We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of The Old Post House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Wishford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Post House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything, absolutely everything, was great. The breakfast was fabulous, the bed was über-comfy and the house and village were as quaint as can be!
We were only there one night, but would have gladly spent another night there. The pub, just a 5-minute walk away, is also a great place for dinner, snacks or just a drink. Wonderful food, super friendly service, and really kid-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your night with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Paulene and Barry made our stay so enjoyable. Their home is clean and very comfortable and the room we stayed in was beautiful with everything we needed and more than was expected. The breakfast was superb and started the day off well. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but I would pick the one overlooking the garden which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamarina2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The old post house is one of the most characterful B&B's we stayed at. The hosts were easily the most hospitable, spending a good hour with us before we left to make sure we were going to nice places and knew the way. If we ever visit England again, we will be sure to book with them for another stay. I couldn't recomend it enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here on the Bank Holiday Sunday evening. How nice it was too. Pauline & Barry were so accommodating we would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. Rooms were very comfortable and provided a lovely environment for us. Breakfast was very nice with a selection to suit all. We loved the full English. We did not have time to try the local pub in the village but we will be back. We also bought some beautiful cards which Pauline had on display by a local artist Chris Lock. Can't wait to revisit this little gem of a B&B. Thanks Ian, Sandra & boys from Bridgend, South Wales.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Delfan1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you.lovely to meet you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our family enjoyed a very pleasant stay, the room was comfortable and the location within easy walking distance to a inn for dinner. A nice breakfast started our day within easy distance to Stonehenge and Salisbury. We'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimBakerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights on our tour of the south of England. Paulene and Barry were very nice and gave us input on travel ideas. Paulene recommended a local pub, where we went for dinner both nights, because it was so cozy and the people were enjoyable to be around.
The main attraction was the 17th-century house with the view of the well below the floor, the thick walls, low ceiling in the living room. Just imagine the people that have sat there over the last few hundred years. Amazing.
The house and location were a nice base for our quick trip through the area. We went by Stonehenge (too touristy, didn't stay - Paulene had other ideas for people that wanted to see similar, less touristy sites to walk to, but we didn't have time), on to Bath & the Roman Baths, and to do some shopping.
The room was nice, we had a sitting room (where I wrote out postcards to mail, while having a cup of tea) attached to the bedroom and our our bathroom (en-suite). Breakfast was lovely, with my boiled egg and toast on beautiful rose-colored plates and coffee.
Very pleasant stay, would definitely stay here again and enjoy an evening walk to the pub.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for leaving such a nice review. Kind regards Paulene & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We only stayed one night in this lovely b & b but it was very memorable. The room was spacious, comfy bed and wifi. The village was very quaint and nice to wander around. The local pub was only a few minutes away, recommended by Paulene and we had an enjoyable night. Great English breakfast, help with our directions going forward and very congenial hosts, what more could you want, definitely recommend this little hideaway.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulenep, Owner at The Old Post House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you so much Jill for taking the trouble to leave us such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Wishford
4.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
308 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post House

Address: 2 South Street, Great Wishford SP2 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Great Wishford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Wishford
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 17th-century house in a quiet and picturesque village 10 minutes from Stonehenge and Salisbury with two excellent local inns nearby serving great food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Post House Great Wishford, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing