We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrace restaurant”
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthof Hirschen
Ranked #1 of 3 Eglisau B&B and Inns
Eglisau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrace restaurant”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had dinner on the terrace.... great romantic atmosphere with the string lights! Food was amazing and well presented. The waiter spoke excellent English and was very attentive.

Reception was kind enough to show us one of their suites - huge room and bathroom that looks out over the Rhein, beautifully renovated and decorated.

Eglisau is a beautiful little village that we just love to visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
zuerich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We came to eat here for my birthday, and were so amazed at the creativity, presentation and the different working of flavors that were so beautifully plated. The server was descrete but very professional, and the chef actually came out to talk with the diners! We ordered the 4 course dinner for two, but all in all it was actually more like a 7 course meal with a pre-dessert offering (a wonderful passion fruit sort of fool), wonderful amuse-bouche of fois gras prepared 4 ways and homemade bread with three different things to spread. I love how the menu only tells you what ingredients they work with, but how they will work their magic, well that is the surprise. Being able to take a walk along the Rhine afterwards is a beautiful ending to a magical experience. I also liked the fact that they asked us if we have any allergies, very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Thanks to the new chef quality and timing of the courses have improved considerably. There are 2 to 3 amuses bouches which are filling even before the entrée has been served. The quality of food is beyond expectation. One feels that the young and rather shy chef is ambitious and very talented. We had a wonderful dinner in a very pleasant setting.
However, we followed the recommendation of the maître d´ for the wine selection without consulting the wine list - and were surprised after receiving the check that she had selected a high end wine without telling us!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked the suite-package for one night in the Belle Epoque junior suite and had a surprise 4 course menu in the restaurant la passion. The experience was very nice:
- neatly renovated room, with huge bathroom and nice view on the river Rhein
- friendly staff, very ambient atmosphere
- menu was great, each course was a work of art for the eye as well as the roof of the mouth
The village Eglisau is rather small sleepy place, but only half an hour apart from Zurich. Just across the street from the hotel there is a small stair into the Rhein, where you can take a refreshing swim.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liechtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I was positively surprised by my last dining experience at the gourmet restaurant of the Hotel Hirschen in Eglisau. The food is creative and really tasty. For me it should have 1 Michelin star. Service was also excellent.
I have 2 small critics:
- they serve a lot of very small courses. Good to taste different things but it was almost too much.
- the deco of the room seemed unfinished and was therefore a bit cold (the chef confirmed that it was not yet fully furnished).
Altogether I can recommend this gourmet restaurant where a young chef is mastering interesting dishes. By the way the simpler restaurant on the Rhein shores is also worth a visit especially in the summer when you can eat outside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZurichChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed there for one night during a bicycle trip. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room, a mixture of old furniture and modern equipment, with a great view on the Rhine, was lovely. Dinner at the Bistro on the terrace was excellent. All in all, the best hotel during our trip through Switzerland. Of course, the price-quality ratio is not very good, essentially due to the rate of the swiss franc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierreGex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgwick, Me
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

As the hotel we planned on booking in the immediate Zurich suburbs was unavialable, a websearch for "village hotels near Zurich" revealed the name of the Gasthof Hirschen. A couple of brief emails completed the booking process.

As we were traveling by train from Florence and arriving in Eglisau at 20:00, we asked that the hotel arrange a taxi to meet us. Regrettably, when we hauled our luggage up and down various ramps from the loading platform to the principal part of this small, rural station, no cab was to be found. A phone call to "Bahnhof Taxi" , whose sign is posted at the station , produced a cab and driver within 10 minutes.

Arrival at the Gasthof was a little disconcerting, as there was no receptionist but, following instructions posted on the office door, a telephone call summoned two charming young ladies, Sabrina and Petra, who checked us in and then helped carry our luggage up three floors to our room in the elevatorless hotel. Because the Hirschen bills itself as a "Gasthof," we should have suspected that there would be no elevator. In any event, after that inauspicious beginning, the situation improved immeasurably.

The room was tidy with a comfortable bed, crisp white linens and a large and immaculate bathroom with shower. Best of all, the windows opened directly onto a beautiful view of the Rhine, hillside vineyards and that portion of this charming village lying on the north bank of the river. Sabrina apologized that the river was murky because heavy rains the previous day. It looked lovely to us and later in our stay the brown faded into an apple shade of green.

The room and village were quiet, except for the charming bell of the neighboring protestant church and the whine of a very occasional jet clawing its way out of the murk at ZRH. We must say, that we do not understand how this village has managed to escape the notice of traditional tourist guides. But, except for this post, we intend to do our best to ensure that it remains overlooked.

After settling in, we enjoyed a delicious meal in the hotel's restaurant. The white wine soup was one of the best starter soups I've ever tasted. Repeated requests, over two nights, for the recipe were graciously turned aside.

Each evening, we were asked for a breakfast time, which apparently is served until 11:00. The breakfast itself was more than ample and as always, the service was prompt and friendly.

The inn has only 7 rooms and in spite of hardwood floors throughout, no other guests could be heard.

We enjoyed our daily walks across the river to the station to catch trains to Zurich or Konstanz and, in the evenings, sitting on riverside benches watching swans, ducks and crew teams glide past.

The check in/check out was conducted inside the very utilitarian business office. The daily price of 258 CHF with breakfast was more than fair, especially given the idyllic riverside setting within this exquisite village.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglisau
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glattfelden
126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf
Hotel Zum Goldenen Kopf
#1 of 1 in Buelach
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Beach and More
#2 of 3 in Eglisau
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gasthaus Sternen
Gasthaus Sternen
#1 of 1 in Rafz
25 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gaestehaus Wasserstelz
Gaestehaus Wasserstelz
#1 of 1 in Hohentengen am Hochrhein
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Property: Gasthof Hirschen
Address: Untergass 28, Eglisau 8193, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Eglisau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eglisau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing