We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff with great facilities”
Review of Hotel Herisau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Herisau
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Herisau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The staff was really amazing. I traveled for business and anything we needed was done quickly and with a smile.

The only downside way the towels. They are with the logo of the hotel but very old and not really comfortable to use. A bit scratchy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebsGenolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed couple times at Herisau , the most time in Herisau Hotel, which is NOT only one in the area. In fact there are other small hotels around e.g. Marktplatz Hotel.

Herisau Hotel is conveniently located, in walking distance, however a bit uphill, less than a half a mile from main train station. Hotel's decoration is not very sophisticated, none the less you can feel like home. Everything is at hand.

As it was mentioned in one of the previous reviews, hotel staff is not always available, to be precise late in the evenings and in the weekends. This results from the formula how the hotel is run.
This is not real drawback as long you know that and you are prepared. It has never been an issue to me.

Rooms were clean. I have never noticed anything wrong with . Everything was as one might have expected.

Staff has been always very helpful and nice.

Breakfast was quite sumptuous, if you are Swiss cheese foodie, you will be escpecially delighted.

Across the street is an Italian restaurant (iL Pomodoro) which serves exquisite Italian cuisine. Beware it ain't cheap but delicious.

There is a small gym, down in the hotel's basement, where you can do your daily workout or relax in jacuzzi or Finnish sauna.

The only shortcoming is lack of air-conditioning in the hotel... none the less you can live with that even in hot days, since building is quite chilly.

What I can say Hotel Herisau, is affordable, quite cosy and definately worth to stay at, unless you are got used to luxurious apartments. If so, try another hotel, in St. Gallen (5min by train from Herisau).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, two sided room (windows on side of building and main street). These are roomy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wodzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel itself is ok and it is clean. There is a nice restaurant opposite the hotel which serves great italian food. Other than that, nothing much. The reception service was great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Recently I had an oppurtunity to stay at Hotel Herisau in Herisau, Switzerland. Till date I had stayed at all other hotel in Herisau and for the first time I was staying in Hotel Herisau. I will say that Hotel Herisau is the only proper hotel in Herisau with well furnished large rooms and some good choice for the breakfast. The restaurent is really good and serves variety of food. The place is maintained well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepak_Parab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed at Hotel Herisau for one day. The hotel appears to be freshly renovated with a few details (like bathroom) on the cheap. What I found surprising though was the complete absence of service in some days and at night.

Furthermore, I experienced total inflexibility for what concerns check-out time and little requests to the concierge.

The bedding presented a few weird stains (that could not be changed as there was no personnel on Sunday night!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derelitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TippAR, Manager at Hotel Herisau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank b-schmutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TippAR, Manager at Hotel Herisau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herisau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Santis
Hotel Landhaus Santis
#1 of 2 in Herisau
86 reviews
8.0 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
12.6 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
175 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
145 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herisau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herisau

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 14, Herisau 9100, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Herisau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Herisau
Price Range: £148 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Herisau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Herisau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing