We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schwan Hotel & Taverne
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Horgen
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

As a regular traveller to the area it is difficult to find a comfortable and suitable hotel. The Schwan has nicely done rooms, it is clean and the staff is friendly. The restaurant is of very good quality and the location central. It is quiet and the rooms are of a good size, as is the bathroom. I have heard of some rooms being a little too much old-style or straight out of a Laura Ashley catalogue, som there might be room for improvement but overall a charming place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demonsbarnyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
15
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent a lovely evening and night in this Hotel. Not cheap but the quality oozes from everything. One word of warning: the Bells, THE BELLS .... start at 4am.
The immediate area around the hotel is lovely and it's only a short walk to the the lake side for a drink, a stroll or a boat trip to Zurich.

Room Tip: Take a boat trip to DownTown Zurich. Good fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra ACT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I spent nine days in a suite in this charming tavern while visiting family in Switzerland. It was a lovely experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The furnishings are in keeping with the style of the tavern. The bathroom was spotless and the towels large and new. We enjoyed having our own kitchen facilities and a washer and dryer. We were also able to catch up on the Olympics on the television in the separate living room. Although it is in the old town, the Schwan is also very close to two supermarkets and is within a short walk to the train station and ferry stop. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation and it will be a must stay for us when we return to Horgen. The restaurant was closed while we were there but they served breakfasts. These were excellent, having, as well as juices and tea or coffee, a selection of cold cuts including smoked salmon, cheese, fruits, bread and conserves and croissants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanbluecanberraACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Trip to the office in Horgen for a change. Nice place to stay, centrally located, few minutes walk to the train station. Rooms are small but comfortable. No A/C but as usually cools off at night, the fan in the room makes it very pleasant. So nice to sleep with the window open and listen to the church bells in the morning. Excellent breakfast with amazing croissants. Staff very friendly and speak very good English. Nice terrace outside for dinner or a late night drink. No fitness facilities but then no time for that either so...

All in all, a nice quiet spot to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We second the reviews on this property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Place was Swiss clean and had the best bath towels in three countries that we visited! Restaurant was closed unfortunately and we ended up at L'O, which was a mixed experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLHRULES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel dates back a few centuries but it has a very modern service culture with spacious bedroom and a functional working bathroom. As in most part of the German speaking world the pillows are too soft for me, so ask for more. It is in the old shopping part of the town a few blocks from the edge of the lake so the mornings can get off to an early start with deliveries. The exceptional part of the hotel was its dining room which was a treat - yummy modern Italian food and great service though it was a bit expensive - but this is Switzerland after all. I have no great complaint about anything other than the observation that the hotel room is probably $20 or so over priced.

Room Tip: I'd ask for something on the southern side - quieter, I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Located in a very quiet small place of the village of Horn, not far from Zurich, at walking distance from Zurich lake, hotel Schwan offered me a very pleasant stay for three nights. The atmosphere of the hotel is fascinating, a very old and perfectly preserved building. The room was sufficiently wide, very clean, the bed comfortable, free wi-fi internet access, a welcome basket of apples....Breakfast was rich of choice and quality. Restaurant and wine selection remarkable. Al the staff was kind and available in giving support and information. The hotel does not possess a private parking, but a fee-paying parking is available at very short walk distance. You can have a pass to stop the car to discharge/load you luggage and then to to the park. The only small remark I can do is that the hotel might have an agreement with the park and offer the guest a reduced fee.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horgen
Hotel Meierhof
#1 of 3 in Horgen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Hirschen am See
#1 of 1 in Obermeilen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwan Hotel & Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwan Hotel & Taverne

Property: Schwan Hotel & Taverne
Address: Zugerstrasse 9 | Am Schwanenplatz, Horgen 8810, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Horgen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Horgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schwan Hotel & Taverne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schwan Hotel & Taverne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwan Hotel & Taverne Horgen, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing