We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for New Year's eve”
Review of Hotel Sedartis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sedartis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thalwil
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Perfect for New Year's eve”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rail links were close to Zurich so we enjoyed the day there and then went back to the hotel early evening. We booked a lake view but unfortunately because of the large trees any fireworks were obscurred by them from our balcony. (They should be chopped down a bit to enable the view) The hotel is close to the lake and so we enjoyed watching the fireworks over Zurich from the jetty with a few other people that had gathered, a nice compromise. Perfect for a quiet New Year's eve. Nice big TV in the very clean rooms. Not sure I agree with the 300chf listed as the full price for the room on a notice by the door. The restaurant has an extensive room service menu. We ordered the snacks and I wasn't that impressed with them, the chicken skewer was quite disgusting, but the warm red grape and amaretto cocktail special for New Year earned back all the brownie points. If you know a little of design, the concept and creation of the hotel is impressive. Overall, We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and it was a great start to the New Year. If I need to be close to Zurich I would definately consider rebooking here... and I would give the room service/restaurant another chance. Staff were friendly even though they were working for us on New Year. Thank you Sedartis for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Michelle G

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Sedartis and the positive feedback about us. We accept your review concerning the chicken skewer and we will check the quality of this product for sure.

We would be glad to welcome back you here in Thalwil.

Kind regards,

Christian Pfund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    86
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
38
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1,191 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

the hotel is rather expensive and they also charge ch 15 for parking.
the rooms are ok but nothing special
the shower is in a tube which makes it a bit owkwood
the location is front of the train station

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, General Manager at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest

I'm really sorry that you did not feel so comfortable with the hotel Sedartis. Our prices are based on the generally price structure in Switzerland. Here in Thalwil we're even below the average compared to Zurich and other cities. But we can understand, if you compare that to European prices, are we rather higher.

We are aware of this pricing problem and try with all our possibilies to compensate this weakness with an outstanding service and friendly and helpful staff.

Nevertheless we are looking forward to see you again. On our homepage you'll find several packages, whereby you can choose advantageous options for your next stay.

Your sincerely

Christian Pfund
General Manager, Hotel Sedartis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Zurich is not exactly an inexpensive city to stay in, but this hotel is good value for the money. You reach it by taking a direct train from the airport that stops right opposite the hotel. This takes about 30 minutes and getting into the main station is even faster; about 15 minutes. The hotel is very modern, has free wifi and a small but nice breakfast buffet. And if you get a room facing the lake, a beautiful view too. The rooms facing the lake also have the advantage that they are quiet. We have stayed in the hotel a couple of times now and have always been very happy with it except the time we got a room facing the train station. Those rooms can be a bit noisy if you like to sleep with the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneInZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, General Manager at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback and the rating. We're glad that you like the hotel Sedartis and the strength of this location.

We're looking forward to see you soon again and please contact us to verify your lake view room also for the next stay.

Kind regards

Christian Pfund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Landing in Zurich in the late afternoon, this was the perfect place to stay. Only 30 minutes from Zurich Airport or 15 minutes from Zurich main station. The hotel is just across the road from Thalwil train station on a quiet road and has unusual features. Going for a short evening cruise on the lake would be a possibility and there are good shopping facilities in Thalwil too. Staff were extremely helpful and Wifi was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petunia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and the perfect ranking.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Christian Pfund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've been there 2 times 3 years ago. It is a fantastic hotel with exceptional views, situated in a beautiful location, close to station Thalwill. The staff is very qualified and kind. The food is excellent and wide choice. I am Italian, I only did breakfast and found everything that usually are used to eating. With a rich buffet that features you can, if desired, have breakfast and lunch at the same time. Hope to visit again soon...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusItalienish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to read that your stay at the Hotel Sedartis was so satisfying for you.

We are looking forward to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Christian Pfund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's good but only one problem is breakfast menu..
I was stay 4 days in June and 5 days in March , always breakfast buffet is same nothing change.
and I can't find a Swimming pool and Fitness center.
Hope you have change the breakfast menu in weekdays.

Room Tip: Higher floor is great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _294197922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, General Manager at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for you rating and the feedback. It's useful for us to develop our services.

It's right, we don't have a pool or a fitness center. But our guests can use the spa facilities of our partner hotel Belvoir in Rüschlikon. We also organize the free of charge transfer.

And if you wish something else for breakfast, just ask, we can arrange nearly everything.

We hope to accommodate you again to fulfill your wishes.

Kind regards

Christian Pfund, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Wifi not for free. Parking 15 chf per night. Very good breakfast but expensive (52 chf for 2 persons). All the rest is perfect. Position just in front of the train station, restaurant with lake view, rooms nicely furnished.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedartis, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sedartis, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel Sedartis.

We appreciate your compliments and also your honest statement about the Swiss prices.

Just one little thing: our Wifi is FREE and I'm really sorry, that we did not mention it properly at your check-in.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Christian Pfund
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalwil
Hotel Belvoir Swiss Quality
#1 of 2 in Rueschlikon
263 reviews
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
566 reviews
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
#1 of 1 in Kusnacht
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Meierhof
#1 of 3 in Horgen
267 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 139 in Zurich
574 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sedartis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sedartis

Property: Hotel Sedartis
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 16, Thalwil 8800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Thalwil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thalwil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sedartis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sedartis - spannendes 4 Stern Businesshotel, 8 Minuten vom Zurich Hauptbahnhof entfernt. Zimmer mit Sicht auf den Zurichsee, Sommerterrasse, reichhaltiges Fruhstucksbuffet, individuelles Design, regionale und saisonale Kuche, Edo bar/lounge in welcher das Rauchen erlaubt ist. Optimales Erreichbartkeit, mit dem Zug oder dem Auto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sedartis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedartis Hotel Thalwil
Hotel Sedartis Thalwil, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing