We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dishes!”
Review of Spice House

Spice House
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Penicuik
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely dishes!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The food is always fresh and tasty, it is just a bit dull to sit in as there is never any atmosphere. It is a BYOB though so that is good. The staff are always friendly but English not great so sometime a bit tricky with communication. I would recommend going as the food is very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We use this restaurant every time we get a takeaway not happy about amount chicken one night.
told them seams to have been fixed ( might have been new chef )

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This has to be the worst Indian restaurant ever, no atmosphere, tasteless food one chicken dish which was dry and one lamb dish which was not spicy despite asking if it was spicy not hot, a lemon rice which again had no taste at all both main dishes were very oily very expensive for two starters two mains and two colas (£42) have paid less for better including a bottle of wine. Penicuik needs better restaurants than this. More effort was put into the takeaways than the diners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salim2010, Manager at Spice House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi, I like to tell ever one of our potential customer that this review comes from new competitor. 2 starter, 2 mains and 2 cola bills does not come to £42. its about £30 and on that time of a week we does not served any one who had cola.. WE ARE BRING YOUR OWN BOTTLE ( NO CORKAGE ) ... AND YOU CAN GO THROUGH OTHER REVIEWS..... that is totally very mean minded new competitor review.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've had a few takeaway from here and wouldn't use anywhere else now.
Food is always really tasty, fresh and not too bad a price either. Delivery is always pretty quick too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spencey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You have got to try this place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I would be disappointed eating in any other Indian restaurant now. The food here is seriously amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice House also viewed

Penicuik, Midlothian
Penicuik, Midlothian
 
Penicuik, Midlothian
Penicuik, Midlothian
 

Been to Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing