We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely menu and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leadburn Inn

Leadburn Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Penicuik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Leadburn Inn is friendly, cosy Country pub with "real beer, proper food & comfy beds". We pride ourself on totally fresh, seasonal produce, sourced locally. Our menu is classically British comfort food, where the flavours of the ingredients speak for themselves....! We also have an ever changing specials board. Our cask conditioned ale selection changes regularly as does our bottled beer selection. We are independently owned and very family friendly. So much so there is a purpose built, 3 level, kids soft play area in a separate part of the building. We now have boutique bedrooms available. They are a mix of double, family and quad, Please see our website for details.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were really surprised when we saw the menu. It all looked delicious and not your usual boring pub food. Lots of Scottish produce and 'different' Veggy options. The service was great - really friendly. The pub was clean and the toilets were spotless. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winbo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    67
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We found this pub by mistake as we were a little lost on our way to our destination. Sadly, we only had pints and no food, but the menu looked extensive and fantastic. The ambiance is quaint and homey and the service is friendly. Next time, we will definitely hunt this one down again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Locally Sourced Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently tried the Leadburn Inn and were impressed with the surroundings, the staff were welcoming and friendly. The menu is varied with seasonal food. There is also a separate play area for the kids, where you can also sit and enjoy the food.

Today was our second visit and we tried the Monkfish "scampi" which was lovely and Pigs Cheeks, these were so tender and melted in your mouth, we will be back soon to try more from the menu.

This is somewhere to relax, enjoy good food and feel welcome.

Helen & Rab

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carstairs Village
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped of here after a gap of several years. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere likewise. All the food is homemade fresh and piping hot. There are a large selection of real ales. The place is very family friendly and also offers a large indoor play area.
Its great to see this place thriving once again and bringing a real pub atmosphere.
We will certainly be back very soon

Helpful?
2 Thank nedster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best roast beef dinner i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was in today 27th April
This is the first time i have been in this restaurant and i was really impressed
The staff were warm and friendly (apart from liking motorbikes to vespas lol)
the food was really nice
we had the roast beef which was the special of the day and honestly it was amazing

perfectly situated with great views

we will definately be back maybe next time on my new lammy lol

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimnjen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leadburn Inn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Penicuik, Midlothian
 

Been to Leadburn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing