat.. spotted an outside area with plenty of tables etc so a lunch visit in the summer is on the cards

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stavertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flotterstone, Owner at The Flotterstone Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Flotterstone Inn and hope that you do decide to come back over the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    98
    45
    53
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Busy holiday weekend lunch period but Flotterstone Inn appeared understaffed. Service was extremely welcoming and friendly but slow. Bizarrely dishes appeared minutes apart also. The atmosphere was very warm and the location perfect. The food was exactly as would be expected from a small UK pub and the menu had a wide variety of choices with a number of specials. Everyone in my party enjoyed their lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KilburnKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flotterstone, Owner at The Flotterstone Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Flotterstone Inn, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and apologise if the service was slow, it was a very busy time as everyone was out enjoying the lovely Easter weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We passed here few times decided to pop in for lunch with the dog sat in garden which was nice.
Young guy behind bar bit rude but older gentleman who served me was so lovely and kind polite

Food expensive I think for what it was soup sandwich deal 1 slice cheese quarter if that o onion(which I paid over pound extra for to get so little) portions small soup luke warm bread stale filling terrible. Bake potato was good though so bf said.

Waited so long on it coming that's why no complaint was made. It wasn't even that busy for it to take an hour for garlic bread that was soggy soup sandwhich and baked potato


Best part was the cider left as soon as finished

Past here loads o time good reviews always busy but gir me very disappointed in everything sbout the place. Apart ftom older gentleman who served me



  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d81186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flotterstone, Owner at The Flotterstone Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy you visit to The Flotterstone Inn, we are disappointed that you did not mention that you were not happy with your food at the time as we like to ensure that our clients have an enjoyable meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I really liked this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I lived local to here for several years and we often went to the Flotterstone for a meal. Sevice always friendly and meals lovely

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrantsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flotterstone, Owner at The Flotterstone Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Flotterstone Inn, we hope to welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just had a lovely lunch with helpful and friendly service. Food was very tasty and portion sizes for adults and kids were more than adequate. Great place to stop after a day out walking in the Pentlands.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cparkins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flotterstone, Owner at The Flotterstone Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch at the Flotterstone Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flotterstone Inn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
West Linton, Borders
Penicuik, Midlothian
 

Been to The Flotterstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing